Library and Academic Success: Acupuncture: Acupuncture in Health

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Acupuncture in Health

This category of acupuncture and women's health provides information from open access journals and an electronic book available in our library. For future research on this topic, please consider using the library's Page1+ tool to locate journal articles, videos, reports and books. You can also specifically search the PubMed database to find relevant research on the topic - please use the PubMed database listed on the library's A-Z listing. If you do search Google/Google Scholar for journal articles on this topic, make sure the open access journals are valid. There is a listing of "Open Access Directories" in this research guide which may assist you in determining valid open access journals.

Acupuncture and women's health: an overview of the role of acupuncture and its clinical management in women's reproductive health
This open access journal article by Suzanne Cochrane, Caroline A Smith, Alphia Possamai-Inesedy, and Alan Bensoussan, from the International Journal of Women's Health, discusses how gynecological health is recognized as being responsive to traditional East Asian medicine. Traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) includes the modalities of acupuncture and Chinese herbal medicine. This review article focuses primarily on the use of acupuncture for female reproductive health. It addresses the understandings of the physiology of acupuncture’s impact on female reproductive function and research on acupuncture for reproductive health disorders.

Increasing IVF Success with Acupuncture by Nick Dalton-Brewer
ISBN: 0857011650
Publication Date: 2014
This practical book provides need-to-know information vital for acupuncturists to treat patients with fertility problems.Nick Dalton-Brewer details the causes of fertility issues, including the impact of lifestyle and diet, and explains the scientific basis for the different methods of treatment. Integrating Assisted Reproduction Techniques (ART) with Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) therapies and acupuncture, he presents his own cutting-edge research on the successful use of these therapies to improve fertility and pregnancy rates and describes a method for integrated diagnosis and treatment.This book will give TCM practitioners direct access to the vital specialist knowledge and technical information needed to treat the increasing numbers of patients with fertility problems effectively. It will also be of interest to doctors of Western medicine concerned about the efficacy of recommending acupuncture treatments as adjuncts to ART.

The safety of acupuncture during pregnancy: a systematic review
The systematic review article by Jimin Park, Youngjoo Sohn, Adrian R White, and Hyangsook Lee, in the open access journal, Acupuncture in Medicine, discusses that although there is growing interest in the use of acupuncture during pregnancy, the safety of acupuncture is yet to be rigorously investigated. The objective of this review article was to identify adverse events (AEs) associated with acupuncture treatment during pregnancy.

This category of acupuncture and sports provides information from books and journal articles available in our library. For future research on this topic, please consider using the library's Multisearch tool to locate journal articles, videos, reports and books. You can also specifically search the PubMed database to find relevant research on the topic - please use the PubMed database listed on the library's A-Z listing. If you do search Google/Google Scholar for journal articles on this topic, make sure the sources are valid and credible.

Sports Acupuncture by Yoshito Mukaino
Call Number: RD97 .Y67 2008
ISBN: 0939616661
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Based on the M-Test results, the synergistic action of the joints and muscles involved in the movements can be facilitated with acupuncture, massage, or stretching. For the acupuncturist, the M-Test provides another powerful assessment tool for the treatment of pain and compromised movement. This system is compatible with the traditional understanding of the meridians, but takes it a step further to clarify the relationship between the meridians and movement. Practitioners can render treatment with a better understanding of this relationship and identify the most effective points for treating pain and improving movement. The M-Test can also be used to evaluate the results of treatment or the stretching regimen so that a better strategy can be formulated if the results are unsatisfactory. Athletes can learn to perform M-Test movements before or even during competition to identify and correct abnormalities to improve their performance and prevent injuries.
Biomedical Acupuncture for Sports and Trauma Rehabilitation by Yun-tao Ma
Call Number: RD97 .M3 2011
ISBN: 1437709273
Publication Date: 2010-03-11
Written by widely respected acupuncture expert Yun-tao Ma, PhD, LAc, Biomedical Acupuncture for Sports and Trauma Rehabilitation shows techniques that will enhance athletic performance, accelerate recovery after intensive workouts, and speed trauma rehabilitation after injuries or surgeries. Evidence-based research is used to support the best and most effective techniques, with over 100 illustrations showing anatomy, injury, and clinical procedures. Unlike many other acupuncture books, this book uses a Western approach to make it easier to understand rationales, master techniques, and integrate biomedical acupuncture into your practice.

Acupuncture for Athletes: Performance, Prevention and Rehabilitation of Sports Injuries. (Oriental Medicine, 2014)
This article briefly outlines the history, methodology and technique of acupuncture, Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM). It provides an overview of Chinese herbal medicine in athletics and it also shows how acupuncture has been found to be beneficial for prevention and rehabilitation of sports injuries. For prevention, it has been shown both subjectively (rate of perceived exertion reported) and objectively to help with muscle fatigue after exercise. For rehabilitation, it has been shown to assist in the recovery process.

From: Cohn Morgan, Nancy. (2014). Acupuncture for Athletes: Performance, Prevention and Rehabilitation of Sports Injuries. Oriental Medicine, Spring 2014, 3-32. Retrieved from: http://www.pacificcollege.edu/index.php

Sport Injuries & Acupuncture. (Oriental Medicine Journal, 2011)
This article focuses on the literature review on Western medicine theories, injury treatment modalities and the efficacy of acupuncture for the management of sports-related injuries. It says that the treatment for inflammatory stage of an injury focuses on rest, ice, compression, and elevation (RICE). It mentions that Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) considers sport-related injuries as a disease. Moreover, the benefits of acupuncture as an analgesic are discussed.

From: Li, Dongcheng., & Ricard, Mark D. (2011). Sport injuries & acupuncture. Oriental Medicine Journal, 19(5), 6-13. Retrieved from http://www.omjournal.com/

This category of acupuncture and pain management provides information from books available in our library. It also provides information from an open access journal the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. For future research on this topic, please consider using the library's Multisearch tool to locate journal articles, videos, reports and books. You can also specifically search the PubMed database to find relevant research on the topic - please use the PubMed database listed on the library's A-Z listing. If you do search Google/Google Scholar for journal articles on this topic, make sure the sources are valid and credible.

Evidence Map for Acupuncture (Internet)
This systematic review of systematic reviews provides an overview of the existing literature on acupuncture by Hempel S, Taylor SL, Solloway MR, et al. Washington (DC): Department of Veterans Affairs; 2014 Jan.

From: Wilkinson, R., & Faleiro, R. (2007). Acupuncture in pain management.Continuing Education in Anaesthesia and Critical Care Pain, 7, 135-138. doi:10.1093/bjaceaccp/mkm021 From: https ://ceaccp.oxfordjournals.org/content/7/4/135.full.pdf+html

Acupuncture: In Depth (National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) provides an overview of what science says about the effectiveness of acupuncture.
It states that results from a number of studies suggest acupuncture may help ease types of pain that are often chronic such as low-back pain, neck pain, and osteoarthritis/knee pain. It also may help reduce the frequency of tension headaches and prevent migraine headaches. Therefore, acupuncture appears to be an option for people with chronic pain. tHowever, clinical practice guidelines are inconsistent in recommendations about acupuncture.

Acupuncture in Pain Management by Lucy Chen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781634630474
Publication Date: 2014
Chronic pain is a significant and sometimes debilitating medical problem, which has a significant impact in our economy and quality of life. It is perhaps the most common reason for Americans to seek medical care and is the leading cause of disability. Despite several options of chronic pain treatment including medications and interventional procedures, the long-term effect of current treatments remains limited. Therefore, it is both necessary and timely to seek complementary and alternative treatments as a part of integrative medicine for chronic pain management. Acupuncture is a well-known modality of complementary and alternative medicine that may help improve pain and related comorbid symptoms, decrease drug dependency and usage, and lead to better quality of life.
Acupuncture for Pain Management
ISBN: 9781306162715
Publication Date: 2014
Acupuncture for Pain Management is intended as the premier resource for learning the fundamentals of the art of medical acupuncture. Edited by top pain medicine specialists at Harvard and UCLA, and based on their popular annual workshop at the American Society for Anesthesiologists, the book is the perfect synthesis of Western and Chinese medicine. Anesthesiologists, pain medicine specialists, primary care physicians, osteopaths, neurologists, psychiatrists, physical medicine and rehabilitation specialists, and other health professionals looking to add acupuncture to their repertoire will benefit from the concise and practical approach of the book. Features: Each individual meridian discussed in detailAcupuncture for 25 clinical conditions, including headache, menstrual pain, low back pain, insomnia, and moreAimed at acupuncturists as well as practitioners who want to add acupuncture to their clinical armamentarium"