Library and Academic Success: Environmental Technology: Recommended Databases

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Recommended Databases

The following library databases offer excellent content on all aspects of the environment such as sustainability, energy, technology and toxicology. One of the most relevant databases to locate environmental literature is Science Direct. It offers mainly full text literature from key environmental journals such as the Journal of Cleaner Production, Environmental International, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Review and Resources, Environment and Sustainability.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records, covering the fields of computing and information technology.
Permitted Uses: License Info
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
The ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) provides current and authoritative peer-reviewed content in mechanical engineering and related engineering fields such as renewable energy, boiler and pressure vessels, building and construction, manufacturing and processing, robotics and mechatronics, automotive systems and computer information in engineering. The ASME Digital Collection includes: ASME's Transaction Journals from 1959 to the present, ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2000 to the present and ASME eBooks selected from 1993 to the present
Permitted Uses: License Info
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Permitted Uses: License Info
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library (IEL) provides full text access to high quality scientific and technical literature in engineering and all aspects of technology with its entire IEEE collection of journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, select standards and eBooks.

Permitted Uses: License Info
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics.
Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Related Databases

CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] This link opens in a new window
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] website provides information on all aspects of occupational health and safety. Access Canadian legislation and standards, MSDS, CHEMINFO, FTSS, RTECS®, OSHLINE™ with NIOSHTIC®, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The CSA OnDemand database offers access to the full text of all standards, codes, guidelines and handbooks published by the Canadian Standards Association. Areas covered include construction, engineering, electrical, energy, health and safety, environmental and more. Note: Downloaded PDF documents must be opened using the Desktop version of Adobe Reader or Acrobat and the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus, instead use "online version."
Science This link opens in a new window
This database includes selected general science periodicals including topics such as computers, engineering, and technology.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Techstreet This link opens in a new window
Web-based access to a select set of industry codes and standards in PDF format for areas such as engineering, technology and the skilled trades

Note: Ontario codes not available but if there are additional codes you would like to see added please contact Karen.Halliday@georgiancollege.ca to make your request.