Services for Georgian Staff & Faculty

Library & Academic Success

Library & Academic Success

Library &<br/>Academic Success

 

How to find Stable Links to Library's Online Resources

Here are some screenshots that illustrate how to locate links in some of our popular databases. Please see Linking to Library resources for more information about how to create stable links to include in Blackboard, Powerpoint or other locations.

Page1+ records page shows the permalink button

  1. Click Permalink on the Send to menu of the article's detailed record page
  2. A textbox will appear above the article title revealing a new stable URL
  3. Copy and paste into Blackboard. 

Image source: Page1+ detailed record view, retrieved March 30, 2023 (c) ExLibris.

Gale database article showing the get link icon to locate the permalink

  1. Access the record/full text view of the article
  2. Look for the Get Link icon on the top navigation bar
  3. Copy & paste into Blackboard.

Image source: Gale Academic Onefile full article view, retrieved March 30, 2023 (c) Cengage.

Ovid record view showing the Email JumpStart link used to locate permalink

  1. Click "Email Jumpstart" found under the Tools menu
  2. Copy the Jumpstart URL and paste into Blackboard

Image source: Ovid Full Text Journals detailed record view, retrieved March 30, 2023 (c) Ovid Technologies, inc.

Nexis UNI screenshot showing the link icon after the document title used to find the permalink

  1. Click the Link icon at end of the document name
  2. Copy and paste the Link to this page URL into Blackboard.

Image source: Nexis UNI detailed record view, retrieved March 30, 2023 (c) LexisNexis.

Screenshot of Proquest abstract/details page, showing the option to copy URL in the menu at top right along with download pdf, cite, etc.

 

  1. On the Abstract/Details page or while looking at a PDF copy of the article, click Copy URL (near the download, cite, email & print links)
  2. Copy & paste the URL that appears at top of All save & export options pop up into Blackboard.

Image source: ProQuest ABI/Inform Collection Abstract/Details view, retrieved August 15, 2024, (c) ProQuest.

ScienceDirect screenshot showing DOI located after the title/author information

  1. Right click the "doi:" link; Select copy link address
  2. Paste the link into Blackboard

Image source: ScienceDirect College Edition full article view, retrieved March 30, 2023, (c) Elsevier B.V.

Embedding or Linking to a Streamed Video

Embedding or Linking to a Streamed Video

  • Most platforms have an option to embed or link directly to the streamed video
  • Do not attempt to embed videos using an iFrame or other methods if the embed code is not provided for use - this violates copyright
  • Check permitted uses for collections - if an embed code is not provided, you may be able to link directly to the video for student access

Use the table below for info on how to access embed codes for particular collections

Locating Video Embed codes within library databases

Locating video embed codes

From the list of search results or page of the video you have selected:

  1. Click the share icon
  2. Change the tab to Embed/Link
  3. Use the plus + icon to add HTML into a document in Blackboard, then paste the embed code in
  4. Save
  5. Students may have to select Georgian from the list of colleges
  6. Video should now be playable.

 

From the page of the video you have selected:

  1. Click the embed button
  2. Copy the iFrame code provided
  3. Use the plus + icon to add HTML into a document in Blackboard, then paste the embed code in
  4. Save
  5. Video should now be playable.

From the page of the video you have selected:

  1. Click the share button
  2. Copy & paste the provided iFrame code
  3. Use the plus + icon to add HTML into a document in Blackboard, then paste the embed code in
  4. Save
  5. Students may have to select "Georgian" from the list of colleges
  6. Video should now be playable.

From the page of the video you have selected:

  1. Locate the share icon - may be in top right corner of video when playing
  2. Copy  the provided embed code into
  3. Use the plus + icon to add HTML into a document in Blackboard, then paste the embed code in
  4. Save
  5. Video should now be playable.

From the main screen with videos listed:

  1. Click on "More Info" below the video you'd like to embed
  2. Click </> embed
  3. Select the embed code tab
  4. Copy the embed code provided
  5. Use the plus + icon to add HTML into a document in Blackboard, then paste the embed code in
  6. Save
  7. Video should now be playable.

From the main page of the video you've selected:

  1. Click embed video under the Unique URL (can be used to link to the video directly)
  2. Locate & delete the scrolling="no" toggle within the iFrame (screenshot below)
  3. Copy the provided iFrame code into the code section of a Blackboard item
  4. Use the plus + icon to add HTML into a document in Blackboard, then paste the embed code in
  5. Save
  6. Students may have to select Georgian from the list of Colleges.
  7. Video should now be playable.

McIntyre media iFrame for embedding, with the scrolling=no toggle highlighted within the code

Image source: McIntyre Media Georgian College collection embed code, retrieved March 30, 2023, (c) McIntyreMedia.

chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.