This is a combined guide for the Police Foundations, Community & Justice Services and Protection, Security & Investigation programs. Policing, Police, justice, offender rehabilitation, justice, private security, private investigation, community safety,
Looking for information for an assignment? Enter your keywords to find books, articles, streaming video & more in one click. Access to full text requires your Georgian user credentials.
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Permalinks/stable links currently not working. For best results use Firefox or Chrome. Permitted Uses: License Info
Provides access to the most comprehensive collection available of case law, legislation, exclusive current awareness services, expert commentary and more. Includes Halsbury's Laws of Canada, legal textbooks, legal forms and precedents, quantums, and practice products in various areas of law. Permitted Uses: License Info
Legal database with a comprehensive collection of Canadian case law and legislation, plus finding tools such as The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and The Canadian Abridgment. Contains KeyCite Canada for noting up cases and legislation and Index to Canadian Legal Literature for finding expert analysis. Also contains Words and Phrases for finding judicial interpretations of legal terms. Use Chrome when remotely connecting from home. See Chrome icon above for tip sheets. Permitted Uses: License Info
Produced by the Department of Justice Canada, this site provides links to statutes, regulations, and current bills. Also includes quick links to the Criminal Code and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.
A collection of Canadian law books. Newest editions only. To view all titles in the collection, 1. select "Browse", 2. Select "Books & Journals", 3. Select "Irwin Law". 3 concurrent users Permitted Uses: License Info
Provides in-depth analysis and detailed statistics on a variety of justice-related topics and issues. Topics include crime, victimization, homicide, civil, family and criminal courts, and correctional services.
Provides Canadian context for a variety of research topics and clearly illustrates differing points of view to help start research projects and opinion papers. Permitted Uses: License Info
DSM-V-TR (Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) and several textbooks from the American Psychiatric Association (APA). Use Firefox to search this tool. Permitted Uses: License Info
Comprehensive sociology research database including its many sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full text available for over 700 journals (back to 1908), 800 books and thousands of conference papers. Permitted Uses: License Info
Watch documentaries, animations and more available from the National Film Board (NFB). Users can access any online NFB or CAMPUS title. Search for NFB titles in Page 1+. or directly in NFB. Note that NFB also lists titles from partners that may not be accessible.
To obtain a token/link to set up a new account, teachers can contact the library for information. Existing accounts are automatically updated. Teachers with a NFB account can create a playlist to share with students.
News In Review See Curio
Produced by the CBC, this series presents a variety of news stories covered on the National in more depth and detail. Segments range from 10 to 20 minutes in length and cover topics ranging from arts to health to world politics.
The public reports on the terrorist threat to Canada provide Canadians with the latest information on current terrorist threats and the Government's counter-terrorism efforts. The latest report, the 2018 Public Report on the Terrorism Threat to Canada examines the current threat environment and the conflicts abroad that continue to shape the nature of the terrorist threat to Canada. The report also describes the Government's response to the terrorist threat and looks at emerging issues in terrorism
Risk assessment methodologies for Critical Infrastructure Protection. Part I: A state of the art is by the European Commission Joint Research Centre and the Institute for the Protection and Security of the Citizen. This document delves into risk assessment methodologies for critical infrastructures for an effective infrastructure protection program. it outlines that risk assessment is indispensable in order to identify threats, assess vulnerabilities and evaluate the impact on assets, infrastructures or systems taking into account the prob-ability of the occurrence of these threats.
This Security Vulnerability Assessment Methodology for the Petroleum and Petrochemical Industries, Second Edition is created by The American Petroleum Institute (API) and the National Petrochemical & Refiners Association. The information contained has been developed in cooperation with government and industry, and is intended to provide a tool to help maintain and strengthen the security of personnel, facilities, and industry operations.
This field manual (FM) provides guidance for all personnel responsible for physical security. It is the basic reference for training security personnel. It is also intended to be a “one-stop” physical-security source for the Department of Defense (DOD), the Department of the Army (DA), and other proponents and agencies of physical security.
The Police Retirees magazine is distributed across Ontario to every Law Enforcement Agency as well as many Emergency Service Units. Click on the magazine link to select issues.
This is a newsletter from The International Corrections & Prisons Association. You need to create a FREE account to be able to open the newsletter links.
From the University of Alberta. Peer-reviewed research articles by social scientists from around the world, providing insight into the issues facing Canadian society as well as social and cultural systems in other countries.
This is a multidisciplinary field that encompasses researchers from various fields such as Criminology, Victimology, Sociology, Internet Science, and Computer Science
From the University of Toronto; providing peer-reviewed full-length articles, case comments, notes, and book reviews by professors, judges, practitioners, and students across Canada.
Also available in print in Orillia 2019-current issues.
Provides a comprehensive look at all aspects of policing, including powers of detention, arrest, and search and seizure in light of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. It also includes insightful articles and case commentaries from three different perspectives to keep readers up to date on the latest changes in this rapidly evolving area of the law, not just for law enforcement, but also for lawyers and judges.
This is a basic training tool. The themes addressed in the various modules are themes that the writers\practitioners have found useful in seeking to educate communities about restorative justice and engage citizens in a deeper reflection about the criminal justice system.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Beyond Incarceration
Entryways to Criminal Justice
Ethics and Canadian Law Enforcement
Racial profiling and Human Rights in Canada
