Communications and Professional Writing

Providing an indispensable new A-Z reference to English usage for the twenty-first century, this guide covers more than 3000 points of word meaning, spelling, punctuation, grammar and style on which students, teachers, writers and editors regularly require guidance.

This indispensable guide to the English language belongs beside the dictionary in every Canadian home. Written in an easy-to-understand light-hearted style, the content of the book is nevertheless serious and important. Our language is declining; illiteracy is rampant. Worse, the sloppy, incorrect use of language is perpetrated by educators, the media, politicians, and others who should be setting a good example.

This book provides the first-ever scholarly history of CP, as well as the most wide-ranging historical treatment of twentieth-century Canadian journalism published to date. Using extensive archival research, including complete and unfettered access to CP's archives, Gene Allen traces how CP was established and evolved in the face of frequent conflicts among the powerful newspaper publishers - John Ross Robertson, Joseph Atkinson, and Roy Thomson, among others - who collectively owned it, and how the journalists who ran it understood and carried out their work.

This outstanding anthology of insightful essays, written by both theorists and practitioners, focuses on the content and structure of technical writing while also discussing the political, interpersonal, and ethical demands of writing in a professional workplace. Unlike most other texts in the field, Readings in Technical Communication goes beyond offering a traditional prescriptive approach to technical writing and provides students with a comprehensive and thoughtful examination of the field. Along with a wide variety of classic essays, RTC includes a wealth of new material that reflects the most up-to-date approaches and methods in technical communication.

Technical writing is a skill that you can learn and this book outlines some simple ideas for writing clear documentation that will reflect well on your company, its image and its brand. The book has four parts: Structure and Content: Through examples, you will learn best practices in writing the various sections of a manual and what content to include. Clear Unambiguous English: You will learn how to write short clear sentences and paragraphs whose meaning will be immediately clear to the reader. Layout and Order Information: Here you will find guidelines on style issues, e.g., headings, bullets, punctuation and capitalization. Typical Grammar and Vocabulary Mistakes: This section is divided alphabetically and covers grammatical and vocabulary issues that are typical of user manuals.

This brief, practical guide offers a clear and comprehensive strategy for conceptualizing, approaching, and executing the task of writing a research paper in the humanities and social sciences.

A succinct and comprehensive overview of English grammar, this text serves as both a textbook and a reference. With straightforward information on everything from punctuation and parts of speech to research and documentation, this practical, up-to-date handbook is a must for Canadian writersin any field.

In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.

At last, direct from the trenches, here's the book technical editors have been waiting for. Unlike other guides which review grammar and spelling--but don't address the special challenges of technical editing--this lively, practical book deals with the real-world problems, issues, and decisions that face technical editors and writers.In this book you'll get tips for preparing a style guide technical writers will want to use. You'll find checklists of what to look for during different types of editorial reviews, learn how to make the transition from traditional to desktop publishing, and see how you can build true usability into printed and online documentation. Enhanced by real examples, case studies, and practical techniques, these flexible and pragmatic solutions go far beyond the mechanics of marking up manuscripts. You get guidance that will help you decide how heavily to edit, how to manage and track large projects, and even how to position yourself for the future when software will handle the copy editing.Whether you edit technical documentation for a living, write technical material, or review the work of others, this book helps you improve your skills and your understanding of the technical editing function.