Sciences for Nursing
This section offers easy to access library ebooks which offer content on the sciences studied in the nursing program including microbiology, pathophysiology, anatomy and physiology and medical terminology. Please make sure you check out the links for helpful anatomy and physiology study resources as well. There's a very helpful Anatomy and Physiology OER Textbook which can help in your understanding of anatomy and physiology listed below.
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals by Jahangir Moini
Publication Date: 2019-01-17
Written with health professions students in mind, the Third Edition of Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals offers an engaging, approachable, and comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology. The Third Edition features a total of six multifaceted 'Units' which build upon an understanding of basic knowledge, take readers through intermediate subjects, and finally delve into complex topics that stimulate critical thinking.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance by Ian Peate; Muralitharan Nair
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration nursing and healthcare students, from the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series. Combining superb illustrations with accessible and informative text, this book covers all the body systems and key concepts encountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing or healthcare program, and is ideal for anyone looking for an overview of the human body.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Visual! by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Anatomy & Physiology Made Incredibly Visual is an innovative new reference that brings clinical subjects to life using a vivid, graphic presentation. Like the Incredibly Easy series, the Incredibly Visual series takes difficult clinical topics and presents them in a clear, concise, easy-to-understand manner. The highly visual nature of this book makes anatomy and physiology fundamentals accessible to the reader in a unique and interesting way that enables quick review and comprehension as well as practical application.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by Ian Peate (Editor); Muralitharan Nair (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the human body, with clinical applications throughout. Designed specifically for nursing and healthcare students, the new edition of this best-selling textbook provides a user-friendly, straightforward, jargon-free introduction to the subject.
Anatomy and Physiology OER Textbook
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance by Stephen Gillespie; Kathleen Bamford
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
This concise and popular introduction to medical microbiology and infection encapsulates the fundamental facts and principles of this rapidly growing and changing subject area. Written by experienced clinicians and teachers, it covers the basic concepts of medical microbiology, and the main human pathogens and infectious syndromes, in an accessible and lucid format.
Microbiology Demystified by Tom Betsy; Jim Keogh
Publication Date: 2005-05-25
Chapters of this book include: 1. The Microbial World 2. Observing Microorganisms Through a Microscope 3. Functional Anatomy of Prokaryotic and Eukaryotic Cells 4. Microbial Metabolism 5. Microbial Growth and Controlling Microbial Growth 6. Microbial Genetics 7. Biotechnology and Recombinant DNA 8. Classification of Microorganisms 9.
Microbiology for Dummies by Jennifer Stearns; Michael Surette
Publication Date: 2014-10-20
Microbiology For Dummies is your guide to understanding the fundamentals of this enormously-encompassing field. Whether your career plans include microbiology or another science or health specialty, you need to understand life at the cellular level before you can understand anything on the macro scale. Explore the difference between prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells Understand the basics of cell function and metabolism Discover the differences between pathogenic and symbiotic relationships Study the mechanisms that keep different organisms active and alive.
Pathophysiology : a 2-in-1 reference for nurses by Carol Munson, Rob Traister (Eds)
Publication Date: 2005
This book offers a clinically accurate understanding of the complex working of our bodies, in easy to understand language. To help simplify complex issues, the editors have provided ﬂowcharts, diagrams, and illustrations throughout the book and logos that highlight clinical alerts and potentially life-threatening disorders. Pathophysiology: A 2-in-1 Reference for Nurses is what the title claims — two books in one! Between its unique style and text that’s chock-full of information, this book is a must-have in every health care provider’s library!
Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children by Kathryn L. McCance & Sue E. Huether (Eds)
Publication Date: 2014
Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children, 7th Edition helps you understand the most important and the most complex pathophysiology concepts. More than 1,200 full-color illustrations and photographs make it easier to identify normal anatomy and physiology, as well as alterations of function. This edition includes a NEW Epigenetics and Disease chapter along with additional What's New boxes highlighting the latest advances in pathophysiology.
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology by Muralitharan Nair (Editor); Ian Peate (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-12-20
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology is designed specifically for nursing and healthcare students, providing a straightforward, jargon-free, accessible introduction to pathophysiology. Highly visual and written specifically for students, the second edition of this best-selling textbook provides clear explanations of the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology. To make study easier, the book includes learning outcomes, a range of activities to test learning, key words, end-of-chapter glossaries, and clinical case scenarios.
Medical Terminology for Dummies by Beverley Henderson; Jennifer L. Dorsey
Publication Date: 2019-11-08
Medical Terminology For Dummies is a powerful resource for current and prospective healthcare professionals. It provides different ways to memorize the words and their meanings, including ideas for study materials, flash cards, quizzes, mind maps, and games. Plus, you'll discover how to identify, pronounce, define, and apply words in proper context.
Quick Medical Terminology by Shirley Soltesz Steiner; Natalie Pate Capps
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
The new, updated edition of the classic medical terminology reference with over 200,000 copies sold Quick Medical Terminology has long been relied on by students and medical professionals looking to build or update their medical vocabulary. This new fifth edition provides the tools and information needed to understand the simple logic behind hundreds of seemingly incomprehensible words, along with fresh exercises and current examples.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals.
Study Resources for Anatomy & Physiology
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.