Veterinary Technician/Veterinary Assistant

veterinary technician, veterinary assistant, veterinary office, animal care, animal health

OER Librarian

Jen Booth

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me by email about classroom instruction or OER support.

Subjects: Academic Integrity, Community Safety, Copyright, Generative AI Literacy, Human Services, Interdisciplinary, Liberal Arts

Where are the veterinary books & DVDs?

Biology - try browsing the QH section

Cats (Diseases and pests)- SF 981- SF 986

Cats (including breeds)- SF 441-SF 450

Dentistry- SF 867

Dog Breeds - try this research guide under Websites, the reference shelf and SF 422-429 on our shelves

Dogs (Diseases and pests)- SF 991 - SF 992

Dogs (including breeds)- SF 421- SF 440.2

Emergencies/ Critical Care - SF 778

Handling wild animals- try browsing the QL section (Zoology)

Laboratory animals- SF 405.5 - SF 407 (also try QL 55)

Laboratory animals and Others (diseases and pests)- SF 996.5 - SF 997.5

Nursing- SF 774.5

Pets (small animals) - SF 409- SF 416.6

Rabbits- SF 451 - SF 455

Reptiles- SF 515- 518

Wounds and injuries- SF 914.3

Pharmaceuticals / Drugs

Plumb's Pro database
Search by drug, class name, or alias. You can also browse by letter.

CPS
Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties (CPS), E-CPS, drug therapy & patient care. Please note, your browser must allow pop ups. Database times out after 30 min. Not Mac compatible.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Find definitions & Key concepts

Need definitions or key concepts? Try our REFERENCE shelf.

These items must stay in the library.

Black's Student Veterinary Dictionary by Bloomsbury USA
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781472932020

There is greatly expanded coverage of topics relating to popular breeds of dog and cat, and the inheritable conditions that might affect their health.
Cats by Angela Rixon
Call Number: SF442 .R59

ISBN: 9780785832775

Available at: Orillia
Breed standards are given as well as care boxes for at a glance tips for each breed.
The Dog Encyclopedia by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: SF422 .D64 REF-BOOK

ISBN: 9781465408440

Available at: Orillia
Covering the history, breeds, care, health, and positive training of dogs
The Merck Veterinary Manual by Susan E. Aiello; Michael A. Moses; Melinda D. Merck
Call Number: SF748 .M47 REF-BOOK

ISBN: 9780911910612

Available at: Orillia
The Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) covers all domesticated species and diseases in veterinary medicine worldwide.

Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary eBook
Includes the veterinary technical and scientific words and phrases you might encounter in practice. With well over 60,000 main and subentries including large animals, small animals, and exotics.

Books on Reserve

These items can be used for two hours, but must stay in the library.

BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Dentistry and Oral Surgery
Call Number: SF867 .B73 BOOK

ISBN: 9781905319602

Available at: Orillia
Provides core information for those interested in developing their knowledge and practical skills in veterinary dentistry.
Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians by Margi Sirois
Call Number: SF772.6.L32 BOOK

ISBN: 9780323595384

Available at: Orillia
Comprehensive content presents the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures.
Manual of Clinical Procedures in Dogs, Cats, Rabbits and Rodents
Call Number: SF991 .C76 BOOK

ISBN: 9781118985700

Available at: Orillia
Provides common veterinary procedures for gerbils, hamsters, guinea pigs, dogs, cats and rabbits
Small Animal Surgery
Call Number: SF911 .F67 BOOK

ISBN: 9780323443449

Available at: Orillia
Covers basic procedures such as spays/neuters to anesthetic protocols and radiographs
Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care for Veterinary Technicians by Andrea Battaglia; Andrea M. Steele
Call Number: SF778.S63 BOOK

ISBN: 9780323673129

Available at: Orillia
Provides quick access to dozens of common, life-saving protocols and procedures.