Library and Academic Success: Early Childhood Education: Language Arts & Literature

Faculty Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Research Guides

Storytime Resources

Use the PAGE 1+ box to find these items in the collection. The location will say Program Resources. There are a variety of kits available depending on your topic.

Storytimes: We have resources for storytime needs including: picture books, puppets, story props and more.

Page1+ This link opens in a new window
Looking for information for an assignment? Enter your keywords to find books, articles, streaming video & more in one click. Access to full text requires your Georgian user credentials.

Program resources in the Orillia campus library include:

Fiction and Non-Fiction picture books
Fiction and Non-Fiction board books
Felt boards and felt board kits
Puppets
Story props

various sized puppets with truck carrying alphabet blocks 3 sets of feltboard stories

Program resources in the Owen Sound library include:

Fiction and Non-Fiction picture books
Fiction and Non-Fiction board books
Puppets
Story props
Indigenous Storytelling Carpet

Indigenous storytelling carpet classic stories board books puppets and finger plays

eBooks

45 Strategies That Support Young Dual Language Learners
ISBN: 9781681250434
The book provides best strategies for supporting children and families from diverse backgrounds and ensuring the academic and social success of young dual language learners. Including 45 practical, developmentally appropriate strategies for teaching dual language learners, with activities, reflection questions and resources and more.
Assessment for Learning in Primary Language Learning and Teaching
ISBN: 9781800410671
Provides a detailed account of the practical use of Assessment for Learning (AfL) in primary language classrooms. Includes the relationship between AfL and language learning in childhood, assessment methods, and more.
Book Talks: growing into early literacy through read-aloud conversations
ISBN: 9780807779750
This book promotes read-aloud experiences that keep children, their backgrounds, and their experiences front and center Includes conversations between educators, the authors sharing their experiences as educators and researchers, as well as vignettes from classroom literature discussions.
Story Frames for Teaching Literacy
ISBN: 9781681254548
Contains 35 adaptable lesson plans with online support materials used to create a fun and engaging way to learn structure literacy: building core literacy skills, vocabulary, grammar etc. Including templates, handouts, worksheets, and more.
Teach Smarter : Literacy Strategies for Early Childhood Teachers
ISBN: 9781119698906
Demonstrating how to get your students ready for kindergarten this book offers a four-step system for teaching literacy skill which is based on the foundational principles of early literacy teaching. Includes teaching methods and activities to engage students, and provides understanding of problems and gaps with traditional literacy teaching.

Game ON! screen-free fun for children two and up
ISBN: 9781605545493
This book is a collection of screen-free, traditional games and activities for young children that require nothing more than people, minimal materials, and their brains to play. All games and activities are adaptable according to the age of the children, their interests, and their abilities.
The Handbook of Developmentally Appropriate Toys
ISBN: 9781475849196
Discusses the important features of traditional and technological toys; providing information related to the developmental importance with different types of toys, social and cultural issues engendered by playing with such toys, and reviews the available research on the characteristics and potential impact on children’s developmental progress of toys of that type.
High-Quality Early Childhood Programs
ISBN: 9781605545776
Provides detailed descriptions of what one should see in high quality programs (and why) giving readers a strong foundation of child development knowledge and how these principles translate into practice.
The Possibilities of Play
ISBN: 9780876599242
A collection of practical ideas and tips to inspire engagement through active learning. Includes expert tips for selecting materials, facilitating explorations, and challenging children to: explore on their own and at their level, engage in hands-on discovery, use critical-thinking skills and problem solving and more.
Using Picture Books to Enhance Children's Social and Emotional Literacy
ISBN: 9781784504519
Provides an introduction to social-emotional literacy, activities related to emotions such as empathy, friendship, and grief, and aims to embed literacy training into school and home activities. Uses children’s literature and well-known characters, such as the Rainbow Fish and Stanley Yelnats IV from Holes, as a basis for practical activities that enable children to express and manage emotions.

Young children's play practices with digital tablets
The book presents two sets of approaches in how to collect data with young children, and it proposes five key aspects, vocabulary, design, play, interaction and attachment, which cover the base of children’s play with current digital technologies.

The Art of Storytelling
ISBN: 9780810877771
Covers a wide array of important storytelling elements such as: how to select learn, and present a story, and how storytelling has been used throughout history and is still relevant today. Includes list an annotated list of stories, bibliography of collections, and a brief list of recommendations for online sources.
Connecting Disciplinary Literacy and Digital Storytelling in K-12 Education
ISBN: 9781799857709
An essential reference book that supports student success through the integration of digital storytelling across content areas and grade levels (K-12) and covers a wide range of topics including immersive storytelling, social justice, and pedagogical storytelling.
Folktales Aloud
ISBN: 9780838919866
Includes more than a dozen original adaptations of folktales from around the world, reviews storytelling basics, tips to deal with stage fright and reluctant listener, and a bibliography of recommended online and print resources.
Inspiring and Creative Ideas for Working with Children
ISBN: 9781784501464
This book is full of tips to engage children and promote their wellbeing: helping children build emotional resilience and strategies to dealing with life's ups and downs in a variety of ways including image-making, storytelling and puppetry.
Storytelling and Story-Reading in Early Years
ISBN: 9781785922985
Provides tools to get the best out of oral storytelling and story-reading sessions; includes, management, performance and language techniques; outlines on how to prepare a session and spark children’s interest using props, voices and facial expressions etc; as well as examples of stories and post-story activities for ages 2 to 5 and how to adapt for a variety of learning needs.
What's Black and White and Reid All Over?
ISBN: 9780838994047
Contains hilarious ideas and ready-to-use programs for storytime.

Storytime Magic: 400 Fingerplays, Flannelboards, and Other Activities
ISBN: 0838997503
Provides examples of art and craft ideas, songs, puppets, and action rhymes, to help create an engaging storytime.
Storytimes with Hand Puppets
ISBN: 0838997066
This minibook presents one type of craft pulled from Faurot's popular ALA Classic Books in Bloom.
Storytimes with Stick and Rod Puppets
ISBN: 0838997058
This minibook presents one type of craft pulled from Faurot's popular ALA Classic Books in Bloom.

Beyond the Flannel Board
Call Number: Orillia ; LB1042 .M37 2017
ISBN: 9781605544878
Identifies effective, intentional teaching and learning practices and provides a examples for integrating story retelling activities across the curriculum for building skills in social-emotional development, numbers, STEM, and more.
Preschool Favorites: 35 storytimes kids love
ISBN: 0838909388
Comprehensive, easy to use, and overflowing with fresh ideas, Preschool Favorites has everything needed to create storytimes: just add the kids!
Storytimes with Flannel and Felt Boards
ISBN: 0838997031
This minibook presents one type of craft pulled from Faurot's popular ALA Classic Books in Bloom.

Create, Perform, Teach! an early years practitioner's guide to developing your creativity and performance skills
ISBN: 9781784507992
This practical guide helps early years practitioners to develop their creativity and performance skills to engage children more effectively. It includes advice on using storytelling, role play, sensory play, puppetry, nonverbal play, photography and much more.
Creative Drama for Emotional Support : activities and exercises for use in the classroom
ISBN: 9780857005298
Offering a wide variety of drama activities designed to provide children with a creative outlet to overcome emotional and behavioural problems. Exploring a variety of challenges children may experience including parental separation, divorce and bereavement and how this could manifest in a child's behaviour at school.
From Children's Literature to Readers Theatre
ISBN: 9780838996409
Shows how to implement staged reading of literature with participants reading from scripts, conveying the book's story using voice and facial expressions to acquaint children with literature, develop public speaking skills and teamwork, in a fun educational activity. Explains how to create successful programs, providing detailed instruction, 100 annotated bibliography of books with excerpts from scripts and adapted programming ideas for different age levels (preschool to young adult).
A little drama: playful activities for young children
ISBN: 9781605545868
With more than 50 inquiry-based and child-centered activities and exercises help develop the body, voice, mind, and heart of young children. These activities help children navigate daily transitions, develop their creativity, sense of self, social-emotional, and much more.
Teaching Social Skills Through Sketch Comedy and Improv Games : A Social Theatre™ Approach for Kids and Teens Including Those with ASD, ADHD, and Anxiety
ISBN: 9781785928000
This book provides guidance on how to deliver fun and transformative activities to develop social skills in teenagers and children. Drawing on ideas from Social Thinking®, CBT, mindfulness and assertiveness training this book develops games, skits and short plays which can be adapted to suit the needs of a variety of learners.

Websites

Bibliovideo
You are able to listen to authors tell their stories, give interviews and other information about children's literature.
The Center for Early Childhood Education
From Eastern Connecticut State University
HarperKids
Storytimes, read alongs, sing alongs and craft activities
How to Choose Books for Children and Teens
Canadian Children's Book Centre offers tips on finding the right age appropriate book for children. Can find by age or genre (type of book).
International Reading Association booklists
“Each year, thousands of children, young adults, teachers, and librarians around the United States select their favorite recently published books for the “Choices” reading lists. These lists are used in classrooms, libraries, and homes to help young readers find books they will enjoy”.
(International Reading Association, n.d.)
Jbrary
Lindsey and Dana are two children librarians who created Jbrary. Jbrary includes YouTube playlists for Preschool storytimes, lists of storytime picture books and more.
Tim Sheppard's storytelling resources for storytellers
This British teller's site has a number of links to other sites and resources as well as providing storytelling tips and articles

Children's literature genres

Below are examples of fables, folklore and fairy tales. We invite you check out some of our favorite authors/ collections such as: Hans Christian Andersen, Aesop's fables, Grimm's Fairy Tales.

Fables and Fairy Tales
ISBN: 9781504047692
Contains a variety of fables and fairy tales including Aesop's Fables, Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales, Grimm's Fairy Tales, and The Blue Fairy Book.
The fate of Fausto : a painted fable
Call Number: J FIC JEF copy 1
ISBN: 9780008357917
Available at: Owen Sound
A stunningly presented modern-day fable from world-renowned talent Oliver Jeffers.
The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm
ISBN: 9781400851898
Contains Grimm Brothers original folk and fairy tail with introduction to provide historical context.

For more examples of Diversity/ Multicultural picture books, please click the page "Diversity and Multiculturalism" from the blue bread crumb navigation list to the left.

A Ticket Around the World
Call Number: J FIC DIA copy 1
ISBN: 9781771473521
Available at: Orillia
An introduction to the world's diversity follows the journeys of a young boy who visits friends in thirteen different countries and explores their respective cultures, languages, foods, geography, wildlife, and landmarks.
The Chinese Violin
Call Number: J FIC THI copy 1
ISBN: 9781552852057
Available at: Orillia
A young Chinese child immigrates to Canada with her father, and their hardship is relieved by the beautiful music of Chinese violins.
Yes I Can!
Call Number: J FIC BAR copy 1
ISBN: 9781433828690
Available at: Orillia
Carolyn is in a wheelchair, but she doesn't let that stop her! She can do almost everything the other kids can, even if sometimes she has to do it a little differently.
Kisses kisses, Baby-O!
Call Number: J FIC FIT copy 1
ISBN: 9781771089722
Available at: Orillia
Using repetition, rhythm and active verbs to create a lively story for newborns told from the point of view of a parent or caregiver and tuned to events in baby's day. Includes stimulating visuals, patterns, baby faces, cultural diversity and interaction with others. Trilingual edition featuring English, French, and Mi'kmaw text.
From the Stars in the Sky to the Fish in the Sea
Call Number: J FIC THO copy 1
ISBN: 9781551527093
Available at: Owen Sound
A magical gender variant child brings transformation and change to the world around them thanks to their mother's enduring love. Miu Lan is not just any child, but one who can change into any shape they can imagine, but can’t decide what to be.
Sometimes the Spoon Runs Away with Another Spoon
ISBN: 9781604864588
This book pushes us beyond rigid gender expectations while we color fantastic beasts who like pretty jewelry and princesses who build rocket ships and others who do not fit into a disempowering gender categorization.

Mother Goose on the Loose, Updated!
Call Number: LB1139.5 .L35 D5 2019 copy 1
ISBN: 9780838916469
Available at: Orillia
Provides developmental tips, essential components for early literacy program, and 5 ready to use programs.
Riley Child-Rhymes with Hoosier Pictures
ISBN: 9780253001573
Contains a collection of James Whitcomb Riley's poems.

Below are examples of some of the children's poetry books that are in our collection. We invite you to check out some of our favorite authors who write poetry such as Shel Silverstein, Dennis Lee, Jack Prelutsky, Bill Martin Jr. and Loris Lesynski.

In the Sky at Nighttime
Call Number: J FIC DEA copy 1
ISBN: 9781772272383
Available at: Orillia
This lyrical poem sends readers sailing through the Arctic night sky to see and hear the unique beauty of a Northern night.
Zigzag
Call Number: J NON FIC LES copy 1
ISBN: 9781550378757
Available at: Orillia
These poems demonstrate the fun of poetry and everyday life; containing catchy rhymes about subjects such as school, food and walking for kindergarteners.
From the Garden to the Street
ISBN: 9781847140579
With a wider definition of what poetry is, this book contains a variety of hymns, songs, playground rhymes, raps and verse. Provides an informative account of the history of poetry written for children in Britain and America in the last three centuries, asks fundamental questions and much more.

Below are a few examples of wordless books. If you would like to see more from our collection, type Stories without words into Multisearch then limit the location to Orillia program resources (for the Orillia library) or Owen Sound ECE picture book collection (for the Owen Sound library.)

One Red Button
Call Number: J FIC JOC copy 1
ISBN: 9781459813151
Available at: Orillia
A search-and-find adventure for little ones, this book follows the journey of a red button that falls off of a coat.
Turn on the Night
Call Number: J FIC VAL copy 1
ISBN: 9781554988419
Available at: Orillia
A little girl falls asleep and in her dream becomes a huge gray wolf, like the one in her bedtime story. This vibrantly illustrated wordless picture book is a celebration of the inspiration and freedom to be found in stories, dreams and the imagination.
Sidewalk Flowers
Call Number: J FIC LAW copy 1
ISBN: 9781554984312
Available at: Orillia
In this wordless picture book, a little girl collects wildflowers while her distracted father pays her little attention.

Additional Resources

The public libraries in our area have an agreement with Georgian College. Our students are able to become members by using their Georgian OneCards as proof of identification. Please feel free to check your local library to see what resources they have to offer

Barrie Public Library
Please reach out out to the library to create an account and use the resources available.
Orillia Public Library
Please reach out out to the library to create an account and use the resources available.
Owen Sound & North Grey Union Public Library
Please reach out out to the library to create an account and use the resources available.