Subjects: Advanced Care Paramedic
, BScN Collaborative Program
, CICE: Community Integration through Co-operative Education
, Communicative Disorders Assistant
, Dental Assisting
, Dental Hygiene
, Massage Therapy
, Occupational/Physical Therapy Assistant
, Personal Support Worker
, Pharmacy Technician
, Practical Nursing
, Pre Health Sciences
, Virtual Makerspace
Key Topics for Biotechnology & the Life Sciences
The following eBooks in key areas such as organic chemistry and plant biology are great examples of the overall content the library provides in the areas of biotechnology and the life sciences. Ebooks are easy to access and convenient to use. These eBooks provide both foundational information for students as well as the current trends in many of the areas studied within the life sciences.
Clinical Microbiology by
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
About the Diagnostic Standards of Care Series A key issue for every laboratory and individual laboratory practitioner is the assessment of risk and a current working knowledge of the standards of care established for diagnostic testing via guidelines, major studies and trials. The Diagnostic Standards of Care series presents an overview of the key diagnoses in clinical pathology using case examples to illustrate effective analysis of the case in light of current evidence and standards for the problem discussed. In addition to being practical diagnostic guides, these volumes will have a unique emphasis on quality assurance and evidence-based testing practices and the role of the pathologist in ensuring quality and patient safety.
Introductory Microbiology by
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The present book extensively embodies different topics like history, cell structure, microbial growth, bacterial classification, soil microbiology, food microbiology, fermentation, waste recycling and biotechnology. It is hoped that this compilation should serve as a torch bearer for undergraduate students who have meek knowledge of microbes.
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
This reference answers the most important questions that form the foundation of Microbiology within 6 laminated pages.
Microbiology for Dummies by
Publication Date: 2014-10-20
Microbiology For Dummies is your guide to understanding the fundamentals of this enormously-encompassing field. Whether your career plans include microbiology or another science or health specialty, you need to understand life at the cellular level before you can understand anything on the macro scale. Explore the difference between prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells Understand the basics of cell function and metabolism Discover the differences between pathogenic and symbiotic relationships Study the mechanisms that keep different organisms active and alive
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Members of the enterovirus genus are positive-stranded RNA viruses encompassing important human pathogens and include poliovirus, coxsackievirus and rhinovirus. Several enteroviruses, such as enterovirus-71 and enterovirus-D68, have emerged from relative obscurity to become worldwide public health threats, highlighting the need to develop effective therapeutic strategies to combat these important viruses. To do this, understanding the genomics and the cellular and molecular biology of infection of enteroviruses is critical. This book represents a comprehensive tour of the current most important enterovirus research. The editors, Dr. Jackson and Dr. Coyne, have assembled a group of enteropviral experts who cover topics including viral entry and the hijacking of host functions; the dynamic analysis of ever-evolving virus genomes; the cellular membrane changes promoting virus assembly and release.
Molecular Biology by
Publication Date: 2005-06-24
Molecular Biology: Academic Cell Update provides an introduction to the fundamental concepts of molecular biology and its applications. It deliberately covers a broad range of topics to show that molecular biology is applicable to human medicine and health, as well as veterinary medicine, evolution, agriculture, and other areas. The present Update includes journal specific images and test bank. It also offers vocabulary flashcards.
Molecular Biology Techniques by
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
This manual is an indispensable tool for introducing advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students to the techniques of recombinant DNA technology, or gene cloning and expression. The techniques used in basic research and biotechnology laboratories are covered in detail. Students gain hands-on experience from start to finish in subcloning a gene into an expression vector, through purification of the recombinant protein.
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology by
Publication Date: 2013-01-11
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology: basic experimental protocols is a compilation of methods and techniques commonly used in biomedical and biotechnological studies. The book aims to provide ample support to both students and faculty while conducting practical lessons.
Animal Evolution by
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
Animal Evolution provides a comprehensive analysis of the evolutionary interrelationships and myriad diversity of the Animal Kingdom. It reviews the classical, morphological information from structure and embryology, as well as the new data gained from studies using immune stainings of nerves and muscles and blastomere markings which makes it possible to follow the fate of single blastomeres all the way to early organogenesis.
Aquatic Animals by
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
This book presents topical research from across the globe in the study of the biology, habitats and threats to aquatic animals. Topics discussed include the acoustic ecology of pinnipeds in polar habitats; the immunotoxicological reactivity of hemocytes of juvenile mudcrabs; the potential threat of genotoxic metals to marine mammal health; toxic contaminants in aquatic medium concerns and the role of bacteria in the chilled storage and cryopreservation of sperm in aquatic animals.
C4 Plant Biology by
Publication Date: 1998-12-21
Due to many issues related to long-term carbon dynamics, an improved understanding of the biology of C4 photosynthesis is required by more than the traditional audience of crop scientists, plant physiologists, and plant ecologists. This work synthesizes the latest developments in C4 biochemistry, physiology, systematics, and ecology. The book concludes with chapters discussing the role of C4 plants in the future development of the biosphere, particularly their interactive effects on soil, hydrological, and atmospheric processes.
Plant Animal Interactions by
Publication Date: 2009-04-13
Interactions between plants and animals are incredibly diverse and complex and span terrestrial, atmospheric and aquatic environments. The last decade has seen the emergence of a vast quantity of data on the subject and there is now a perceived need among both teachers and undergraduate students for a new textbook that incorporates the numerous recent advances made in the field. The book is intended for use by advanced level undergraduate and beginning graduate students, taking related courses in wider ecology degree programmes.
The ABC Transporters of Human Physiology and Disease by
Publication Date: 2011-06-06
ATP Binding Cassette (ABC) transporters are a family of integral membrane proteins present in all cells of all species of archaea, eubacteria and eukaryota. The vast majority of these proteins control the transport across cellular membranes of molecules ranging from small ions to drugs, lipids and proteins. The human genome encodes 48 ABC transporter genes and mutations in most have been linked to disease. This book -- that brings together state-of-the-art knowledge on ABC proteins in one volume -- will provide students, professors and medical professionals with a background to the human ABC transporters that are known to be relevant to disease.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the human body, with clinical applications throughout. Designed specifically for nursing and healthcare students, the new edition of this best-selling textbook provides a user-friendly, straightforward, jargon-free introduction to the subject.
Human Anatomy and Physiology by
Publication Date: 2001-07-24
Schaum's Easy Outline series consists of concise, easy-to-use versions of the biggest and best-selling classics in the Schaum's Outlines series. Every book is a pared-down, simplified and tightly-focussed version a Schaum's Outline, extracting the absolute essense of the subject, presenting it in concise and readily understandable form, and emphasizing clarity and brevity. Graphic elements like sidebars, reader-alert icons and boxed highlights will feature selected points from the text. h
Our Marvelous Bodies by
Publication Date: 2008-03-07
Our Marvelous Bodies offers a unique perspective on the structure, function, and care of the major systems of the human body. Unlike other texts that use a strictly scientific approach, physiologist Gary F. Merrill relays medical facts alongside personal stories that help students relate to and apply the information.
Cell Biology by
Publication Date: 2005-11-09
This four-volume laboratory manual contains comprehensive state-of-the-art protocols essential for research in the life sciences. Techniques are presented in a friendly step-by-step fashion, providing useful tips and potential pitfalls. The important steps and results are beautifully illustrated for further ease of use. This collection enables researchers at all stages of their careers to embark on basic biological problems using a variety of technologies and model systems.
Cell Biology and Genetics by
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The present book entitled Cell Biology and Genetics aims to cover a wide area of cell biology and Mendelian genetics in a form especially suitable for first year undergraduates for unified syllabus of all Indian universities. The overall theme for the book is the cell as the unit of life and its components.
Cells to Civilizations by
Publication Date: 2012-05-27
The science of change from cells to culture Cells to Civilizations is the first unified account of how life transforms itself--from the production of bacteria to the emergence of complex civilizations. What are the connections between evolving microbes, an egg that develops into an infant, and a child who learns to walk and talk? Award-winning scientist Enrico Coen synthesizes the growth of living systems and creative processes, and he reveals that the four great life transformations--evolution, development, learning, and human culture.
Principles of Cell Biology by
Publication Date: 2020-02-17
Principles of Cell Biology, Third Edition is an educational, eye-opening text that not only helps students learn the material, but also updates instructors on the latest findings in order guide students to look up new subjects, not yet covered in other similar cell biology books. Students will learn the material through 14 comprehensible principles, which give context to the underlying theme that make the details fit together. T
Keynotes in Organic Chemistry by
Publication Date: 2013-10-25
This concise and accessible book provides organic chemistry notes for students studying chemistry and related courses at undergraduate level, covering core organic chemistry in a format ideal for learning and rapid revision. The material is organised so that fundamental concepts are introduced early, then built on to provide an overview of the essentials of functional group chemistry and reactivity.
Organic Chemistry by
Publication Date: 2014-06-06
Organic Chemistry provides a comprehensive discussion of the basic principles of organic chemistry in their relation to a host of other fields in both physical and biological sciences. This book is written based on the premise that there are no shortcuts in organic chemistry, and that understanding and mastery cannot be achieved without devoting adequate time and attention to the theories and concepts of the discipline. It lays emphasis on connecting the basic principles of organic chemistry to real world challenges that require analysis, not just recall.
Organic Chemistry Study Guide by
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Organic Chemistry Study Guide: Key Concepts, Problems, and Solutions features hundreds of problems from the companion book, Organic Chemistry, and includes solutions for every problem. Key concept summaries reinforce critical material from the primary book and enhance mastery of this complex subject. Organic chemistry is a constantly evolving field that has great relevance for all scientists, not just chemists.
Advances in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine by
Publication Date: 2012-09-14
This volume comprises the invited plenary lectures and contributed papers presented at the WorldMedLab and the EuroMedLab in Berlin, May 2011 with more than 5.000 participants. The contributions in this volume provide a valuable and wide-ranging overview of current research in Laboratory Medicine and cognate disciplines. Special focus is given to Aging Society (neurological diseases), Tumors, Organ specific dysfunctions and Future of Laboratory Medicine.
Endogenous Interferences in Clinical Laboratory Tests by
Publication Date: 2012-12-13
The goal of clinical laboratories is to produce accurate information for clinical decision making in medicine. More than half of the medical decisions made depend on clinical laboratory tests. Patient safety represents an important and critical problem for laboratories. They need to assure that the information they deliver to physicians is accurate, and therefore safe for clinicians to use. Endogenous compounds can interfere with laboratory tests, decreasing accuracy and threatening patient safety.
Laboratory Diagnostic Pathways by
Publication Date: 2016-09-12
The prognosis of a disease often depends on the timing of therapeutic invention, which in turn strongly relies on a reliable and quick diagnosis. Laboratory diagnostic pathways are algorithms that give structure to the diagnostic process, thereby minimizing the risk of mistreatment, shortening the hospital stay, and lowering the cost for treatment. This book offers 70 diagnostic algorithms that lead physicians and laboratory personnel through the diagnostic process in a step-by-step fashion. I
Laboratory Test Requesting Appropriateness and Patient Safety by
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
The global medical process is a chain of different medical multidisciplinary procedures. The success in global Patient Safety will depend on the Safety of the consecutive medical processes that intervene in this complex system. Laboratory data is an essential part of health care, indeed it is used in 70% of clinical decisions. Inappropriate laboratory test over requesting is extremely frequent. The prevalence of under requesting has been less studied. The consequences of under requesting are clear, we are missing a diagnosis. Inappropriate over requesting can result not only in a problem of cost but also in a problem regarding patient safety.
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.