Library and Learning Services: Dental Hygiene: Research Methods & PICO

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Business & Management, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Research Methods & PICO

As a regulated health care provider, it's important for dental hygienists to understand and evaluate research in the profession since this advances the profession's body of knowledge and contributes to patient care. Here are some documents which provide good information about research methodologies, position papers/statements and professional development offerings in dental hygiene:

How to Research
Check out the Learning Portal's modules on how to research in the health sciences. Strong research skills are essential for academic success. Knowing where and how to search, and evaluate the information you find will support you throughout your higher education career and beyond. Check them out!

Critical Thinking by Donald Maxwell Brunette
Call Number: RK80 .B78 2007

ISBN: 9780867154269

Publication Date: 2007

This work aims to help readers become more discerning consumers of dental literature. It provides an introduction to scientific method, measurement, statistical inferences, interpretation, research strategies and logic. A problem section allows readers to test their critical thinking skills.
Health and Social Care Research Methods in Context by Liz Tilly (Editor)
ISBN: 9781000511826

Publication Date: 2021

This is the first textbook to show how research using a range of qualitative and quantitative methods relates to improving health and social care practice. The book shows how different research approaches are undertaken in practice and the challenges and strengths of different methodologies, thus facilitating students to make informed decisions when choosing which to use in their own research projects. The eleven chapters are each structured around different research methods and include: A brief overview of the research and research question Identification and overview of the research approach and associated methods selected to answer this question
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by Leavy, Patricia, 1975- editor
ISBN: 9780190847401

Publication Date: 2020

The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research, second edition, presents a comprehensive retrospective and prospective review of the field of qualitative research. Filled with robust examples from real-world research; ample discussion of the historical, theoretical, and methodological foundations of the field; and coverage of key issues including data collection, interpretation, representation, assessment, and teaching. This newly revised and expanded edition features up-to-date examples and topics, including seven new chapters on duoethnography, team research, writing ethnographically, creative approaches to writing, writing for performance, writing for the public, and teaching qualitative research.
Quantitative Health Research by Elizabeth Curtis; Jonathan Drennan
Call Number: RA852 .Q83 2013

ISBN: 9780335245734

Publication Date: 2013

This book is a detailed and comprehensive guide to undertaking quantitative health research at postgraduate and professional level. It takes you through the entire research process, from designing the project to presenting the results and will help you execute high quality quantitative research that improves and informs clinical practice. Written by a team of research experts, this book covers common practical problems such as applying theory to research and analysing data. It also includes chapters on communicating with ethics committees, recruiting samples from vulnerable populations, audit as a research approach, quasi-experimental designs and using cognitive interviewing, making it a new and innovative offering for health researchers.

The Ontario Dental Hygienists' Association provides some good information about PICO and the relevance to the profession of dental hygiene.

PICO Defined:

The PICO model is the most effective method of defining and formulating research questions in dental professions. The acronym breaks down specific patient problems into four components to ensure the best and most relevant evidence is found:

Patient, Problem or Population - Start by defining the characteristics of the patient or problem.
Intervention - Consider the type of intervention that is sought (e.g. surgery, treatment, observation)
Comparison – What other alternative interventions are available (e.g. surgery, drugs/medicine, placebo trials)
Outcome – What are the expected, relevant or possible outcomes (e.g. improvement, cure, complications, death

A Search Strategy:

At this stage, you may have a specific question or PICO outlined. Now you can identify keywords from the P and I and sometimes the C to begin the search. Consider what other synonyms or search terms can be used to locate similar results. Also, consider the currency of the literature which is required to ensure the results are highly relevant.

Evidence-Based Databases:

Consider using key databases to find evidence-based literature:

PubMed - Use medical subject headings, MeSH, a controlled list of terms used to describe articles and topics to find precise literature
Medline
CINAHL
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
Google Scholar

You may find that the search results will influence the structure or concepts of the initial PICO.

For video tutorials on how to create a PICO consider these:

From: Guide to Researching - Ontario Dental Hygienists' Association (ODHA

Health statistics are used to understand risk factors for populations, track and monitor diseases, see the effect of policies, and assess the quality and safety of health care. Health statistics are also a form of evidence that can support a recommendation or a plan of care.

It can be intimidating to locate health statistics, but with some suggestions, the task can be made easier. Keep in mind that the specific statistic you need may not be available in the date required or even exist to suit the information need. Please check below with some of the key Canadian statistics gathering organizations which may assist.

Consider these recommendations:

Recommendations:

Identify the type of statistics or data need to answer your research inquiry. Do you need:
- a numerical statistic or fact, such as prevalence rates, mortality rates, or other health indicators?
- A chart or figure?
Identify the geographical nature of your information need?
- Are you looking for a local city or town, a health district region, a province or another country?
- The answers to these questions will help determine which agency or organization to check for relevant facts.
Identify one or more specific organizations/agencies that are most likely to collect or share the information you need such as:
- The Simcoe County District Health Unit (local statistics)
- Canadian Dental Hygienists Association (e.g. Public Perception of State or Oral Health in Canada)
- Government of Canada's Public Health Infobase (national data)
- Statistics Canada (Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture statistics & Selected Indicators of Oral Health in Canada)
- World Health Organization (global health statistics and focus)
- Health Canada
- Canadian Institute for Health Information
- Public Health Agency of Canada

References:

National Library of Medicine. (2020). Finding health statistics exercises. https://www.nlm.nih.gov/nichsr/stats_tutorial/section4/index.html

National Library of Medicine. (2020). About health statistics. https://www.nlm.nih.gov/nichsr/stats_tutorial/section1/index.html

Big Data in Dental Research and Oral Healthcare by Joda, Tim
ISBN: 3036504567

Publication Date: 2021

The objective of this Special Issue is to provide an update on the current knowledge with state-of-the-art theory and practical information on human and social perspectives that determine the uptake of technological innovations in big data science in the field of dental medicine. Moreover, it will focus on the identification of future research needs to manage the continuous increase in health data and to accomplish its clinical translation for patient-centered research and personalized dentistry. This Special Issue welcomes all types of studies and reviews considering the perspectives of different stakeholders on technological innovations for big data science in all dental disciplines.