Library and Academic Success: Counselling Psychology: Available at the Library

OER Librarian

Jen Booth

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me by email about classroom instruction or OER support.

Subjects: Community Safety, Copyright, Human Services, Interdisciplinary

Support

Live Chat - Get Research help now Drop-in or Schedule Appointments for
Tutoring and Research Submit your paper for feedback

The Learning Portal: Colleges Libraries Ontario — The Learning Portal

Recommended Databases

Page1+ This link opens in a new window
Looking for information for an assignment? Enter your keywords to find books, articles, streaming video & more in one click. Access to full text requires your Georgian user credentials.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology and behavioural sciences journals. Strong coverage in counselling, education, family, and child and adolescent psychology.
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) in psychology and the behavioral sciences.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Psychology This link opens in a new window
This is an extensive collection of undergraduate level psychology articles. It focuses on the developmental study of the mind and human emotion. The database contains over 5 million articles, covering 1980-present, many in full text format.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net just released some terrific titles and offers over 300 videos featuring the leading experts in our field demonstrating psychotherapy and counseling skills. Our videos are used for Psychology, Addiction Treatment, Counseling, Social Work, Human Services and Nursing programs.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Search for checklists, questionnaires, scales, and other behavioural measurement tools. Find articles that use those tools. Actual measurement tool not necessarily available but reference information provided. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
All levels of education are covered from curriculum, administration, and policy to funding and childcare issues . Includes Canadian content.
Permitted Uses: License Info

HBCP Student Theses

Honours Bachelor of Counselling Psychology Student Theses (Georgian)
Explore the theses written by Georgian's HBCP students beginning with the first graduating class of 2024. These papers represent a variety of research methodologies.

Journals

AlterNative: An international journal of Indigenous Peoples This link opens in a new window
This international journal showcases Indigenous academic research. Example topics include health, business, cultural studies, psychology, and education.
Use the "Advanced Search" and identify the journal by name in the "Published in" field.

BMC Psychology
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes on all aspects of psychology, human behavior and the mind.
Canadian Journal of Counselling & Psychotherapy
A bilingual journal with a mandate to publish scholarly manuscripts that are of interest to counsellor educators, as well as practitioners working in schools, community agencies, university and college counselling centers, other institutions where psychological counselling is practiced.
Counselling and Psychotherapy Research
Focuses on linking counselling & psychotherapy research with practice.
Counselling Psychology Quarterly
Articles, review articles and commentary reporting on various aspects of counselling practice, research and theory.
Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology
First Peoples Child & Family Review
The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. Our mission is to promote research, critical analysis, stories, standpoints, and educational resources which advance innovation within child, family, and community based-matters for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, as well as Indigenous peoples abroad.
International Journal of Indigenous Health (The University of Toronto & the Waakebiness Institute for Indigenous Health)
The International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH) was established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health. IJIH is peer-reviewed, online, and open-access.
Journal of Applied Consciousness Studies
Covers technical and clinical studies related to health, ethical and social issues in field of Psychology, Philosophy, Spirituality, Parapsychology. Also available from the publisher website.
Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing Te Mauri - Pimatisiwin
A peer reviewed, web-based journal published twice each year by Native Counselling Services of Alberta, in partnership with Te Rau Matatini in New Zealand, Papa Ola Lokahi in Hawaii, and the International Indigenous Council for Healing Our Spirit Worldwide.
more...less...
The goal of this journal is to promote the sharing of knowledge and research experience between researchers, health professionals, and Aboriginal leaders and community members.
Formerly: Pimatisiwin: A Journal of Aborginal and Indigenous Community Health (2003-2013)
Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing Te Mauri - Pimatisiwin
A peer reviewed, web-based journal published twice each year by Native Counselling Services of Alberta, in partnership with Te Rau Matatini in New Zealand, Papa Ola Lokahi in Hawaii, and the International Indigenous Council for Healing Our Spirit Worldwide.
more...less...
The goal of this journal is to promote the sharing of knowledge and research experience between researchers, health professionals, and Aboriginal leaders and community members.
Formerly: Pimatisiwin: A Journal of Aborginal and Indigenous Community Health (2003-2013)
Psychology of Consciousness: Theory, Research, and Practice
Covers topics that span sensory consciousness, subconsciousness, and self-consciousness; plus, it presents scientific approaches to studying first-person experiences.

Books

Canadian Counselling and Counselling Psychology in the 21st Century by Ada L. Sinacore; Freda Ginsberg
ISBN: 9780773544567
Publication Date: 2015
This book highlights the work of Canadian counsellors and counselling psychologists and focuses on issues pertinent to practising in Canada. Key topics such as scientific issues, health, wellness, prevention, career psychology, assessment, training and supervision, and social justice and multiculturalism are explored in detail. Using a strength-based framework, each chapter attends to societal factors, diversity of methodological frameworks, and an analysis of the challenges and future directions for the disciplines.
Ethics and Decision Making in Counseling and Psychotherapy, Fourth Edition by Robert Rocco Cottone; Vilia Tarvydas; R. Rocco Cottone
ISBN: 9780826171719
Publication Date: 2016-04-15
Completely revised and updated to reflect the new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and current ethics codes in psychology, social work, and marriage andfamily therapy. This text guides helping professionals in the use of ethical decision-making processes as the foundation for ethical approaches to counseling and psychotherapy.
Indigenous Cultures and Mental Health Counselling by Suzanne Stewart (Editor); Roy Moodley (Editor); Ashley Hyatt (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317400240
Publication Date: 2016
North America's Indigenous population is a vulnerable group, with specific psychological and healing needs that are not widely met in the mental health care system. Indigenous peoples face certain historical, cultural-linguistic and socioeconomic barriers to mental health care access that government, health care organizations and social agencies must work to overcome. This volume examines ways Indigenous healing practices can complement Western psychological service to meet the needs of Indigenous peoples through traditional cultural concepts.
Trauma counseling : theories and interventions for managing trauma, stress, crisis, and disaster
ISBN: 9780826150851
Focuses on trauma, stress, crisis, and disaster counseling from a clinical practice perspective This overarching text, intended both for mental health practitioners-in-training and for practicing clinicians, focuses on the impact of stress, crisis, trauma, and disaster on diverse populations across the lifespan as well as on effective treatment strategies.
Understanding and Evaluating Research in Applied and Clinical Settings by George A. Morgan; Jeffrey A. Gliner; Robert J. Harmon
ISBN: 9780805853315
Publication Date: 2005-08-10
Clinically oriented professionals and students need to understand and evaluate the research and statistics in professional articles, especially given today's emphasis on evidence-based practice. This book demonstrates how the research approach and design help determine the appropriate statistical analysis. Understanding and Evaluating Research in Applied and Clinical Settings features: *short, independent, chapters that do not have to be read in order; *a guide to understanding why a particular statistic was selected; *an emphasis on effects sizes including measures of risk potency; *numerous cross-disciplinary examples to illustrate the material; and *methods to help determine practical and clinical significance and their relation to meta-analysis and evidence-based practice. This book is intended for practitioners and students in psychology, education, counseling, mental and allied health, nursing, and medicine, and as a text for courses on understanding research methods and statistics.
The Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychology in Practice by Kevin Durkin (Editor); H. Rudolph Schaffer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119095668
Publication Date: 2015-12-16
An authoritative new work exploring the themes of communication and implementation of research within developmental psychology - a scientific field with extensive real world value in addressing problems faced by individuals, families and services.
The Wiley Handbook of Positive Clinical Psychology by Alex M. Wood (Editor); Judith Johnson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118468227
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Edited by the founder of the field, this is the first handbook on positive clinical psychology--a revolutionary approach that places equal importance on both the positive and negative aspects of mental health and well-being. The first handbook on positive clinical psychology, a revolutionary approach that places equal importance on the positive and negative aspects of mental health and well-being Brings together new work from authorities in positive psychology and clinical psychology to offer an integrated examination of well-being as it relates to personality, psychopathology, psychological treatments, and more Discusses theory, research, and practice across a broad range of topics such as optimism, positive affect, well-being therapy, childhood well-being, evolutionary perspectives, and clinical implementation.

Videos

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Relevant videos on the topics of counselling and psychotherapy are available. Access is available on and off campus. Permitted Uses: License Info. https://clear.scholarsportal.info/licenses/staff/Films_on_Demand

Clinical interviewing: intake, assessment & therapeutic alliance
Call Number: Orillia: RC480.7.S66 2014
Publication Date: 2014
In this video, seasoned clinical educators John and Rita Sommers-Flanagan present an integrated, actionable combination of interviewing protocols and relational techniques that clarify how clinicians can glean necessary information in the initial sessions, while building a strong therapeutic alliance. Weaving together structured lessons, easy-to-follow demonstrations, and delightful commentary, the Sommers-Flanagans break down interviewing skills in a straightforward way. Drawing from actual therapy sessions, they present seven interviewing themes with real-world examples of basic listening, directives, therapeutic questions, and more. Demonstrations feature easy-to-see callouts of the various skills covered. Also available in Psychotherapy.net streaming video database..

Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net just released some terrific titles and offers over 300 videos featuring the leading experts in our field demonstrating psychotherapy and counseling skills. Our videos are used for Psychology, Addiction Treatment, Counseling, Social Work, Human Services and Nursing programs.