Mental Health & Wellness
Introduction to mental health for child and youth care
Examines the practitioner's role in mental health care, including issues with interprofessional communication and self-care, Indigenous perspectives on wellness, cultural safety and continuity, stigma. It also addresses symptoms and interventions of various disorders common in child and adolescent populations, including mood disorders, anxiety disorders, feeding and eating disorders, and more.
Understanding the Mental Health Problems of Children and Adolescents
Promoting positive mental health in youth from a system of care perspective, readers will learn about the mental health issues facing children and adolescents as well as the relevant definitions, etiology, and evidence-based treatments to ensure they can gather enough information to make a proper diagnoses. Covers ADHD, childhood trauma, anxiety disorders, oppositional defiant disorder, conduct disorder, bipolar disorder, the spectrum of schizophrenia, psychosis, and substance abuse.
A Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health for Front-Line Professionals
An introduction to child mental health, covering the nature, prevalence, interventions, treatment and management of mental health problems in children and young people. Explores issues surrounding the emotional needs of young people, showing how specific problems such as ADHD and learning difficulties can be targeted, while also recognizing diversity issues and paying particular attention to at-risk groups.
What Young People Want from Mental Health Services
This book offers a vision of youth mental health issues and services through the eyes of young people themselves: including insights into the meaning of identity and agency, expectations of mental health support and more.
Shaping Summertime Experiences : Opportunities to Promote Healthy Development and Well-Being for Children and Youth
Examines the impact of summertime experiences on the developmental trajectories of school-age children and youth across four areas of well-being, including academic learning, social and emotional development, physical and mental health, and health-promoting and safety behaviors. It also provides recommendations to improve the experiences of children over the summertime regarding planning, access and equity, and opportunities for further research and data collection.
Fostering the Emotional Well-Being of Our Youth
Provides an alternative to "refer-test-place" approaches: a dual-factor model of students' mental health that integrates wellness and pathology into a single multi-tier system of mental health support. Explaining what this paradigm shift means for school mental health professionals: why the promotion of well-being is important; how practitioners' day-to-day practices will change; and what the outcomes will be.
Adolescent Coping: Promoting Resilience and Well-Being
Focuses on the positive aspects of coping, including an emphasis on developing resilience and the achievement of happiness; highlighting the ways in which coping can be measured and implemented and suggestions for the development of coping skills and skills training.
Creative Coping Skills for Teens and Tweens
This photocopiable activity book offers suggestions, interventions, and activities for ways that tweens and teens can care for their physical and mental health, including managing life's stressors, recognizing 'red flags' in relationships, and more. It incorporates exercises using art and craft, nutrition, mindfulness, yoga and other movement based activities.
Child and Youth Mental Health in Canada
Call Number: RJ502 .C2 C55 2018
Available at: Orillia
Emphasize how mental health concerns manifest themselves in a variety of service settings and provides overviews for each of them. Contains interventions and activities, including specific to the unique needs of refugee, indigenous, and LGBTQ children and youth. Covers trauma-based behaviours and attachment difficulties, practitioner wellness, residential care, in-patient care, schools, family homes, recreational settings, secured programs, and juvenile justice and more.
Suicide among Diverse Youth
Call Number: HV6546 .S857 2018
Available at: Orillia
This book provides a comprehensive review of the complex, growing mental health challenges faced by culturally diverse populations of children and adolescents. Includes cases, preventative approaches, and covers a wide range of diverse populations including ethnic and racial populations in the United States, LGBTQ youth, and various immigrant populations.
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.