Library and Academic Success: Police Studies (Honours Bachelor of Police Studies Degree): Online Journals, e-Books and Videos

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Helpful databases

Irwin Law book collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of Canadian law books. Newest editions only. To view all titles in the collection, 1. select "Browse", 2. Select "Books & Journals", 3. Select "Irwin Law".
3 concurrent users
Permitted Uses: License Info

A little manual of Restorative Justice
This is a basic training tool. The themes addressed in the various modules are themes that the writers\practitioners have found useful in seeking to educate communities about restorative justice and engage citizens in a deeper reflection about the criminal justice system.

Databases

Page1+ This link opens in a new window
Looking for information for an assignment? Enter your keywords to find books, articles, streaming video & more in one click. Access to full text requires your Georgian user credentials.

Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Permalinks/stable links currently not working. For best results use Firefox or Chrome.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Quicklaw PLUS This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the most comprehensive collection available of case law, legislation, exclusive current awareness services, expert commentary and more. Includes Halsbury's Laws of Canada, legal textbooks, legal forms and precedents, quantums, and practice products in various areas of law.
Permitted Uses: License Info
old link to Quicklaw
WestlawNext Canada This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal database with a comprehensive collection of Canadian case law and legislation, plus finding tools such as The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and The Canadian Abridgment. Contains KeyCite Canada for noting up cases and legislation and Index to Canadian Legal Literature for finding expert analysis. Also contains Words and Phrases for finding judicial interpretations of legal terms. Use Chrome when remotely connecting from home. See Chrome icon above for tip sheets.
Permitted Uses: License Info

e-Laws
e-Laws provides links to current consolidated statutes and regulations, as well as current bills.
Justice Laws Website
Produced by the Department of Justice Canada, this site provides links to statutes, regulations, and current bills. Also includes quick links to the Criminal Code and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

CanLII This link opens in a new window
Free online Canadian case law.

Interpol: 100 years of international police cooperation
Database has 18 international crime areas for easier searching. They are connecting police for a safer world

Irwin Law book collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of Canadian law books. Newest editions only. To view all titles in the collection, 1. select "Browse", 2. Select "Books & Journals", 3. Select "Irwin Law".
3 concurrent users
Permitted Uses: License Info

National criminal justice reference service
This is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Canadian Demographics at a Glance
Quickly accessible, up-to-date picture of the Canadian population.
Canadian Social Trends
Discusses and analyzes the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians.
Juristat
Provides in-depth analysis and detailed statistics on a variety of justice-related topics and issues. Topics include crime, victimization, homicide, civil, family and criminal courts, and correctional services.
Statistics Canada
Canada’s national statistical agency. Economic, social and census data. Daily statistical releases.

Canadian Points of View Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides Canadian context for a variety of research topics and clearly illustrates differing points of view to help start research projects and opinion papers.
Permitted Uses: License Info
DSM-5 (Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) This link opens in a new window
DSM-V-TR (Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) and several textbooks from the American Psychiatric Association (APA). Use Firefox to search this tool.
Permitted Uses: License Info
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database including its many sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full text available for over 700 journals (back to 1908), 800 books and thousands of conference papers.
Permitted Uses: License Info

NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service
This is an American database. You can click on the topics listed or use the search box provided.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 5,000 videos on topics in business, nursing, social sciences, health, science and technical education.
National Film Board (NFB) (Search for NFB titles in Page 1+).
Watch documentaries, animations and more available from the National Film Board (NFB). Users can access any online NFB or CAMPUS title. Search for NFB titles in Page 1+. or directly in NFB. Note that NFB also lists titles from partners that may not be accessible.
To obtain a token/link to set up a new account, teachers can contact the library for information. Existing accounts are automatically updated. Teachers with a NFB account can create a playlist to share with students.
News In Review See Curio
Produced by the CBC, this series presents a variety of news stories covered on the National in more depth and detail. Segments range from 10 to 20 minutes in length and cover topics ranging from arts to health to world politics.

Online Journals and Magazines

If you need other sources, please use Page 1+ or connect with any of our staff members. We would love to help!

Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice
You can also access by typing the title into Page 1+; then search by topic.
Coverage of the theoretical and scientific aspects of the study of crime and the practical problems of law enforcement, administration of justice and the treatment of offenders, particularly in the Canadian context.
Canadian Police Chief
Provides a forum for the executive policing community to exchange their knowledge, expertise and views.
Canadian Public Policy
Canada's foremost journal examining economic and social policy. The aim of the journal is to stimulate research and discussion of public policy problems in Canada.
Criminal Justice and Behaviour: an international journal
Promotes scholarly evaluations of assessment, classification, prevention, intervention, and treatment programs to help the correctional professional develop successful programs based on sound and informative theoretical and research foundations.
Gazette
Archives from 2008-2018 can be found at the bottom of the page.
International Journal of Cyber Criminology
This is a multidisciplinary field that encompasses researchers from various fields such as Criminology, Victimology, Sociology, Internet Science, and Computer Science
Journal of Community Safety and Well-being
You can type the title into Page 1+, then click online access to view online articles.
Global resource for high-impact research that, uniquely, spans all human service and criminal justice sectors, with an emphasis on their intersections and collaborations. The Journal showcases the latest research, whether originating from within Canada or from around the world, that is relevant to Canadian and international communities and professionals.
Ontario Reports
Provides leading cases decided at all levels of Ontario courts
OPP Review
OPP Review content is only available online from the news section of their website.
The Police Chief
A forum for the executive policing community to exchange their knowledge, expertise and views
Contains reports from the CACP Executive, CACP Committees, experts in the policing field and feature articles on some of the most important and complex issues facing Canadian policing today.
Police Powers Newsletter
Also available in print in Orillia 2021-current issues.
Provides a comprehensive look at all aspects of policing, including powers of detention, arrest, and search and seizure in light of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. It also includes insightful articles and case commentaries from three different perspectives to keep readers up to date on the latest changes in this rapidly evolving area of the law, not just for law enforcement, but also for lawyers and judges.
Police Practice and Research: an international journal
You are able to search by typing the title into Page 1+.
Presents current and innovative police research as well as operational and administrative practices from around the world.