Online magazines can provide valuable information.
Resources on Art and Architecture.
Resource Library Magazine
Traditional Fine Art Online: in-depth essays and articles on international fine and decorative arts. Select "Chronological Index" to access by date/issue or browse subject list.
Associations and Art News
Companion blog to the PBS series. Art21 was founded in 1997. It's mission was to increase knowledge of contemporary art, ignite discussion, and inspire creative thinking.
Canadian Art Database - Centre for Canadian Contemporary Art
Documents the careers of some of Canada's leading professional artists, designers, and art writers as well as some important Canadian art institutions and organizations.
Modern and Contemporary Artists and Art
Information on major modern and contemporary artists as well as related art styles and techniques.
Selected articles from this magazine provide scholarly information on artists and art techniques. Search by keyword or topic (painting, photography, sculpture, etc.).
Drawing & Painting
List of links, tutorials, information sites, and online articles. Information on specific drawing techniques, including Blind Contour, Mass-Gesture, Line Gesture and Continuous Line.
Basic Pen Strokes for Ink Painting
Information on pen and ink hatching, crosshatching and scumbling.
Charcoal Drawing Basics - Video
YouTube Video: Charcoal Drawing Basics - Art Supplies for Charcoal Drawing
Films on Demand :Characteristics of Paint
From the title: Brushstrokes: The Painter’s Touch
The prominence of brushstrokes in a painting varies from nonexistent to dramatic according to the style and technique of the artist.
Figure Drawing LAB
A resource for artists and art students who work with the human form focusing on accepted conventions of figure drawing.
Handprint (Colour Theory)
An interesting site that discusses colour theory.
How to Matt Your Own Paintings
Instructions on how to matt watercolours and drawings
Mix Your Own Oil Paints- Video
Want to learn how to mix your own oil paints? Watch this video.
Selecting Tools and Materials
Try this site on choosing the kind and shape of paint brushes. You'll also find articles on palette knives, turpentine and linseed oil, and the differences between oil, acrylic, and guache paint.
Database includes information on various molding, casting, and sculpting techniques for all materials (plastics, resins, cement, etc.)
Sculpture's Society of Canada
Includes information on exhibitions
Choose "MAGAZINE ARCHIVES" to access articles on all aspects of contemporary sculpture.
Sculptures: Artwork Collection
Browse hundreds of images of contemporary sculptures by mediums, including ceramic, metal, mixed, stone and wood or by style including cubist, abstract, expressionist, etc.
Google Art Project
Discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels. Take a virtual tour inside 17 of the world’s most acclaimed art museums, including The Metropolitan Museum of Art and MoMA in New York, The State Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg, Tate Britain & The National Gallery in London, Museo Reina Sofia in Madrid, the Uffizi Gallery in Florence and Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam.
Museum and Art Finder
Links to 100’s of museums worldwide including the National Gallery of Canada, the Guggenheim Museums, The Hermitage, and the British Museum
National Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.)
One of the largest collections in the world of painting, sculpture, and the graphic arts from the Middle Ages to the present. Users can search the collection by artist, title, or subject.
Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850).
Art History Resources on The Web
The site was selected by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) for inclusion on EDSITEment as "one of the best online resources for education in the humanities."
Virtual Library (Getty Publications)
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.