Mental Health - Interprofessional Practice

The Arts of Indigenous Health and Well-Being demonstrates the healing possibilities of Indigenous works of art, literature, film, and music from a diversity of Indigenous peoples and arts traditions.

In this book, the authors analyse health and health care in northern Canada from a perspective that acknowledges the unique strengths, resilience, and innovation of northerners, while also addressing the challenges aggravated by contemporary manifestations of colonialism. Old and new forms of colonial programs and policies continue to create health and health care disparities in the North. Written by individuals who live in and study the region, Health and Health Care in Northern Canadautilizes case studies, interviews, photographs, and more, to highlight the lived experiences of northerners and the primary health issues that they face. In order to maintain resilience, improve the positive outcomes of health determinants, and diminish negative stereotypes, we must ensure that northerners - and their cultures, values, strengths, and leadership - are at the centre of the ongoing work to achieve social justice and health equity.

North America's Indigenous population is a vulnerable group, with specific psychological and healing needs that are not widely met in the mental health care system. Indigenous peoples face certain historical, cultural-linguistic and socioeconomic barriers to mental health care access that government, health care organizations and social agencies must work to overcome. This volume examines ways Indigenous healing practices can complement Western psychological service to meet the needs of Indigenous peoples through traditional cultural concepts. Bringing together leading experts in the fields of Aboriginal mental health and psychology, it provides data and models of Indigenous cultural practices in psychology that are successful with Indigenous peoples. It considers Indigenous epistemologies in applied psychology and research methodology, and informs government policy on mental health service for these populations.

This book brings together Indigenous and allied experts addressing mental health among Indigenous peoples across the traditional territories commonly known as the Americas (e.g. Canada, US, Caribbean Islands, Mexico, Bolivia, Venezuela, Ecuador and Brazil), Asia (e.g. China, Korea, Japan, Taiwan and Indonesia), Africa (e.g. South Africa, Central and West Africa) and Oceania (New Guinea and Australia) to exchange knowledge, perspectives and methods for mental health research and service delivery. Around the world, Indigenous peoples have experienced marginalization, rapid culture change and absorption into a global economy with little regard for their needs or autonomy. This cultural discontinuity has been linked to high rates of depression, substance abuse, suicide, and violence in many communities, with the most dramatic impact on youth. Nevertheless, Indigenous knowledge, tradition and practice have remained central to wellbeing, resilience and mental health in these populations.

This book provides insight into the primary issues faced by older adults; the services and benefits available to them; and the knowledge base, techniques, and skills necessary to work effectively in a therapeutic relationship. Dr. Kampfe offers empirically and anecdotally based strategies and interventions for dealing with clients’ personal concerns and describes ways counselors can advocate for older people on a systemic level.

Health care organizations are beginning to recognize the importance of cultural competence as it relates to efficiency, quality, and equity in the delivery of care within a competitive health care market, and Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care is designed to train mental health clinicians to deliver culturally sensitive care to an increasingly diverse patient population.

The COVID-19 pandemic has had a disproportionate impact on older adults with mental illness, and Geriatric Mental Health Care was conceived in response. This book, with its detailed descriptions of clinical and social innovations to mitigate the impact of the pandemic on a vulnerable population, represents an ongoing effort to address rapidly evolving health care needs. Because the authors worked on this book during the pandemic, the practices they describe have been tested and refined in the real world. Introductory vignettes that serve to illustrate each chapter's salient points, key takeaways that allow for quick reference, and multiple-choice questions that help reinforce learning are the hallmarks of Geriatric Mental Health Care.

The experienced editors of Practical Strategies in Geriatric Mental Health: Cases and Approaches recognize that older patients can pose unique challenges to general practitioners working outside this specialty, and that the shortage of geriatric mental health specialists makes the creation of trustworthy, user-friendly resources more critical than ever. In response, they produced this book to be accessible not only to physicians and mental health practitioners, but also to a broader audience of care and service providers for older adults, such as social workers and nurses.

This textbook provides an overview of child and adolescent mental health. The text covers all core aspects on the subject, from the importance of knowing why mental health in children is important, to how to assess, formulate and treat a variety of presentations seen in children and young people. Beginning with an overview of conditions and the background to emotional and behavioural problems, the book examines the different models and tools used to assess and treat children and young people and provides an outline of the practitioners working to help this population.

This new guide will help clinicians recognize and manage emerging mental health issues using interventions that are designed for the primary care setting. Mental Health Strategies for Pediatric Care provides a framework for identifying and understanding the common factors and common elements of mental health care and, as a natural outgrowth, incorporating the following considerations into daily practice:

This handbook provides a succinct introduction to child mental health, covering the nature, prevalence, treatment and management of mental health problems in children and young people. The authors explore a range of issues surrounding the emotional needs of young people, showing how specific problems such as ADHD and learning difficulties can be targeted, while also recognising diversity issues and paying particular attention to at-risk groups. This edition is updated to reflect current direction in services, cutting edge approaches to interventions in primary health care, teaching and social service settings, as well as incorporating children's views on what mental health means to them and the impact of social media.

Shaping the Future of Child and Adolescent Mental Health: Towards Technological Advances and Service Innovations coincides with the 25th International Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions (IACAPAP) Congress in Dubai from December 5-9, 2022. There are three overarching themes of this book. Firstly, the impact of the Internet and digital technologies on the mental health and well-being of children and adolescents, including computerized therapies, and the fundamental role of technologies to advance knowledge in the field. Secondly, a theme on harnessing the expansion of knowledge on psychiatric disorders and their treatment for children and adolescents, exemplified by chapters on different kinds of adversity in child and adolescent mental health and a chapter on precision therapeutics. Given the location of the IACAPAP Congress, the third theme focuses on aspects of child and adolescent mental health in the Eastern Mediterranean Region.

This book explores the ways in which diversity and experiences of marginalisation are present in forensic mental health care settings around the globe and suggests ways of moving forward. Forensic mental health services provide care for a group of patients who are marginalised in several respects. Many have experienced childhood adversity and abuse, substance use, serious and chronic mental disorders, poor healthcare education or treatment, inadequate educational opportunities, social isolat

The forensic mental health system is the place where the mental health system and the criminal justice system meet. The forensic mental health system can be confusing for people who have a mental illness. The legal system can be intimidating, and a client's freedom may be limited. Many new people may suddenly become involved in the client's life, including police, lawyers, judges, doctors and members of review boards. This guide is designed to help clients and their families find their way through this system. The guide: • outlines who works in the forensic mental health system • describes what happens inside this system.

People who are detained in or who use forensic mental health services are defined by the fact that they have violated boundaries, often in many ways. For clinicians employed to work therapeutically with this client group however, the capacity to initiate and maintain boundaries is critical to safety as well as to good treatment outcomes. This book provides a thorough introduction to the subject of professional and therapeutic boundaries and their particular complexities within forensic mental health settings.

Provides information and suggestions for conducting forensic mental health evaluations of children and adolescents. A range of assessment problems are described in this book, along with discussions about measurement techniques and forensic issues related to minors.