Library and Academic Success: Sport Admin: Getting Started

Faculty Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Research Guides

Support

Live Chat - Get Research help now Drop-in or Schedule Appointments for
Tutoring and Research Submit your paper for feedback

The Learning Portal: Colleges Libraries Ontario — The Learning Portal

Starting Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access over 1000 full text journals and over 400 full text trade publications. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, industry profiles, and more. Easily modify your search to focus on trade, magazine, or journal articles, Complements our other business databases and sources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Permalinks/stable links currently not working. For best results use Firefox or Chrome.
Permitted Uses: License Info
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sport, fitness and sports medicine.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing
This encylopedia introduces the management principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context.
On the marketing side this reference resource explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and of sport-related products (promoting a particular team or selling team- and sport-related merchandise, for example), and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products, such as celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.