Home - Getting Started - Aviation Management - Library and Academic Success at Georgian College

Faculty Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Research Guides

Support

Live Chat - Get Research help now Drop-in or Schedule Appointments for
Tutoring and Research Submit your paper for feedback

The Learning Portal: Colleges Libraries Ontario — The Learning Portal

Starting Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access over 1000 full text journals and over 400 full text trade publications. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, industry profiles, and more. Easily modify your search to focus on trade, magazine, or journal articles, Complements our other business databases and sources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Permalinks/stable links currently not working. For best results use Firefox or Chrome.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics.
Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts.
Permitted Uses: License Info

eBooks

Aviation Law: Cases, Laws and Related Sources by Paul B. Larsen; John E. Gillick; Joseph C. Sweeney
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789004168107
Publication Date: 2012-06-07
Offers a basic handbook for air law practitioners providing them with a starting point for almost any subject they may encounter.
Aviation Security Considerations: expedited passenger screening and modification of prohibited items list by Irene Simmons
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781634833066
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The Transportation Security Administration (TSA), within the Department of Homeland Security, screens or oversees the screening of over 650 million air passengers annually at over 450 airports nationwide, and attempts to balance its aviation security mission with the freedom of movement for people and commerce.
The Avro Arrow: For the record by Palmiro Campagna
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781459743182
Publication Date: 2019-02-16
Declassified government records shed additional light on the cancellation and subsequent destruction of the Avro Arrow. The controversial cancellation of the Avro Arrow -- an extraordinary achievement of Canadian military aviation -- continues to fire debate today.
General Aviation: ability insurance issues and mitigation of safety risks by Jessie Douglas
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781634847353
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Examines existing liability insurance requirements for GA aircraft owners; premiums for GA liability insurance; and factors that selected stakeholders cited which should be considered in determining whether to adopt a federal liability insurance requirement.
Level Playing Field for Open Skies: the need for consistent aviation regulation by Peter Paul Fitzgerald
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789462366251
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Examines the events that have reshaped the international aviation industry between 1992 and 2012. It critically analyzes the major developments and the regulatory responses, and it highlights some of the incompatible and disjointed regulations that are in effect at either end of international routes.
Plane Truth: aviation's real impact on people and the environment by Rose Bridger
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780745330327
Publication Date: 2013-10-09
In addition to the environmental impact of airport expansion, devouring farmland and wildlife habitats, and aviation's impact of noise and air pollution on communities, Rose Bridger reveals the extraordinary government subsidies for the aviation industry, encompassing government expenditure on infrastructure to tax breaks, all of which serve to support the industry in the face of rising oil prices and global economic downturn.
Wings Across Canada: an illustrated history of Canadian aviation by Peter Pigott
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781550024128
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
From the eccentric Fairey Battle to the lethal-looking CF-18, from modern airliners that have no defects (and no character) to the classic North Star (which had both), here is the ultimate line-up of the aircraft that have served Canadians in the last century.