Home - Getting Started - Advertising and Marketing Communications - Library and Academic Success at Georgian College

Faculty Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Research Guides

Support

Live Chat - Get Research help now Drop-in or Schedule Appointments for
Tutoring and Research Submit your paper for feedback

The Learning Portal: Colleges Libraries Ontario — The Learning Portal

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access scholarly journals, trade publications, wire feeds, and other news sources. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, industry profiles, and more. Easily modify your search to focus on trade, magazine, or journal articles, Complements our other business databases and sources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This business database provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. Trade, news, and scholarly articles are searchable and accessible. Additionally, market research and industry profiles can be found. Relevant business search filters like company name, NAICS code, DUNS number, and ticker symbol are available to narrow the search.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CARD This link opens in a new window
On Campus Access Only. Canadian media information, including: advertising rates and related data for Canadian newspapers, magazines, radio stations, TV stations; includes selected International media. To see definitions of CARD's filters, select the black exclamation icon above.
Permitted Uses: License Info
comScore This link opens in a new window
For access, contact Research Help staff for login & password information.
ComScore measures digital space - Georgian subscribes to the AdMetrix, Mobile Metrix, and Media Metrix modules that measure website usage. The data is of use to advertisers & agencies, industry players and those involved in competitive analysis. comScore is a tool used to identify where [the websites] an advertiser ran ads for specific products [including creatives used in the campaign]; top advertisers within an industry, and their related products.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics allows users to define a location and then assemble demographic data describing the inhabitants. This data can then be mapped and analyzed. Data includes: 2011 and 2016 census, household expenditures, and PRIZM. Data can be exported in a variety of formats. 5 concurrent users at a time.
Create an account using your Georgian email to save your project work. Otherwise, you can access by selecting "sign in as guest" but your work will not be saved.

Permitted Uses: License Info
Vividata This link opens in a new window
By accessing and using Vividata, you acknowledge and agree that only persons who are specifically authorized by Georgian College pursuant to the terms of a membership agreement may access and use Vividata studies and the information contained in this Vividata platform. Vividata may audit logins to review compliance by users and persons logging in.

Reports product category user demographic information from the Survey of Canadian Consumers. The data is generated by the user who selects the survey variables to create a target market.
For access, contact library@georgiancollege.ca for login & password information.
To access this database contact the library
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Permalinks/stable links currently not working. For best results use Firefox or Chrome.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Online Magazines & Journals

Strategy
This has a subscription service as well as guest access. Marketing Magazine merged with Strategy. Archives of Marketing can be found under "M Archives".
AdvertisingAge
View one of the key U.S. advertising trade journals.
AdWeek
Access via Flipster for a browsing experience.

Websites

Canadian Code of Advertising Standards
Administered by Advertising Standards Canada, the code sets out the criteria for acceptable advertising that is truthful, fair and accurate. The code's 14 clauses form the basis for the review of consumer and special interest group complaints, and trade disputes.