Library and Academic Success: Social Service Worker: Ready to Research

Faculty Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Research Guides

Support

Live Chat - Get Research help now Drop-in or Schedule Appointments for
Tutoring and Research Submit your paper for feedback

The Learning Portal: Colleges Libraries Ontario — The Learning Portal

Page1+ This link opens in a new window
Looking for information for an assignment? Enter your keywords to find books, articles, streaming video & more in one click. Access to full text requires your Georgian user credentials.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of Canadian and international magazines such as Macleans, Scientific American, newspapers and news wires such as the Toronto Star, as well as reference books and company information, biographies and an image collection. This database also includes a Canadian Dictionary.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
Canadian Periodical Index covers Canadian and international journals, magazines, newspapers and other references from 1988 with full-text from 1995. Includes selected sections on full-text of Globe and Mail from 1997.
Permitted Uses: License Info
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database including its many sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full text available for over 700 journals (back to 1908), 800 books and thousands of conference papers.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Grant Connect This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Canadian Directory to Foundations and Corporations. Lists government, corporate, and family foundations that offer funds to organizations like non-profits. Search by cause, need, population, and type of support to create a list of potential funders.
Permitted Uses: License Info

eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains 132,000 multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Permitted Uses: License Info
EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes a growing selection of more than 27,000 titles in subjects like business, computer science, and health. Includes eBooks purchased by Georgian's library to support curriculum.
Permitted Uses: License Info
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 265,000 eBooks titles on a wide range of subjects. Includes eBooks purchased by Georgian's library to support curriculum.

Background Information

Dictionary of Social Work
ISBN: 9780335238835
Provides terminology used in front-line social work and social care.
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity
ISBN: 9781483346656
Available at: Orillia
Contains a broad range of human differences, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values.
Handbook of Social Work Practice with Vulnerable and Resilient Populations
ISBN: 9780231537018
Examines not only risk and vulnerability factors in disadvantaged populations but also resilience and protective strategies for managing and overcoming adversity.
Social Workers' Desk Reference
ISBN: 9780199329649
People all over the world are confronted by issues such as poverty, a lack of access to quality education, unaffordable and or inadequate housing, and a lack of needed health and mental services on a daily basis.

Recommended E-Journals

Canadian Journal of Counselling & Psychotherapy
A bilingual journal with a mandate to publish scholarly manuscripts that are of interest to counsellor educators, as well as practitioners working in schools, community agencies, university and college counselling centers, other institutions where psychological counselling is practiced.
Canadian Journal of Public Health
Includes articles on all aspects of public health, including epidemiology, nutrition, family health, environmental health, sexually transmitted diseases, gerontology, behavioural medicine, rural health, health promotion and public health policy
Canadian Public Policy
Canada's foremost journal examining economic and social policy. The aim of the journal is to stimulate research and discussion of public policy problems in Canada.
Canadian Social Work Review
This journal moved to an online version in 2016.
Its purpose is to advance social work scholarship, practice and education in Canada
Child and Adolescent social work journal
Explores theory, research, and social policy issues.
Critical Social Work
Critical Social Work offers the opportunity for constructive dialogue in the interest of achieving social justice.
First Peoples Child & Family Review
The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. Our mission is to promote research, critical analysis, stories, standpoints, and educational resources which advance innovation within child, family, and community based-matters for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, as well as Indigenous peoples abroad.
Health Reports
Published by Statistics Canada. This journal publishes articles of wide interest that contain original and timely analyses of national or provincial/territorial surveys or administrative databases.
Insights on Canadian Society
Discusses the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians. Interprets statistics to major social indicators
Journal of the Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
The Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry is a national organization of child and adolescent psychiatrists and other professionals in Canada, committed to advancing the mental health of children, youth and families through promotion of excellence in care, advocacy, education, research and collaboration with other professionals.
Social Work Today
Social Work Today is committed to enhancing the entire social work profession by exploring its difficult issues, new challenges, and current successes.

Quick Access to Streamed Collections

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Contains over 5,000 videos on topics in business, nursing, social sciences, health, science and technical education.
McIntyre Media (Hosted content) This link opens in a new window
These titles are being hosted by McIntyre Media. Specific streamed content subscribed to by Georgian on a variety of topics. Topics covered include diversity indigenous, business, health and safety health, mental health, etc.

TED: Ideas worth spreading
Features videos (under 20 mins. long) from the TED conferences. A forum for spreading ideas, TED videos address technology, entertainment, design, business, science and global issues. These videos can be used in the classroom with the source cited.