Program or Intervention Repositories
Repositories listing evidence-based programs or interventions. Most have a search capability.
Mentalization-Based Treatment for Adolescents
Mentalization-Based Treatment for Adolescents (MBT-A) is a practical guide for child and adolescent mental health professionals to help enhance their knowledge, skills and practice. The book focuses on describing MBT work with adolescents in individual, family and group settings.
Cultural Psychiatry in Children, Adolescents, and Families
Focus specifically on the role of culture in mental health assessment, diagnosis, and care of children, adolescents, and their families. Explores best practices and the mental health, medical, and structural interventions that to reduce the mental health and medical disparities. Including the most recent guidelines for transgender youth wishing to transition and the impacts on youth and families of the COVID-19 pandemic and the movement for social justice.
Therapeutic Residential Care for Children and Youth
Looks at therapeutic residential care as a powerful intervention in working with the most troubled children who need intensive support, as well as critical issues for child welfare service providers. Outlines how to set up and implement intensive child welfare services, considering how transferable they are, how to measure success and value for money, and the training protocols and staffing needed to ensure that a programme is effective.
Evidence-Based Treatment Approaches for Suicidal Adolescents
Provides important information on clinical approaches that have shown promise in reducing the risk of suicide attempts and self-harm in teens and preventing the tragedy of premature death by suicide. Includes risk assessment and safety planning, treatment, pharmacological strategies.
Therapeutic photography is an increasingly popular approach for increasing self-esteem, resilience and self-reliance in a wide range of people, including those with dementia, autism or mental health problems, school children and offenders. This book provides practical guidance on delivering therapeutic photography interventions and introduces the theory underpinning the approach.
Creative Play Therapy with Adolescents and Adults
Shows mental health professionals how to implement play therapy with adolescents and adults and how to conceptualize client struggles using a wealth of creative approaches. Follows seven-stage process for professionals to address clients' core needs and establish an empathic therapeutic relationship. Looking at stages of play therapy and explores a range of expressive arts (art, drama, dance, writing and sand play), the key materials needed, and the additional aspects of play therapy including resistance, spirituality and self-care.
Trauma and Expressive Arts Therapy
This book synthesizes the breadth of research on trauma and the brain and presents an innovative framework for treating trauma through the expressive arts. It describes powerful ways to tap into deeply felt bodily and sensory experiences as a foundation for safely exploring emotions, memories, and personal narratives. Provides examples of the use of movement, sound, play, art, and drama with children and adults.
DBT Therapeutic Activity Ideas for Working with Teens
This book helps to teach teens to manage emotions and develop relationships by tracking their progress using Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT) techniques. Contains activities to help regulate strong emotional responses which can lead to impulsivity, unstable relationships, low self-image and reactive emotions. Includes vignettes and activity sheets. Includes an overview of the four modules of DBT: mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotional regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness.
The Mindfulness Matters Program for Children and Adolescents
Call Number: BF637.M56 S46 2019
A tool for teaching mindfulness to children and adolescents contains activities for groups struggling with specific challenges: stress and anxiety, depression, attention problems, behavioral and emotion regulation issues, and trauma. Includes step-by-step instructions, sample scripts, suggested variations, and discussion questions.
Doing Play Therapy
Call Number: RJ505 .P6 K642 2018
Available at: Orillia
Covering the process of therapy from beginning to end; outlining how to use play confidently and effectively with children, adolescents, and adults struggling with emotional or behavioral problems or life challenges. The book explains the basics of different play therapy approaches includes case material and specific examples of play techniques and strategies.
101 Mindful Arts-Based Activities to Get Children and Adolescents Talking
Call Number: RJ505 .A7 A15 2017
Available at: Orillia
Contains therapeutic activities for children aged 5-17 who have experienced trauma, physical abuse, sexual abuse, forced migration and severe neglect, as well as those with acute depression, anxiety and behavioural difficulties. Includes case studies.
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.