Library and Academic Success: Paramedic: E-Journals & Databases

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Starting Databases

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
(Ebscohost)
Permitted Uses: License Info
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open access medical, biomedical, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences database. Please note: PubMed is currently working best with PC browsers.
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics.
Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Recommended E-Resources

Some of the following open access journals are available through BioMed Central. All research articles in BioMed Central can be browsed, downloaded and viewed without registering, but if you wish to search the site, you will need to register.

BMC Emergency Medicine
International Journal of Emergency Medicine
Journal of Trauma Management and Outcomes
Scandanavian Journal of Trauma, Resuscitation and Emergency Medicine
Western Journal of Emergency Medicine: Integrating Emergency Care with Population Health
Prehospital and Disaster Medicine
Emergency Medicine Journal
Highwire Press (Stanford University - some open access journals in medicine)
Australasian Journal of Paramedicine
The Australasian Journal of Paramedicine is an open access, peer-reviewed, international journal to advance and promote the science of prehospital care research, management, education, clinical practice, policy, and service delivery.

Other Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Has coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records, covering the fields of computing and information technology.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] This link opens in a new window
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] website provides information on all aspects of occupational health and safety. Access Canadian legislation and standards, MSDS, CHEMINFO, FTSS, RTECS®, OSHLINE™ with NIOSHTIC®, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The CSA OnDemand database offers access to the full text of all standards, codes, guidelines and handbooks published by the Canadian Standards Association. Areas covered include construction, engineering, electrical, energy, health and safety, environmental and more. Note: Downloaded PDF documents must be opened using the Desktop version of Adobe Reader or Acrobat and the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus, instead use "online version."
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides more than 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs, covering over 1,000 generic medications, 100 natural products and 19 vaccines.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
The JBI Complete Collection, available through Ovid, provides information which covers a range of nursing, medical and healthcare specialties and includes evidence summaries, systematic reviews, best practice guidelines, and more. The database consists of several specific databases including: JBI EBP Database JBI PACES JBI SUMARI JBI Evidence Synthesis (journal)
Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 250 leading full-text journals covering nursing and allied health. Plus 130 Medcom Video Training programs. Also includes Culture Competency Briefs by ethnicity and religion.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Anatomy & Physiology

SMART This link opens in a new window
Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase contains medical images, animations & interactive multimedia.
Permitted Uses: License Info
This database has a separate interface from other EBSCO databases so does not appear when you select “CHOOSE DATABASES” in EBSCO.

Pharmacology

CPS This link opens in a new window
Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties (CPS), E-CPS, drug therapy & patient care. Please note, your browser must allow pop ups. Database times out after 30 min. Not Mac compatible.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Lexicomp Online - Medical This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online (medicine) database offers drug information, including interaction checkers, a drug identifier, patient education and toxicology information. It also includes a section on infectious diseases. The Lexicomp Online database provides access to clear point of care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content such as clinical practice guidelines, and other tools. This database generally enables users to locate information on medications, conditions and/or procedures, international drugs, pregnancy, lactation and more.
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry provides continually updated dental-specific pharmacology, clinical information and screening tools to help answer prescribing, diagnosis and treatment questions. Lexicomp Online for Dentistry contains over 8,000 prescription drugs, over the counters and natural products, plus tools like a lesion diagnosis aid and a drug interactions/drug allergy screener. It offers a complete collection of dental reference databases such as: Drugs, diseases, toxicology, patient education, laboratory and international drugs.