Library and Learning Services: Interior Design: Key Topics in Interior Design

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Business & Management, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technologies, Health & Wellness, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Key Topics in Interior Design

Small Space Decorating (Elle Decor)
Elle Decor provides great information to make the most of space with top designers decorating ideas for small rooms and apartments. This includes great visuals on 60 small kitchens to steal inspiration from.

How to Live in Small Spaces by Terence Conran
Call Number: NK2117.S59 C66 2007

ISBN: 9781554072422

Publication Date: 2007-03-16

A world-renowned design authority shows how to make the most of every square foot. Whether motivated by soaring energy costs, smaller families or the desire to live more simply, homeowners are abandoning "McMansions" for smaller housing.
Interior Design for Small Dwellings by Sherrill Baldwin Halbe; Rose K. Mark
ISBN: 9780429506604

Publication Date: 2018

Interior Design for Small Dwellings addresses the onrush of interest in smaller homes and the possibility that small dwellings might be the answer to housing needs and sustainability. The book explores key principles essential to residing and designing small interiors with emphasis on client involvement and implementation of participatory, inclusive design as advocated by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation.
Small Environments by Yenna Chan
ISBN: 9781610601856

Publication Date: 2008-11-01

A visual look at the architectural details of smaller residential spaces The Contemporary Design Details series takes a highly visual look at architectural design details that are more often dealt with in a technical textbook format. The books take readers on a tour of the best details designed by great architects around the world.

According to the Decorators and Designers Association of Canada, sustainable interior design involves designing interior spaces in a way that is environmentally responsible, economically viable, and socially equitable. It involves using materials that are renewable and have a low environmental impact, reducing waste and energy consumption, and promoting health and well-being.

Check out these organizations which reveal information impacting interior design and sustainability:

Cradle to Cradle by William McDonough; Michael Braungart
Call Number: TD794.5 .M395 2002

ISBN: 9780865475878

Publication Date: 2002

A manifesto for a radically different philosophy and practice of manufacture and environmentalism "Reduce, reuse, recycle" urge environmentalists; in other words, do more with less in order to minimize damage. But as this provocative, visionary book argues, this approach perpetuates a one-way, "cradle to grave" manufacturing model that dates to the Industrial Revolution and casts off as much as 90 percent of the materials it uses as waste, much of it toxic. Why not challenge the notion that human industry must inevitably damage the natural world?
Green Interior Design by Lori Dennis; Courtney Porter
ISBN: 9781621537649

Publication Date: 2021

Green Interior Design is the most comprehensive guide to sustainable building, designing, and decorating on the market. This beautifully illustrated guide covers every detail of your home--from the drywall to the finial on the curtain rod--and how to find the most environmentally friendly versions of products and décor. This second edition of Green Interior Design is meant as much for the budget DIYer as it is for the luxury homebuilders looking to dip their toes into sustainability.
Kitchen and Bath Sustainable Design by Amanda Davis; Robin Fisher; NKBA (National Kitchen and Bath Association)
ISBN: 9781118957653

Publication Date: 2014-12-02

The leading industry association's handbook for going green in the kitchen and bath Kitchen & Bath Sustainable Design is the National Kitchen and Bath Association's complete guide to "greening" these important rooms. The first book to focus exclusively on kitchen and bath sustainability, this full color guide covers every consideration for both remodels and new construction, making it a handy reference for any kitchen and bath professional.
Materials and Interior Design by Lorraine Farrelly; Rachael Brown
Call Number: NK2110 .B769 2012

ISBN: 9781856697590

Publication Date: 2012

The choice of materials is critical to the success of an interior. This book examines every aspect of the the use of materials in interior design, from initial concept and selection to visual representation and practical application. The book includes useful step-by-step sequences, information on properties and sustainability, and a list of resources, online archives, and samplelibraries. It is an invaluable practical and inspirational guide for interior design students.
Materials for Interior Environments by Corky Binggeli
Call Number: TA403.4 .B56 2014

ISBN: 9781118306352

Publication Date: 2013-10-07

Organized by types of materials and applications, this guide helps designers successfully address material evaluation and selection of interior components.
Sustainability in Interior Design by Sian Moxon
Call Number: NK 2113.M69 2012

ISBN: 9781780672014

Publication Date: 2012-01-01

The environmental impact of interior architecture and design practice is immense, and this book highlights the need for designers to adapt the way they work and relearn the lessons lost in order to make their designs fully sustainable. Contrary to many preconceptions, sustainable design can be sophisticated and stylish. By its nature, a sustainable approach means considering the whole life cycle of a project, thereby improving the functionality, quality, and human enjoyment and, in the long term, bringing real social and economic benefits.
Sustainable Commercial Interiors by Penny Bonda; Katie Sosnowchik; Summer Minchew (As told to)
ISBN: 9781118879979

Publication Date: 2014-07-30

Discover new approaches to green design and sustainable building with this comprehensive guide There's a substantial amount of information designers and architects need to understand about sustainability and commercial projects, especially as expectations for professionals in the industry become clearer. Luckily, the second edition of Sustainable Commercial Interiors has been revamped to serve as a comprehensive guide for anyone looking to understand the latest in green and sustainable design.
Sustainable Design for Interior Environments by Susan M. Winchip
Call Number: NA2850 .W56 2011

ISBN: 9781609010812

Publication Date: 2011-12-09

The 2nd Edition of Sustainable Design for Interior Environments builds on the premise of the 1st Edition that the interior design profession has a social and moral responsibility to protect the health, safety, and welfare of people and focus on the principles of sustainability and for interior designers to understand how to integrate these principles with design solutions.
Sustainable Residential Interiors by Annette Stelmack; Kari Foster; Debbie Hindman; Associates III
ISBN: 9781118603680

Publication Date: 2014-09-15

The Second Edition of Sustainable Residential Interiors addresses cutting edge processes, strategies, and principles as well as details for in-depth product vetting criteria. Award-winning, leading interior designer Annette Stelmack shares her expertise from the perspective of LEED Building Design & Construction projects, healthy interiors, and chemical sensitivities, addressing principles, strategies, and solutions for design practitioners.

The 7 Principles of Universal Design were developed in 1997 by a group of architects, product designers, engineers and environmental design researchers, led by the late Ronald Mace in the North Carolina State University (NCSU). The purpose of the Principles is to provide guidance and direction on the design of environments, products and communications.

According to the Center for Universal Design in NCSU, the 7 Principles of Universal Design are as follows:

Equitable Use
Flexibility in Use
Simple and Intuitive Use
Perceptible Information
Tolerance for Error
Low Physical Effort
Size and Space for Approach and Use

Please also consider the Institute for Human Centred Design when thinking about universal design.

From: https://universaldesign.ie/about-universal-design/the-7-principles

Universal Design by Oliver Herwig; L. Bruce (Translator)
ISBN: 9783764387181

Publication Date: 2008-08-08

The future is looking old. We are currently at the threshold of the largest demographic transformation of modern times, the advent of the age of the senior citizen. What awaits us - what kinds of products, what kinds of houses? The fifty-and-over generation represents an enormous potential: in Germany alone, twenty million seniors have hundreds of billions of euros, but they hardly spend them for lack of suitable products. This book provides answers from a sociological and design perspective for architects, designers, decision-makers, and firms who wish to respond to the demands of this diverse and discriminating target group. It investigates the various aspects of senior citizens' lives from tip to toe and offers technical articles as well as authentic case studies and reports. .
Universal Design by Anna Adesanya (Other Primary Creator); Krueger Barbara; Catherine Rauch; Nika Stewart; Barbara Krueger; Mark Davidson (Photographer)
Call Number: NA 2547.K78 2010

ISBN: 9781599216133

Publication Date: 2010-04-13

Universal design--the art of rendering an interior living space accessible and safe to people regardless of age or ability/disability--is today a major trend in residential architecture. It allows people to maintain their independence, improve their quality of life, and stay in their homes throughout their lifetime. With 450 full-color, step-by-step photographs, Knack Universal Design is the essential primer for those new to the subject. From the basics to insider practical tips on the latest trends and products, readers will learn what it takes to create a home that makes life easier.
Universal Design 2014: Three Days of Creativity and Diversity by H. A. Caltenco (Editor); P. -O. Hedvall (Editor); Andress Larsson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781614994022

Publication Date: 2014-05-30

Universal Design, Design for All and Inclusive Design are all aimed at dismantling physical and social barriers to inclusion in all areas of life. Engagement in universal design is on the increase worldwide as practitioners and researchers explore creative and desirable solutions to shape the future of universal design products and practices. This book is a collection of the papers presented at UD2014, the International Conference on Universal Design, held in Lund, Sweden, in June 2014. The conference offered a creative and diverse meeting place for all participants to exchange knowledge, experiences and ideas, and to build global connections and creative networks for future work on universal design.
Universal Design as Rehabilitation Strategy by Jon A. Sanford
ISBN: 9780826125521

Publication Date: 2012-01-01

A unique resource for rehabilitation engineers, design and building professionals, rehabilitation counselors, gerontologists, psychologists, and other health and mental health professionals, this volume covers the significance and impact of universal design as a change agent for social and health movements. With a focus that is both practical and visionary, it emphasizes how the use of universal design can promote increased performance and participation for the aging population and people with disabilities, while mitigating the stigma and segregation that often characterize traditional rehabilitation design strategies. Written by one of the few architecturally trained researchers engaged in environmental issues related to accessibility and design for aging, the book stresses that universal design is not solely for people with disabilities, but is about usability and inclusion for people of all levels of ability.
Universal Principles of Interior Design:100 Ways to Develop Innovative Ideas, Enhance Usability, and Design Effective Solutions. by Grimley, Chris.; Harris Smith, Kelly.
ISBN: 9780760372135

Publication Date: 2022

Universal Principles of Interior Design presents 100 concepts and guidelines that are critical to a successful visualization and application of interior design. Richly illustrated and easy to navigate, this comprehensive reference pairs clear explanations of every topic with visual examples of it applied in practice. By considering these concepts and examples, you can learn to make more informed and ultimately better design decisions. The book is organized alphabetically so that principles can be easily and quickly referenced. For those interested in addressing a specific challenge or application problem, the principles are also indexed by questions commonly confronting designers.

Architecture and Interior Design Through the 18th Century by Buie Harwood; Curt Sherman; Bridget May
Call Number: NK1710 .H37 2002

ISBN: 9780137585908

Publication Date: 2001

Designed for courses in interior design, rather than art history, this ambitious volume presents a survey of architecture, interiors, furniture, and decorative arts through the 18th century.
History of Interior Design by John Pile; Judith Gura
Call Number: NK1710 .P55 2014

ISBN: 9781118403518

Publication Date: 2013

This classic reference presents the history of interior design from prehistory to the present. Exploring a broad range of design styles and movements, this revised and expanded edition includes coverage of non-Western design and vernacular interior architecture and features 665 photographs and drawings (color and black-and-white). A History of Interior Design is an essential resource for practicing and aspiring professionals in interior design, art history, and architecture, and general readers interested in design and the decorative arts.
History of Interior Design and Furniture by Robbie G. Blakemore
Call Number: NK1710 .B57 2006

ISBN: 9780471464334

Publication Date: 2005

A comprehensive survey of the major historical periods of interior architecture and decorative styles, History of Interior Design & Furniture, Second Edition features more than 175 new illustrations, including over 150 full colour photographs. From Ancient Egypt to Nineteenth-Century Revival Styles that characterise the Victorian age, furniture and design are placed within the broader context of social, political, economic, and technological perspectives of each period.

Foundations of Interior Design by Susan J. Slotkis
Call Number: NK1710 .S55 2017

ISBN: 9781501315909

Publication Date: 2017

Foundations of Interior Design, 3rd edition, offers a thorough update to this introduction to the creative, technical and business aspects of the interior design profession. By surveying design history, the elements and principles of design, professional practice, and more, Susan Slotkis provides a practical and comprehensive overview.
Interior Design: Conceptual Basis by Sully, Anthony
ISBN: 3319164732

Publication Date: 2015

This book introduces interior design as a conceptual way of thinking, which is about ideas and how they are formulated. Now in its second edition, the book is enlarged to include topical subjects such as artificial intelligence, sustainability and climate change. The book prepares designers to focus on each concept independently as much as possible, whilst acknowledging relative connections without unwarranted influences unfairly dictating a conceptual bias, and is about that part of the design process called conceptual analysis.
Research Methods for Interior Design by Dana E. Vaux (Editor); David Wang (Editor)
ISBN: 0429029322

Publication Date: 2020

Interior design has shifted significantly in the past fifty years from a focus on home decoration within family and consumer sciences to a focus on the impact of health and safety within the interior environment. This shift has called for a deeper focus in evidence-based research for interior design education and practice.　 Research Methods for Interior Design provides a broad range of qualitative and quantitative examples, each highlighted as a case of interior design research. Each chapter is supplemented with an in-depth introduction, additional questions, suggested exercises, and additional research references.
Toward a New Interior by Lois Weinthal
Call Number: NA2850 .T69 2011

ISBN: 9781616890308

Publication Date: 2011

Interior design, as a relatively young discipline within the academic world of design, has historically been interpreted as an extension of other fine arts. Narratives exist, but they all too often treat interior design as a function of architecture or display rather than experience. An independent interior design theory is virtually nonexistent. Professor Lois Weinthal envisions a future where interior design is treated with parity to architecture and industrial design, a future with a new interior. A reader for architects and interior designers, Weinthal has carefully curated a collection of forty-eight essays that will form the foundation of interior design theory and shape future interior space.

Interior Design Materials and Specifications by Lisa Godsey
Call Number: NK1990 .G637 2017

ISBN: 9781501317590

Publication Date: 2017

This complete guide to the selection of materials for interiors has been updated to reflect recent industry changes and contemporary awareness of topics. Written from the viewpoint of the working designer, Interior Design Materials and Specifications, 3rd Edition, describes each material's characteristics and teaches students how to evaluate, select, and specify materials, taking into account factors including code compliance, building standards, sustainability guidelines, human needs, and bidding processes. Students will learn how to communicate with suppliers and vendors to achieve the results they envision and how to avoid some of the pitfalls common to material selection and specification.
PPI Interior Construction and Detailing for Designers and Architects, 6th Edition - a Comprehensive NCIDQ Book by David Kent Ballast
Call Number: TH2025 .B35 2013

ISBN: 9781591264200

Publication Date: 2019

Interior Construction & Detailing for Designers & Architects, Sixth Edition is a comprehensive guide for students, interior designers, and architects involved in commercial and residential construction. Clear and complete explanations of how to select suitable materials and components and determine appropriate construction techniques make this book an essential, time-saving reference.
Sustainable Residential Interiors by Kari Foster; Debbie Hindman; Annette Stelmack; Associates III
ISBN: 9781118603680

Publication Date: 2014

The Second Edition of Sustainable Residential Interiors addresses cutting edge processes, strategies, and principles as well as details for in-depth product vetting criteria. Award-winning, leading interior designer Annette Stelmack shares her expertise from the perspective of LEED Building Design & Construction projects, healthy interiors, and chemical sensitivities, addressing principles, strategies, and solutions for design practitioners.