Library and Academic Success: Graphic Design: Graphic Design Trends

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Graphic Design Trends

School of Motion
The School of Motion teaches people everything they ever wanted to know about After Effects, Cinema 4D, Photoshop, Illustrator and more. Their mission is to enable our students to have successful and fulfilling careers in the Motion Design industry.
Motion Plus Design
Motion Plus Design is promoting the art of motion design across the world by creating international events and sharing its best resources. With now yearly editions in Los Angeles, Paris & Tokyo, Motion Plus Design is spreading over the world in 15 cities from Rio to Istanbul, New Delhi to Shanghai. On this website you’ll find the best worldwide motion designers talks, interviews, school worldmap, online resources, etc.
Vinno Media
Vinno Media is an Oman based company offering local and international media services. They create appealing designs, which build brands and help our clients communicate better. They offer an informative blog and great examples of motion design.

Design for Motion by Austin Shaw
Call Number: TR 897.7.S3885 2016
ISBN: 9781138812093
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
Plumb the depths of core motion design fundamentals and harness the essential techniques of this diverse and innovative medium. Combine basic art and design principles with creative storytelling to create compelling style frames, design boards, and motion design projects. Here, in one volume, Austin Shaw covers all the principles any serious motion designer needs to know in order to make their artistic visions a reality and confidently produce compositions for clients, including: Illustration techniques Typography Compositing Cinematography Incorporating 3D elements Matte painting Concept development, and much more.
Motion Graphic Design by Jon Krasner
Call Number: TR 897.5.K72 2013
ISBN: 9780240821139
Publication Date: 2013-04-26
Enhance your knowledge of motion graphic design aesthetics and history with this authoritative look at the evolution of the art form. Motion Graphic Design,Third Editionprovides a historical and critical overview of how the language of traditional graphic design is combined with the dynamic visual language of cinema in film, television, and interactive media. It features works from highly acclaimed animators and motion graphics studios from across the globe. This new edition has been updated to include: Thorough analysis of motion graphics designed for websites, informational kiosks, desktop and mobile touchscreen applications, DVD menus, and games Inspiring examples of how motion graphics continue to shape our visual landscape by transforming interior and exterior spaces into more engaging, immersive environments　
Motion Graphics - 100 Design Projects You Can't Miss by Wang Shaoqiang (Editor)
Call Number: TR 897.7.M68 2012
ISBN: 9788416851294
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Motion graphics -- a digital technique that combines the language of traditional graphic design with the creative visual language of film and animation -- has become a fast growing area within the practice of graphic design. With the function of storytelling, it evokes a strong emotion and creates a connection between the message and the watcher.

An Introduction to Wayfinding (Creative Bloq)
This is a introduction to wayfinding by Nick Carson (Creative Bloq). Discover the art of wayfinding with five best-in-class examples.

Signage and Wayfinding Design by Chris Calori; David Vanden-Eynden
Call Number: T 385.C351 2015
ISBN: 9781118692998
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
A new edition of the market-leading guide to signage and wayfinding design This new edition of Signage and Wayfinding Design: A Complete Guide to Creating Environmental Graphic Design Systems has been fully updated to offer you the latest, most comprehensive coverage of the environmental design process--from research and design development to project execution.
Wayfinding and Signage by Philipp MEUSER
Call Number: NC 1002.S54 W39 2010
ISBN: 9783869221083
Publication Date: 2010-11-02
The goal of this book is to communicate knowledge and information which help in the planning and application of effective orientation systems in the tourist industry. International examples from all areas of tourism create a valuable overview of the subject. Topics covered include: congress centres, hotels, museums, parking structures, and medical facilities.
Wayfinding by Graphic Team
Call Number: HF 5841.W39 2012
ISBN: 9789881506924
Publication Date: 2014-10-15
The book is concerned with a relatively new design discipline at the intersection of graphic design and architecture - wayfinding. It includes contributions of the best design solutions around the world. The publication gathered a collection of 245 state-of-the-art wayfinding projects from around the globe grouped in parks, education facilities, corporate environments, commercial spaces, hospitality, transportation, health-care, and so on.

The Dieline
The Dieline is dedicated to the progress of the package design industry and its practitioners, students and enthusiasts. Its purpose is to define and promote the world’s best examples of packaging, and provide a place where the package design community can review, critique and stay informed of the latest industry trends and design projects being created in the field.
Industry Profiles - Containers and Packaging Industry
Containers & Packaging Industry Profiles are published by Marketline Advantage which is a Georgian College Subscription database.
Each profile includes: Executive summary of the industry; Market overview; Market value; Market segmentation; Competitive landscape; Leading companies in the industry and Market forecasts.

Canva - 50 Insanely Creative and Stunning Packaging Designs
Packaging is a form of branding and knowing how to make your product stand out among all the others can be hard, so Canva presents 50 creative and unique packaging examples and tips to draw inspiration and learn how to make packaging appeal to the masses.
Also, check out Canva's brief fun video on how to create unique packaging for your brand.
Creative Bloq
Computer Arts staff from Creative Bloq discuss 38 inspiring packaging design examples plus they include online resources such as articles on graphic design and the latest trends.

Best Practices for Graphic Designers, Packaging by Grip
ISBN: 9781610589529
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
"Best Practices for Graphic Designers, Packaging," takes you through the entire packaging process from strategy and concept development, through choosing the right materials, naming systems, studying the competition, surveying the shelf landscape and more. Gain strategic insights on all aspects of package design. From starting with a blank slate all the way up to a finished product, this informative guide to all-things-packaging covers the steps of implementation of packaging design, utilizing a variety of case studies and examples, including practical real-world information about client and vendor interaction.
The Package Design Book by Pentawards (Editor); Julius Wiedemann (Editor)
Call Number: NC 1002.P33 2017
ISBN: 3836555522
Publication Date: 2017-11-25
Packaging is a highly underrated art form. As the first thing a consumer sees when looking at a product, it can make or break a sale. Every year, the Pentawards celebrate the art of the package by recognizing the world's most groundbreaking and influential designs. Designers compete in five main categories -- beverages, food, body, luxury, and other markets -- and no fewer than 50 sub-categories. Featuring a selection of hundreds of works, this book brings together Pentawards winners from 2008 to 2016, providing a vivid demonstration of creativity in every form of packaging.
Package Design Workbook by Steven DuPuis; John Silva
Call Number: NC 1002.P33 D87 2008
ISBN: 9781592533220
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
The Art and Science of Successful Packaging This new addition to the series will provide readers with a thoughtful packaging primer that covers the challenges of designing packaging for a competitive market in a very hardworking and relevant way. The book will address all aspects of the creative process including choosing a package format, colors and materials, final finishes, and special considerations such as awkward objects and unique display considerations.
The Package Design Book 5 by Pentawards; Julius Wiedemann (Editor)
Call Number: T 195.4.P3453 2018
ISBN: 3836573407
Publication Date: 2019-01-23
Attract, protect, inform, collect--good packaging is synonymous with multitasking. Creating these ultimate all-rounders calls for a deep understanding of the good, the market, the customer, the environment, the flow of trade--no easy task. Each year, the Pentawards spotlight the ingenious masterminds behind these complex containers and grant their coveted trophies to the cleverest and most innovative designs in the field. This latest edition of The Package Design Book rounds up the winning designs from the 2017-2018 competitions. With introductory essays, product descriptions, and plenty of images, this book features more than 400 winners from over 40 countries across five main categories--beverages, food, body, luxury, and other markets--and no fewer than 57 subcategories.