The CSA OnDemand database offers access to the full text of standards, codes, guidelines and handbooks published by the Canadian Standards Association. To get started, click on "My Library" or Search to view the listing of documents that the database offers based on the topic. Search by topic, standard number or code name. Read the document by clicking on the "Designated" standard number or code name. Search results can be limited by the international classification for standards (ICS) or by standards categorized by areas such as electrical. Results can be further limited by language, status, and document type.
Keep in mind that downloaded PDF documents must be opened using the Desktop version of Adobe Reader or Acrobat and the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus, instead use "online version."
The Techstreet database is located on the library's homepage under the link, "Databases A-Z." This database offers web-based access to a custom set of industry codes and standards in PDF format for areas such as engineering and the construction industry.
Techstreet can be searched in several ways. In the Search box type a topic or standards number of interest and/or in the Browse area, search by a Standards Developing Organization (SDO) such as the Canadian Standards Association for content we have purchased. Be sure to select the standard number and then select "Read" to view the document. Techstreet only searches standards and codes the library has purchased. Also, Techstreet search results are not included in the library's Page1+.
Note: Ontario codes not available but if there are additional codes you would like to see added please contact Karen.Halliday@georgiancollege.ca to make your request.
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library database primarily contains IEEE Standards created by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). There are several ways to find IEEE Standards in this database. They can be located specifically by browsing "Standards" and then by collection areas such as Power and Energy or Information Technology and then subdivided into specialty areas such as electrical machinery. Standards can also be searched by specific standard number or if the number is not known, then they can easily be searched by preformatted topics such as Robotics & Control Systems.
The Regs4Ships database is located on the library's homepage under the link, Databases A-Z. Regs4Ships can be searched or browsed by text and icons.
By placing code names or numbers in the search bar on the home page, users are able to see a listing of all results containing that word or phrase.
By navigating to the top left-hand menu or the top right-hand labels, users are able to click on the name of the Standard Developing Organizations that have written various codes and be taken to a complete list of holdings.
By selecting an icon representing the various Standards Developing Organizations, users can view all the codes hosted on the website written by that authority.
Finding codes and standards using the library's Page1+ is effective. If known, select specific information such as a code title, the Ontario Electrical Safety Code, or a standard number such as the 802.3-2015 - IEEE Standard for Ethernet. If you don't have this specific information, you may try using a keyword which captures the topic of the code/standard or try using the name of the standards developing organization (SDO) such as the Canadian Standards Association.
However, if you don't have specific information and are searching by topic, then it may be more efficient to search databases such as Techstreet, CSA OnDemand or the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.
Finding standards and codes in Google can be helpful as well. When searching for standards or codes in Google, consider using as many keywords as possible to describe the content needed such as the topic, the word, "standard" or "code" or the standards developing organization who created it. Try using quotations around a code title or standard number to refine search results. If information about a code or standard is retrieved from Google, but is not free full text, then try finding the content in Techstreet, the CSA OnDemand, the IEEE Xplore Digital Library or in the library's collection using Page1+
