Library and Academic Success: Food & Nutrition Management: Food & Nutrition resources @ the Library

Faculty Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Research Guides

Support

Live Chat - Get Research help now Drop-in or Schedule Appointments for
Tutoring and Research Submit your paper for feedback

The Learning Portal: Colleges Libraries Ontario — The Learning Portal

Recommended Databases

Page1+ This link opens in a new window
Looking for information for an assignment? Enter your keywords to find books, articles, streaming video & more in one click. Access to full text requires your Georgian user credentials.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access scholarly journals, trade publications, wire feeds, and other news sources. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
This database carries over 160 international, peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, proceedings and association & consumer newsletters with focuses on the many perspectives of alternative, complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, industry profiles, and more. Easily modify your search to focus on trade, magazine, or journal articles, Complements our other business databases and sources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This business database provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. Trade, news, and scholarly articles are searchable and accessible. Additionally, market research and industry profiles can be found. Relevant business search filters like company name, NAICS code, DUNS number, and ticker symbol are available to narrow the search.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full-text for nearly 300 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics.
Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics [Canadian + international] on varied topics. Country, industry, consumer and demographic data is available including dossiers and research studies.

Relevant Periodicals

food & nutrition research
Explores latest results from research on human nutrition broadly and food-related nutrition in particular.
Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior
Subject areas focus on nutrition and physical activity related to public health, nutritional sciences, education, behavioral economics, family and consumer sciences.
Canadian Journal of Dietetic Practice and Research
The official peer-reviewed publication of Dietitians of Canada. Publishes reports of original research and other articles that contribute to best practices in dietetics.
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Journal for the practice and science of food, nutrition and dietetics. Focuses on research and practices issues such as: nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, public health nutrition, food science and biotechnology, leadership, management and dietetics education.

Books & eBooks

Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process by L. Kathleen Mahan; Janice L. Raymond
Call Number: RM216 .M285 2023 - Barrie & Owen Sound
ISBN: 9780323340755
Publication Date: 2023
Presents dietetics content that covers nutrition assessment and intervention, the nutritional needs of individuals in different stages of the life cycle, nutrition for health and fitness, and medical nutrition therapy.
Food Literacy: How Do Communications and Marketing Impact Consumer Knowledge, Skills, and Behavior? Workshop Summary by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine Staff; Food Forum; Food and Nutrition Board; Health and Medicine Division
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780309391313
Publication Date: 2016-05-20
In September 2015, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's Food and Nutrition Board convened a workshop in Washington, DC, to discuss how communications and marketing impact consumer knowledge, skills, and behavior around food, nutrition, and healthy eating. This report summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by David A. Bender
Call Number: TX349 .B4115 2009 - Barrie
ISBN: 9780199234875
Publication Date: 2009-03-05
This leading dictionary contains over 6,150 entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health.
Pediatric and Adult Nutrition in Chronic Diseases, Developmental Disabilities, and Hereditary Metabolic Disorders by Shirley W. Ekvall (Editor); Valli K. Ekvall (Editor)
Call Number: RJ233 .P43 2017 - Barrie
ISBN: 9780199398911
Publication Date: 2017-04-06
This fully revised and updated edition offers a comprehensive reference to the nutritional interventions for diseases across the lifespan. Comprising more than 60 topic-based chapters from leading figures in nutrition and medicine, this book is the most up-to-date work on diet as a symptom of, and therapy for, chronic, hereditary, and developmental disorders.