Library and Academic Success: Hairstyling: E-Journals & Databases

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Starting Databases

Different databases are useful at different times, as they contain different content.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Aesthetic Video Source This link opens in a new window
Education videos for spa & beauty professionals.Users may experiences problems when multiple users access simultaneously.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Professional Magazines

Trade magazines are useful for staying current in your profession. You may consider subscribing to these titles. The magazines website also may contain useful resources.

Global haircare
haircare in Canada
hairdressers Journal
Hairdresser's Journal International
Les Nouvelles Esthétiques & Spa
Spa Canada

Other Databases

CPS This link opens in a new window
Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties (CPS), E-CPS, drug therapy & patient care. Please note, your browser must allow pop ups. Database times out after 30 min. Not Mac compatible.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Recommended E-Resources

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 265,000 eBooks titles on a wide range of subjects. Includes eBooks purchased by Georgian's library to support curriculum.

Anatomy & Physiology

SMART This link opens in a new window
Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase contains medical images, animations & interactive multimedia.
Permitted Uses: License Info
This database has a separate interface from other EBSCO databases so does not appear when you select “CHOOSE DATABASES” in EBSCO.