While there is good information on the Internet which impacts personal support workers, the library also offers excellent content in its databases for pharmacology, human structure and function, long term care and community care to enhance the program's goals and profession. Check out these databases!
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Definitive research tool and one of the most comprehensive sources of full text journal articles for nursing and allied health professionals, students and educators. It contains many of the most used journals to support nursing and health-related curricula. Provides information on aspects of nursing practice, theory, care and health promotion. It also includes the curation of open access (OA) journals.Full text coverage back to 1937 and includes access to dissertations, magazines, and evidence-based care sheets.
Permitted Uses: License Info
DSM-V-TR (Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) and several textbooks from the American Psychiatric Association (APA).
Permitted Uses: License Info
Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase contains medical images, animations & interactive multimedia.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties (CPS), E-CPS, drug therapy & patient care. Please note, your browser must allow pop ups. Database times out after 30 min. Not Mac compatible.
Permitted Uses: License Info
RxVigilance provides comprehensive information on all drugs sold in Canada; medication monographs; patient handouts; calculate pediatric doses; compounding formulas; medication pictograms; drug comparison charts, and much more.
