Dental Hygiene

Periodontology-The Essentials provides readers with up-to-date information on the anatomy and physiology of the oral cavity as well as the latest methods for diagnosis, prevention, and therapy of periodontal disease. It is specifically designed to help busy dental professionals give their patients the highest level of care. Throughout this book the author stresses the important connections between periodontal disease and the patient's overall health, focusing on preventive care and the consequences of treatment.

Periodontology is a specialized branch of dentistry that deals with the health and diseases of the periodontium, which is the supportive tissue surrounding the teeth. Periodontal diseases are common oral diseases that can affect the teeth and supporting structures, and maintaining a healthy periodontium is essential for preserving the integrity of dentition. Advances have been made in the pathophysiology, classification, diagnosis, and management of periodontal diseases over the years. This book aims to provide researchers and clinicians who deal with periodontal diseases with an overview of the latest insights regarding the periodontium and periodontal disease.

With an emphasis on recognizing periodontal problems and suggesting appropriate treatment, Periodontology for the Dental Hygienist, 4th Edition, covers the essential information that dental hygienists need to provide effective client care. Full-color illustrations and a focus on evidence-based research help you understand and apply the latest in periodontal therapy, from initial patient evaluation to patient education.

This book can serve as a quick reference and/or as a clinical manual to enable you to answer patient questions and to integrate nutrition into clinical practice as comfortably as you would fluoride and other preventive modalities. This book can also be used as a text, by reading the chapters and answering the questions posed in case studies to test understanding. For diet screening and guidance the book can also be used as a "how-to" manual. Finally, the book can be used as a reference, by referring to those chapters relating to specific nutrition topics, life cycle groups, or health-related conditions, and referring to the last chapter and the appendic for helpful resources.

This book explores in depth the relationships between nutrition and oral health. Oral health is an integral part of general health across the life course, and this book examines nutritional and oral health considerations from childhood through to old age, with particular attention focused on the consequences of demographic changes. Current knowledge on the consequences of poor diet for the development and integrity of the oral cavity, tooth loss, and the progression of oral diseases is thoroughly reviewed. Likewise, the importance of maintenance of a disease-free and functional dentition for nutritional well-being at all stages of life is explained. Evidence regarding the impact of oral rehabilitation on nutritional status is evaluated, and strategies for changing dietary behaviour in order to promote oral health are described.

Biological, psychological, sociological and ecological features of life contribute and interact simultaneously in the development of an individual's oral health. The chapters in this book review the effects of periodontal disease and its treatment on OHRQoL (Oral Health-Related Quality of Life); the consequences of periodontal disease and patient perceptions of the impact of their gingival/periodontal health on their everyday lives.

With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist. This new edition has been updated throughout to give you a firm foundation in pharmacology in order to assess and educate patients so they can maintain optimal oral health!

Basic Principles of Pharmacology with Dental Hygiene Applications presents up-to-date pharmacological principles and identifies applications of these principles in day-to-day dental hygiene practice. The text coordinates principles of pharmacology with pathophysiology and identifies applications to the oral health treatment plan and treatment record information. Coverage includes subjects not found in other pharmacology textbooks for dental hygiene students: adverse drug effects, drugs used by the dental hygienist, sources to help patients or personnel seek treatment for substance abuse problems, and herbal supplements.

Oral Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, Second Edition, offers a comprehensive review of the principles of pharmacology and their application to dental hygiene practice. This practical textbook covers many oral manifestations of drugs of which the dental hygiene student should be aware. Quick drug guides, fun facts, and unique rapid dental hints in each chapter help students understand different pharmacologic principles while reinforcing key information. Case studies extensively review the medical conditions, potential drug interactions, and dental management of drug interactions.

Basic Guide to Dental Radiography provides an essential introduction to radiography in the dental practice. Illustrated throughout, this guide outlines and explains each topic in a clear and accessible style. Comprehensive coverage includes general physics, principles of image formation, digital image recording, equipment, biological effects of x-rays and legislation Suitable for the whole dental team  Illustrated in full colour throughout  Ideal for those completing mandatory CPD in radiography 

This highly popular text presents everything that an undergraduate dental student, postgraduate student or general dental practitioner needs to know in order to safely capture high-quality clinical images and accurately interpret their findings. In this latest edition, both traditional methods of imaging and new modalities are explored - specifically cone beam CT - and a new author has been brought on board to bring a fresh approach to the subject area.

The second edition of this successful textbook offers support for learners and continues to provide a significant reference text suitable for all Dental Care Professionals. Offering a clear, easy-to-follow, comprehensive account of all aspects of dental radiography essential to this group of professionals, this book is an important resource that renders it essential reading, particularly for those undertaking examinations in Dental Radiography.

ETHICS, JURISPRUDENCE AND PRACTICE MANAGEMENT IN DENTAL HYGIENE, 3/e is the definitive, up-to-date guide to ethics, jurisprudence, and practice management for all dental hygiene students, new graduates, and licensed practitioners. The authors first introduce codes of ethics; discuss how ethical principles and moral values influence society, individual, and the profession; and cover crucial ethics-related topics such as informed consent. Next, they turn to practice management, showing how the dental practice must operate as a small business, and offering thorough career coverage. This edition's extensive updates include: dental therapists and other alternative workforce models; regulatory changes; opportunities in forensics; comparisons with practice in Canada; and much more.

Gain a comprehensive understanding of the ethical and legal issues in dental practice and learn professional, practical ways to handle them with Ethics and Law in Dental Hygiene, 3rd Edition. Written by expert author, speaker, and educator Phyllis Beemsterboer, the new edition of this trusted reference uses real-world situations liberally to clarify key concepts and incorporates timely content on alternative workforce models, the Affordable Care Act, professionalism, and more. Additional case studies and "testlets" provide you with opportunities for application and critical thinking and help prepare you for success on the NBDHE.

This book contains guidance for all dental care professionals, especially dental nurses. It also provides explanations of the implications of General Dental Council guidance on the Standards for Dental Care professionals, and case study examples.