American Journal of Recreation Therapy
Access an online copy of this journal. Please see "More Information" for login information. Use Internet Explorer for best results. Log in with the information below then you can click on the small PDF icon in the table of contents to read the full article.
Therapeutic Recreation Ontario
Georgian’s TR program has an educational membership which allows students to activate a free student membership. The membership gives you electronic access to TRO journals. Please contact your instructor for information.
Sample of eBooks from our collection
Handbook on Animal-Assisted Therapy
Discusses the benefits of incorporating animal assisted therapy into their practice, how to design and implement animal assisted interventions, and the efficacy of animal assisted therapy with different disorders and patient populations.
Teaming with Your Therapy Dog
Using an exciting new methodology, the author outlines several STEPs for teaming with your dog: Speak conversationally, stay in touch with your dog, keep your eyes on your dog, maintain close proximity to your dog, and (most importantly) be fully present.
Involving Senior Citizens in Group Music Therapy
Ideal for those working with older people in assisted living or nursing care homes, the book covers initial assessment, setting measurable goals, and evaluating progress; discusses current music therapy techniques; and offers an improved plan of intervention.
Invitation to Community Music Therapy
Practicing music therapists explain how music "speaks" to all of us, regardless of our language, culture, or abilities and how it can be used with groups and individuals in nursing homes to encourage relaxation and expression of feeling and increase socialization.
The Handbook of Music Therapy
The Handbook of Music Therapy is illustrated with many case studies and clinical examples throughout, placed within a variety of different theoretical and philosophical perspectives.
Artistic activities promote tolerance, dialogue, respect for diversity and interaction among others.
Assessment and Outcomes in the Arts Therapies
The case studies show assessment and outcome models for music therapy, art therapy and dramatherapy used with a range of client groups including people with intellectual disabilities, Autism Spectrum Disorders, Multiple Sclerosis and Parkinson's Disease and those suffering from depression, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder or coping with bereavement.
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing
The up-to-date, easy-to-retrieve, and authoritative information readers have come to expect is augmented by new chapters, contributors and references, along with live web resources. Also new to this edition is a broad emphasis on culture, including cultural applications in each chapter.
Creating Person-Centred Organisations: Strategies and Tools for Managing Change in Health, Social Care and the Voluntary Sector
Call Number: HV40.S69 Barrie
Available at: Barrie
A guide for charities and private sector organisations in health and social care on how to become a person-centred organisation, which provides strategies and tools rooted in experience.
Introduction to Alternative and Complementary Therapies
The therapies presented in this book--including mindfulness and meditation, spirituality, poetry therapy, art therapy, psychodrama, dance/movement therapy, music therapy, animal-assisted therapy, and touch therapy--provide the reader with creative non-traditional modalities that are effective in conjunction with traditional treatment, or as substitutes.
Evidence Based Physical Therapy
The five steps of Evidence Based Practice (EBP) provide the foundation for this book that supports student learning to find, appraise, and apply evidence to improve patient outcomes.
Gender and Leisure
The highly contested nature of both 'gender' and 'leisure' encapsulates many of the most critical social and cultural debates of the early twenty-first century.
Activities with Developmentally Disabled Elderly and Older Adults
In this book a wide variety of authors share innovative and creative strategies for programming activities with older adults with DD. They focus on diverse issues, services, and programs from researchers, educators, and practitioners, represented varied disciplines. Each chapter demonstrates the diversity that makes serving a growing number of older individuals with DD both challenging and rewarding.
Geriatric Physical Therapy
Clinically accurate and relevant while at the same time exploring theory and rationale for evidence-based practice, it's perfect for students and practicing clinicians.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
The Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and includes links to important Web-based resources and Apps.
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.