Library and Academic Success: Pre Health Sciences: E-Journals & Databases

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Starting Databases

Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 250 leading full-text journals covering nursing and allied health. Plus 130 Medcom Video Training programs. Also includes Culture Competency Briefs by ethnicity and religion.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics.
Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Other Databases

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides more than 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs, covering over 1,000 generic medications, 100 natural products and 19 vaccines.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Anatomy & Physiology

SMART This link opens in a new window
Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase contains medical images, animations & interactive multimedia.
Permitted Uses: License Info
This database has a separate interface from other EBSCO databases so does not appear when you select “CHOOSE DATABASES” in EBSCO.

Recommended E-Resources

Visible Human Project
from National Institutes of Health
Health Indicators
Over 80 indicators measure the health of the Canadian population and the effectiveness of the health care system

How to find Stable Links to Library's Online Resources

Here are some screenshots that illustrate how to locate links in some of our popular databases. Please see Linking to Library resources for more information about how to create stable links to include in Blackboard, Powerpoint or other locations.

Page1+ records page shows the permalink button

Click Permalink on the Send to menu of the article's detailed record page
A textbox will appear above the article title revealing a new stable URL
Copy and paste into Blackboard.

Image source: Page1+ detailed record view, retrieved March 30, 2023 (c) ExLibris.

Gale database article showing the get link icon to locate the permalink

Access the record/full text view of the article
Look for the Get Link icon on the top navigation bar
Copy & paste into Blackboard.

Image source: Gale Academic Onefile full article view, retrieved March 30, 2023 (c) Cengage.

Ovid record view showing the Email JumpStart link used to locate permalink

Click "Email Jumpstart" found under the Tools menu
Copy the Jumpstart URL and paste into Blackboard

Image source: Ovid Full Text Journals detailed record view, retrieved March 30, 2023 (c) Ovid Technologies, inc.

Nexis UNI screenshot showing the link icon after the document title used to find the permalink

Click the Link icon at end of the document name
Copy and paste the Link to this page URL into Blackboard.

Image source: Nexis UNI detailed record view, retrieved March 30, 2023 (c) LexisNexis.

ProQuest screenshot showing the All options link to locate permalink

On the Abstract/Details page, click All Options (near the cite, email & print links)
Copy & paste the URL that appears at top of All save & export options pop up into Blackboard.

Image source: ProQuest ABI/Inform Collection Abstract/Details view, retrieved March 30, 2023, (c) ProQuest.

ScienceDirect screenshot showing DOI located after the title/author information

Right click the "doi:" link; Select copy link address
Paste the link into Blackboard

Image source: ScienceDirect College Edition full article view, retrieved March 30, 2023, (c) Elsevier B.V.