Library and Academic Success: Law Clerk: Databases

Faculty Librarian

Jennifer Varcoe

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary

General Legal Databases

CanLII This link opens in a new window
Free online Canadian case law.
Department of Justice - Laws This link opens in a new window
Look here to find Canada's consolidated Acts and Regulations, and other related documents.
Quicklaw PLUS This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the most comprehensive collection available of case law, legislation, exclusive current awareness services, expert commentary and more. Includes Halsbury's Laws of Canada, legal textbooks, legal forms and precedents, quantums, and practice products in various areas of law.
Permitted Uses: License Info
old link to Quicklaw
WestlawNext Canada This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal database with a comprehensive collection of Canadian case law and legislation, plus finding tools such as The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and The Canadian Abridgment. Contains KeyCite Canada for noting up cases and legislation and Index to Canadian Legal Literature for finding expert analysis. Also contains Words and Phrases for finding judicial interpretations of legal terms. Use Chrome when remotely connecting from home. See Chrome icon above for tip sheets.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Your Legal Rights [Community Legal Education Ontario]
Free, practical legal information to assist the general public in exercising their legal rights.
Easy to understand, step-by-step information to address common legal problems.

Other Subscription Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides Canadian context for a variety of research topics and clearly illustrates differing points of view to help start research projects and opinion papers.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of Canadian and international magazines such as Macleans, Scientific American, newspapers and news wires such as the Toronto Star, as well as reference books and company information, biographies and an image collection. This database also includes a Canadian Dictionary.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Permalinks/stable links currently not working. For best results use Firefox or Chrome.
Permitted Uses: License Info
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database including its many sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full text available for over 700 journals (back to 1908), 800 books and thousands of conference papers.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Employment, Labour and Occupational Health and Safety

CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] This link opens in a new window
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] website provides information on all aspects of occupational health and safety. Access Canadian legislation and standards, MSDS, CHEMINFO, FTSS, RTECS®, OSHLINE™ with NIOSHTIC®, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Government Documents

Ontario Government Documents
From the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library, supports searching by subject, agency, year.
Canadian Government Publications Portal
A portal for discovering publications digitized by Internet Archive Canada.
Ontario Law Reform Commission Final Reports
Digitized and available free on this internet archive
Government and Legislative Online Publications Portal [GALLOP]
Legislative and government publications held in libraries of the Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada. Currently in beta testing of new website.
Legislative Assembly of Ontario
Provides information on members of the provincial parliament, bills and lawmaking, and debates and proceedings.
LEGISinfo
A research tool for finding information on legislation before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills..
Parliament of Canada
Provides quick and easy access to the official publications of Parliament as well as to general, non-partisan information about the role, history, proceedings and activities of the Senate, the House of Commons and the Library of Parliament.
Supreme Court of Canada
Highest court of Canada and final court of appeal; includes judgments, cases, news releases and Acts and rules

International Legal Resources

ICC Legal Tools
Contains several collections, facilitating access to core international crimes cases involving war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide or aggression. You can search using the Menu on the far right.
International Law Library
A comprehensive free access international law research infrastructure features 76 databases, including: The International Courts and Tribunals; Treaties & International Agreements; UN Resolutions & Security Council; law commentary & articles, especially related to Humanitarian Law
Features LawCite citator.