Indigenous Studies @ Georgian
Online newspaper designed to foster pride and share knowledge about Anishinabek Nation current affairs, culture, political objectives, and accomplishments. Published by the Union of Ontario Indians, the corporate political advocate for member communities of the Anishinabek Nation.
Assembly of First Nations
The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing First Nations citizens in Canada.
Their site includes information on AFN Assemblies, Resolutions, Policy Areas, Publications, and Press Releases.
First Nation Profiles
Profiles provided by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada.
Indian and Northern Affairs List of Treaties
This government site “includes resources on over 70 historical treaties negotiated with First Nations between 1701 and 1923.”
Indigenous Services Canada
Federal government department.
Ministry of Indigenous Relations & Reconciliation (Ontario)
This ministry site contains news and information about economic opportunities, land claims and resources.
Native Women’s Association of Canada
The Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC) was founded in 1974 to promote “the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of First Nations and Métis women within First Nation, Métis and Canadian societies.” Their site provides access to relevant research and data, as well as organizational information.
Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (Land Claims)
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI) is an organization created to make sure that promises made under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (NLCA) are carried out. This site contains information about programs and benefits, events and media.
Royal Commission Report on Aboriginal Peoples (1996)
“This report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples concerns government policy with respect to the original historical nations of this country.”
For general information enter "Aboriginal Peoples". For language information, type in the phrase "Canada's Aboriginal Languages".
Aboriginal Healing Foundation
This foundation is focused on implement healing strategies for Metis, Inuit and First Nations people affected by the legacy of physical, sexual and spiritual abuse in Indian Residential Schools
Centre for Inuit Health and Changing Environments
“The Nasivvik Centre for Inuit Health and Changing Environments is a multidisciplinary research and training centre funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research-Institute of Aboriginal Peoples' Health.” The site provides access to research, news and other information.
First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada
This organization promotes research, policy, networking and professional development.
Their site includes Breaking News, In Focus Features, Resources, and Events.
Division of Health Canada devoted to Aboriginal Health Issues. Site contains information of health conditions, services & benefits, and research in this area.
Indigenous Peoples' Health Research Centre
“The Centre is collaboration between the University of Regina, First Nations University of Canada and the
University of Saskatchewan.” It is dedicated to health research among Aboriginal people with a focus on chronic diseases, Indigenous health issues, and the delivery of health services.
Institute for Aboriginal Peoples’ Health (Canadian Institutes of Health Research)
The IAPH focuses on the health needs of Canada's Aboriginal peoples. Their research includes health promotion, prevention strategies, clinical trials.
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.