Library and Academic Success: Electrical Engineering: Recommended Databases

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Starting Databases

These are great library databases which feature current and relevant content on all aspects of electrical engineering. The IEEE Xplore Digital Library database, in particular, offers excellent information including magazine and journal articles, select eBooks and the latest conference proceedings on key topics in electrical engineering and the latest technologies.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records, covering the fields of computing and information technology.
Permitted Uses: License Info
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
The ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) provides current and authoritative peer-reviewed content in mechanical engineering and related engineering fields such as renewable energy, boiler and pressure vessels, building and construction, manufacturing and processing, robotics and mechatronics, automotive systems and computer information in engineering. The ASME Digital Collection includes: ASME's Transaction Journals from 1959 to the present, ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2000 to the present and ASME eBooks selected from 1993 to the present
Permitted Uses: License Info
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library (IEL) provides full text access to high quality scientific and technical literature in engineering and all aspects of technology with its entire IEEE collection of journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, select standards and eBooks.

Permitted Uses: License Info
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics.
Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Specialist databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access over 1000 full text journals and over 400 full text trade publications. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] This link opens in a new window
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] website provides information on all aspects of occupational health and safety. Access Canadian legislation and standards, MSDS, CHEMINFO, FTSS, RTECS®, OSHLINE™ with NIOSHTIC®, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The CSA OnDemand database offers access to the full text of all standards, codes, guidelines and handbooks published by the Canadian Standards Association. Areas covered include construction, engineering, electrical, energy, health and safety, environmental and more. Note: Downloaded PDF documents must be opened using the Desktop version of Adobe Reader or Acrobat and the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus, instead use "online version."
MarketLine Advantage
See GlobalData Explorer.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics allows users to define a location and then assemble demographic data describing the inhabitants. This data can then be mapped and analyzed. Data includes: 2011 and 2016 census, household expenditures, and PRIZM. Data can be exported in a variety of formats. 5 concurrent users at a time.
Create an account using your Georgian email to save your project work. Otherwise, you can access by selecting "sign in as guest" but your work will not be saved.

Permitted Uses: License Info
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics [Canadian + international] in 20 multidisciplinary categories; country, industry, consumer & demographic data; dossiers and research studies
Techstreet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based access to a select set of industry codes and standards in PDF format for areas such as engineering, technology and the skilled trades Watch this tutorial video.

Note: Ontario codes not available but if there are additional codes you would like to see added please contact Karen.Halliday@georgiancollege.ca to make your request.