Library and Academic Success: Esthetician: Recommended Databases

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Business & Management, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Business/Industry Related Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access scholarly journals, trade publications, wire feeds, and other news sources. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Academic Search Premier
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Aesthetic Video Source
Education videos for spa & beauty professionals.Users may experiences problems when multiple users access simultaneously.
Business Source Complete
This business database provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. Trade, news, and scholarly articles are searchable and accessible. Additionally, market research and industry profiles can be found. Relevant business search filters like company name, NAICS code, DUNS number, and ticker symbol are available to narrow the search.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Index is a bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive database contains more than 440,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1960s.
Permitted Uses: License Info
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Sport, fitness and sports medicine.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Health Databases for Esthetics

CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety]
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] website provides information on all aspects of occupational health and safety. Access Canadian legislation and standards, MSDS, CHEMINFO, FTSS, RTECS®, OSHLINE™ with NIOSHTIC®, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CSA OnDemand
The CSA OnDemand database offers access to the full text of all standards, codes, guidelines and handbooks published by the Canadian Standards Association. Areas covered include construction, engineering, electrical, energy, health and safety, environmental and more. Note: Downloaded PDF documents must be opened using the Desktop version of Adobe Reader or Acrobat and the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus, instead use "online version."
PubMed
Open access medical, biomedical, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences database. Please note: PubMed is currently working best with PC browsers.
Science Direct College Edition
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics.
Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Anatomy & Physiology

SMART This link opens in a new window
Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase contains medical images, animations & interactive multimedia.
Permitted Uses: License Info
This database has a separate interface from other EBSCO databases so does not appear when you select “CHOOSE DATABASES” in EBSCO.

Pharmacology

CPS
Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties (CPS), E-CPS, drug therapy & patient care. Please note, your browser must allow pop ups. Database times out after 30 min. Not Mac compatible.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Lexicomp Online - Medical
Lexicomp Online (medicine) database offers drug information, including interaction checkers, a drug identifier, patient education and toxicology information. It also includes a section on infectious diseases. The Lexicomp Online database provides access to clear point of care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content such as clinical practice guidelines, and other tools. This database generally enables users to locate information on medications, conditions and/or procedures, international drugs, pregnancy, lactation and more.
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides continually updated dental-specific pharmacology, clinical information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions. Lexicomp Online for Dentistry contains over 8,000 prescription drugs, over the counters and natural products, plus tools like a lesion diagnosis aid and a drug interactions/drug allergy screener. It offers a complete collection of dental reference databases such as: Drugs, diseases, toxicology, patient education, laboratory and international drugs.