Library and Academic Success: Big Data Analytics: Databases

Faculty Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Research Guides

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access over 1000 full text journals and over 400 full text trade publications. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, industry profiles, and more. Easily modify your search to focus on trade, magazine, or journal articles, Complements our other business databases and sources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Canadian Industry Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistics [aggregate data] National, selected provincial & regional
Establishments, Employment, Production, Costs, Salaries & wages.
Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
Statistics [aggregate data] National, Provincial, selected regional
Applied research on Canadian Trade, Education, Health, Human Resource Management, Energy, Tourism, Economic trends, Public policy.
Industry sector economics: quarterly outlooks
Gartner Research This link opens in a new window
The above link will take you to the Student Services page in Georgian's portal site.
To access the database, click "Gartner Research" found under Resources.
Gartner Research helps equip business leaders with indispensable insights, and data-driven research to achieve their mission-critical priorities and build the successful organizations of tomorrow.
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
This database includes: Company profiles for both public & private companies; Industry profiles including competitive analysis; Country profiles and macro-economic social, demographic and industry stats exist for many countries. Explore the rich business data available.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics allows users to define a location and then assemble demographic data describing the inhabitants. This data can then be mapped and analyzed. Data includes: 2011 and 2016 census, household expenditures, and PRIZM. Data can be exported in a variety of formats. 5 concurrent users at a time.
Create an account using your Georgian email to save your project work. Otherwise, you can access by selecting "sign in as guest" but your work will not be saved.

Permitted Uses: License Info
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics [Canadian + international] in 20 multidisciplinary categories; country, industry, consumer & demographic data; dossiers and research studies