Provides access to the most comprehensive collection available of case law, legislation, exclusive current awareness services, expert commentary and more. Includes Halsbury's Laws of Canada, legal textbooks, legal forms and precedents, quantums, and practice products in various areas of law. Permitted Uses: License Info
Legal database with a comprehensive collection of Canadian case law and legislation, plus finding tools such as The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and The Canadian Abridgment. Contains KeyCite Canada for noting up cases and legislation and Index to Canadian Legal Literature for finding expert analysis. Also contains Words and Phrases for finding judicial interpretations of legal terms. Use Chrome when remotely connecting from home. See Chrome icon above for tip sheets. Permitted Uses: License Info
Defines legal concepts and terms in plain language. In most cases the definition contains samples of the word used in a law or how it may have been described or used in a law book or a case. Where available, links are provided allowing the reader to go directly to the cited case. Maintained by a Canadian lawyer.
Available online. Bisystemic and bilingual dictionary offers over 300 articles describing the vocabulary of property for Canada's civil and common law systems. A project of the Department of Justice Canada.
Collaborative dictionary composed of terms defined in glossaries of Canadian law books published by Irwin Law. Maintained by an Irwin Law editor. Members of the public are invited to submit new defined terms, edit existing terms and supply citations, sources and related terms.
The most comprehensive law dictionary, and the most widely cited law book in the world. Contains more than 45,000 terms, plus alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms. Includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms.
Canadian Family Law provides expert insight into a wide variety of legal issues that confront Canadian families today. The seventh edition of Canadian Family Law, current to 30 June 2017, brings its readers up-to-date with every notable trial and appellate decision decided since the publication of the sixth edition, with particular attention being paid to appellate rulings. Of particular note, is the addition of new material dealing with the Spousal Support Advisory Guidelines and the responses of Canadian courts thereto.
Child Support Guidelines in Canada, 2020 continues the tradition of presenting comprehensive, current caselaw and analysis in a very practical format. Relevant cases from every Canadian province and territory are cited in support of the principles set out in the textual commentary.
Entrepreneurs, business owners, and risk takers need to know the facts of workplace regulation in Ontario and how the laws are interpreted and applied by courts, arbitrators, the Ministry of Labour, the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario, and the Ontario Labour Relations Board. The author is a lawyer with over thirty years' experience in advising employers on employment and labour law. In this book, he gives employers the practical, straightforward information they need - about matters like discrimination, termination compensation, occupational health and safety, and union organizing campaigns - to implement best employment practices and avoid interference from third parties. The Employment and Labour Law Toolbox has been organized with your time in mind to enable you to find what you are looking for and gain an understanding of the relevant ideas quickly. For the first time in Ontario, a resource exists to help owners, managers, and entrepreneurs proactively manage their employees and get the job done. This edition is updated to include discussion of changes to the Ontario Employment Standards Act, 2000 and the Ontario Labour Relations Act, 1995 brought in by the Ford government's Bill 47 in 2018 and 2019.
This book focuses on substantive Canadian criminal law -- that which concerns offences, defences, and incapacity. Judges and courts, as they construe criminal offences, are engaged first and foremost in an exercise of statutory interpretation with a presumption of restraint. Courts and judges have approached offence elements relating to voluntariness and fault, defences, and claims of incapacity with the tacit understanding that Parliament's central aim in crafting criminal offences is not simply to set out the conditions under which legal officials are authorized to administer punishment, but to guide ordinary citizens as they decide how to act on a day-to-day basis.