Comprehensive collection of Canadian and international magazines such as Macleans, Scientific American, newspapers and news wires such as the Toronto Star, as well as reference books and company information, biographies and an image collection. This database also includes a Canadian Dictionary. Permitted Uses: License Info
Canadian Periodical Index covers Canadian and international journals, magazines, newspapers and other references from 1988 with full-text from 1995. Includes selected sections on full-text of Globe and Mail from 1997. Permitted Uses: License Info
Formerly known as Canadian Directory to Foundations and Corporations. Lists over 3,100 foundations that make grants to registered charities and includes over 90,000 indexed grants and 150 corporation listings. Permitted Uses: License Info
Specific streamed content subscribed to by Georgian on a variety of topics. Topics covered include diversity indigenous, business, health and safety health, mental health, etc., from producers such as CTV, Learning Seed, Indiecan Entertainment, Human Relations Media, etc. Additional McIntyre Media content here.
Watch documentaries, animations and more available from the National Film Board (NFB). Users can access any online NFB or CAMPUS title. Search for NFB titles in Page 1+. or directly in NFB. Note that NFB also lists titles from partners that may not be accessible.
To obtain a token/link to set up a new account, teachers can contact the library for information. Existing accounts are automatically updated. Teachers with a NFB account can create a playlist to share with students.
Cultural reports for more than 200 countries each include categories such as land and climate, history, personal appearance, greetings, dating and marriage, family, diet, housing, holidays, economy, education, and health. Permitted Uses: License Info
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics. Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts. Permitted Uses: License Info
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Permitted Uses: License Info
DSM-5 (Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) and several textbooks from the American Psychiatric Association (APA). Use Firefox to search this tool. Search will not work with Internet Explorer. Permitted Uses: License Info
Comprehensive sociology research database including its many sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full text available for over 700 journals (back to 1908), 800 books and thousands of conference papers. Permitted Uses: License Info
With a Canadian focus this book examines all active child and youth care sectors across the human services including: challenges, opportunities, residential care, foster homes, schools, cyberspace, services that support Quebecois, deaf, autism, LGBTQ+ communities and more.
With a Canadian focus that aims to reflect the changing field of child and youth care. Examining topics ranging from homelessness to immigration, antiracism, African-centred praxis, Indigenous ways of being, and additional settings of child and youth care.
This resource helps prepare students for practicum and expand their self-awareness. Discusses challenges and difficulties they will encounter in the field and includes checklists of child and youth care competencies, practical exercises, scenario examples and more.
This book proposes a template for improving community living outcomes for youth leaving residential mental health programs. Includes theory and evidence from multiple fields including education, juvenile justice, child welfare, and more.
A comprehensive view of adolescent development and explores effective ways to support teens who are having difficulties. Examines protective and risk factors, assessment and intervention strategies, and includes case examples.
Looking at a wide range of areas (rural, urban, displacements and mobilities) this book investigates how young people adapt to social change, negotiate belonging in everyday life, and provides insight into young people’s identities.
A holistic and cross-cutting sociological introduction and analysis of what it means to 'grow up' in the modern world which will make perfect reading for those studying childhood and youth.
A Tapestry of Relational Child and Youth Care Competencies
Call Number: HV1421 .F73
Available at: Orillia
Reviews the five domains of Child and Youth Care (CYC) core competencies: professionalism, cultural and human diversity, applied human development, relationship and communication, and developmental practice methods.
Ohpikinawasowin : growing a child : implementing Indigenous ways of knowing with Indigenous families
Call Number: HQ778.7.C2 O37
Available at: Barrie, Orillia, Owen Sound
Child welfare for Indigenous peoples must be informed and guided by Indigenous practices and understandings. This collection forms a whole related to the Turtle Lodge Teachings, which expresses nehiyaw stages of development, and works to undo the colonial trappings of Canada's current child welfare system.
The Challenge of Children's Rights for Canada
Call Number: HQ789 .C68
Available at: Orillia
Discusses children’s rights in Canada and the disconnect that everyone will abandon proprietary notions about children, or that all children will be free to enjoy the substance of their rights in every social and institutional context in which they find themselves, including - and perhaps especially - within families.
Under-Served: health determinants of Indigenous, inner-city, and migrant populations in Canada
Call Number: RA418.3.C2 U55
Available at: Barrie
Addresses the need for systemic change both in and outside of the Canadian health care system. Examines traditional determinants of health-social such as economic, environmental, and behavioural elements, and additional factors such as family and community, government policies, mental health and addiction, disease, homelessness and housing, racism, youth, and LGBTQ.
Available in Academic Search Premier database with 12 month delay. Current issues available in print.
This journal is a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary publication which includes original empirical research papers, theoretical reviews as well as invited commentaries – on children, youth, and families
Available in SocINDEX database with 18 month delay.
This is an international academic journal devoted to advancing knowledge and thinking about relational engagement with children, youth, their families, and communities
Available in Academic Search Premier database with 12 month delay.
Was previously: New directions for youth development.
This sourcebook explores dimensions of the development of leadership in high school youth and college students to aid leadership educators who design educational courses and programs for students.
You can use MultiSearch to search the contents of this journal by entering your keywords in one search box and the name of the journal in another. Once you locate an article, use this website to check to see if it's available online. You may need to access some issues of the journal in Print in the Orillia library. Click on the title above to browse the table of contents for the current year(s). Older issues of the journal are available ON CAMPUS if you scroll to the very bottom of the page and click the link for more issues.
This journal is committed to promoting and supporting the profession of Child and Youth Care through disseminating the knowledge and experience of individuals involved in the day-to-day lives of young people. ***GC Use Only***