Library and Academic Success: Lakehead Georgian Computer Science: Key Topics in Computer Sciences

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Key Topics in Computer Sciences

The following eBooks in key areas such as data structures, operating systems, mobile computing and network security are great examples of the overall content the library provides in the areas of computer sciences and programming. Ebooks are easy to access and convenient to use. These eBooks provide both foundational information for students as well as the current trends in many of the areas studied within computer sciences.

Data Structures and Program Design Using C++ by D. Malhotra; N. Malhotra
ISBN: 9781683923701
Publication Date: 2019-01-17
Data structures provide a means to managing large amounts ofinformation such as large databases, using SEO effectively, and creatingInternet/Web indexing services. This book is designed to present fundamentalsof data structures for beginners using the C++ programming language in afriendly, self-teaching, format. Practical analogies using real worldapplications are integrated throughout the text to explain technical concepts.
Data Structures and Transmission by Mackenzie Barlow (Editor)
ISBN: 9781536110715
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
The recent advances in computer networks and the widespread use of the Internet, together with other developments in telecommunications technology have made it possible to send messages and exchange information around the whole world. The high variety and the large amount of data exchanged across communication networks have increased over the last few years. This means the threat of interception during data transmission has become a major concern. Important research aimed at designing algorithms to help prevent interception and enhance data security is currently of primary relevance. These algorithms can assure security for fast evolving communication and storage applications that must be secured against intrusion threats, which unfortunately are increasing in sophistication and frequency. This book analyses new research on the technology and applications of data structures and data transmission.
Everyday Data Structures by William Smith
ISBN: 9781787121041
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
A practical guide to learning data structures simply and easily, this book is a very practical, friendly, and useful guide that will help you analyze problems and choose the right data structures for your solution- Learn to recognize data patterns for determining which structures apply to a given problem- Explore the unique rules or "gotchas" that will help you become an excellent programmer.
Learning Functional Data Structures and Algorithms by Atul S. Khot; Raju Kumar Mishra
ISBN: 9781785888731
Publication Date: 2017-02-23
Learn functional data structures and algorithms for your applications and bring their benefits to your work now. This book will help you get started with functional programming. Easy-to-understand explanations of practical topics will help you get started with functional data structures and ullustrative diagrams to explain the algorithms in detail. Get hands-on practice of Scala to get the most out of functional programming.

Learning Ros for Robotics Programming - Second Edition by Luis Sanchez Crespo
ISBN: 9781783987597
Publication Date: 2015-08-31
If you are a robotic enthusiast who wants to learn how to build and program your own robots in an easy-to-develop, maintainable, and shareable way, this book is for you. In order to make the most of the book, you should have a C++ programming background, knowledge of GNU/Linux systems, and general skill in computer science. No previous background on ROS is required, as this book takes you from the ground up.
Operating Systems by R. Garg; G. Verma
ISBN: 9781942270409
Publication Date: 2017-02-22
Designed as a "teach-yourself" text, the book provides a step-by-step approach to clarify all of the key concepts, architectures, and components of operating systems. The book covers all of the topics from the basics to the latest mobile devices, and features key operating systems e.g., Android, iOS, Linux, and Windows 10. This book would be very useful not only as an introductory text for undergraduate students of computer science, but also for those professionals who need to review modern operating systems.
Control-Based Operating System Design by Alberto Leva; Martina Maggio; Alessandro Vittorio Papadopoulos; Federico Terraneo
ISBN: 9781849196093
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
Control-Based Operating System Design describes the application of system- and control-theoretical methods to the design of computer operating system components. It argues that computer operating system components should not be first 'designed' and then 'endowed with control', but rather when possible conceived from the outset as controllers, synthesised and assessed in the system-theoretical world of dynamic models, and then realised as control algorithms. Doing so is certainly a significant perspective shift with respect to current practices in operating system design, but the payoff is significant too.
Centos High Availability by Mitja Resman
ISBN: 9781785285325
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
This book is targeted at system engineers and system administrators who want to upgrade their knowledge and skills in high availability and want to learn practically how to achieve high availability with CentOS Linux.

Cloud and Fog Computing in 5G Mobile Networks by Evangelos Markakis (Editor); George Mastorakis (Editor); Constandinos X. Mavromoustakis (Editor); Evangelos Pallis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785610837
Publication Date: 2017-03-30
Cloud computing is a key trend in computing and networking. Now diffused among end-users devices in mobile and wireline networks, the cloud is becoming the "fog". This book presents frameworks and schemes that use devices from end-users or near-users to carry out storage, communication, computation and control in the network. These novel approaches support the Internet of Things, the efficient provision of heterogeneous 5G mobile services, as well as emerging applications over future wireless network architectures.
Advances in Computer Communications and Networks from Green, Mobile, Pervasive Networking to Big Data Computing by Kewei Sha (Editor); Aaron Striegel (Editor); Min Song (Editor)
ISBN: 9788793379879
Publication Date: 2017-02-09
Recent developments in computer communications and networks have enabled the deployment of exciting new areas such as Internet of Things and collaborative big data analysis. The design and implementation of energy efficient future generation communication and networking technologies also require the clever research and development of mobile, pervasive, and large-scale computing technologies. Advances in Computer Communications and Networks: From Green, Mobile, Pervasive Networking to Big Data Computingstudies and presents recent advances in communication and networking technologies reflecting the state-of-the-art research achievements in novel communication technology and network optimization.
From Social Butterfly to Engaged Citizen by Marcus Foth
ISBN: 9780262016513
Publication Date: 2011-11-18
Studies from around the world show how the social media tools of Web 2.0 are shaping engagement with cities, communities, and spaces. Web 2.0 tools, including blogs, wikis, and photo sharing and social networking sites, have made possible a more participatory Internet experience. Much of this technology is available for mobile phones, where it can be integrated with such device-specific features as sensors and GPS. From Social Butterfly to Engaged Citizen examines how this increasingly open, collaborative, and personalizable technology is shaping not just our social interactions but new kinds of civic engagement with cities, communities, and spaces. It offers analyses and studies from around the world that explore how the power of social technologies can be harnessed for social engagement in urban areas.
Geospacial Computing in Mobile Devices by Ruizi Chen; Robert Guinness
ISBN: 9781608075652
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
Geospatial computing includes utilizing computing devices and sensors to acquire, process, analyze, manage, and visualize geospatial data, which users can then interact with via a large variety of smart geospatial applications. Geospatial computing is a computational-demanding task, in terms of computation power, data storage capacity, and memory space. Therefore, it has primarily been performed on non-mobile computers. Recent developments allow smartphones to meet many of the demanded requirements for geospatial computing. This book addresses the topic of geospatial computing in smartphones, including positioning, mobile Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and smart mobile applications.

Introduction to Network Security by Jie Wang; Zachary A. Kissel
ISBN: 9781118939499
Publication Date: 2015-06-23
This introductory textbook in the important area of network security for undergraduate and graduate students comprehensively covers fundamental concepts with newer topics such as electronic cash, bit-coin, P2P, SHA-3, E-voting, and Zigbee security. Fully updated to reflect new developments in network security Introduces a chapter on Cloud security, a very popular and essential topic. It uses everyday examples that most computer users experience to illustrate important principles and mechanisms.
Network Security by Eric Maiwald
ISBN: 9780072229578
Publication Date: 2003-05-29
Provides everyone from network professionals to students a single source for learning and implementing security best practices.
The Network Security Test Lab by Michael Gregg
ISBN: 9781118987155
Publication Date: 2015-08-10
The ultimate hands-on guide to IT security and proactive defense, The Network Security Test Lab is a hands-on, step-by-step guide to ultimate IT security implementation. Covering the full complement of malware, viruses, and other attack technologies, this essential guide walks you through the security assessment and penetration testing process, and provides the set-up guidance you need to build your own security-testing lab.
The Practice of Network Security Monitoring by Richard Bejtlich
ISBN: 9781593275099
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
Network security is not simply about building impenetrable walls determined attackers will eventually overcome traditional defenses. The most effective computer security strategies integrate network security monitoring (NSM): the collection and analysis of data to help you detect and respond to intrusions. In The Practice of Network Security Monitoring, Mandiant CSO Richard Bejtlich shows you how to use NSM to add a robust layer of protection around your networks no prior experience required.
Security in Fixed and Wireless Networks by Guenter Schaefer; Michael Rossberg
ISBN: 9781119040767
Publication Date: 2016-08-05
This book introduces aspects on security threats and their countermeasures in both fixed and wireless networks, advising on how countermeasures can provide secure communication infrastructures. Enables the reader to understand the risks of inappropriate network security, what mechanisms and protocols can be deployed to counter these risks, and how these mechanisms and protocols work.