Library and Academic Success: Child and Youth Care: Services, Advocacy & Professionalism

Faculty Librarian

Terri Doubrough

Library Technician
Research Help
Email Terri
705.728.1968 ext. 1924

Services

Community Information databases provide listings of community service organizations, including agencies, non-profits and government services. Searchable by topic, such as homelessness, or by service provider name.

211 Ontario
Local and regional listings community social, health and related government services in Ontario.
Information Barrie
Information Barrie includes local and Simcoe County wide social services as part of the Information Providers Coalition in Simcoe County.
Information Orillia
Community information source for the City of Orillia. Also publishes a community e-newsletter called The Hub.
Community Connection
The regional contact centre for Central East Ontario contributing to 211Ontario. "Search by County" to find additional social services in your area, e.g. Simcoe County.

Ministry of the Attorney General: Family Law Information Centres
Provincial. Information about all aspects of family law such as divorce, child support, family court.
Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services
Provincial. Contains Ontario’s legislation pertaining to children and youth. Provides a variety of useful resources, as well as links to further information for children and youth.
Ontario's youth action plan
The enhanced Ontario Youth Action Plan builds on the 2012 Ontario Youth Action Plan by expanding Ontario’s youth development programs, while addressing youth violence and improving community services.

Centre for children and families in the justice system
Non-profit social service agency devoted to helping children and families involved with the justice system as victims of crime, witnesses of crime, parties in custody
disputes, and subjects of child protection proceedings, litigants in civil suits for compensation, teenagers in therapeutic care settings or youthful offenders. Known for their innovative approach to understanding children exposed to domestic violence, supporting their mothers
and creating resources for service deliverers.
Youth Justice Ontario
Volunteer, member driven association representing agencies that provide youth justice services in Ontario
Canadian Child Welfare research portal
Provides access to research on child welfare programs and policies in Canada as well as articles and reports.

Good2Talk
Good2Talk is a free, confidential and anonymous helpline providing professional counselling and information and referrals for mental health, addictions and well-being to post-secondary students in Ontario, 24/7/365. Serves students at Ontario’s publicly-funded colleges and universities, with a primary focus on those aged 17 to 25. Students can call Good2Talk for support on a wide range of issues
Kids Help Phone
Webpage features information on topics related to emotional health
Mental Health Helpline - Ontario
Provides basic education on mental illness, information about community counselling services and supports and listening.
Children's Mental Health Ontario
CMHO represents and supports the providers of child and youth mental health treatment services throughout Ontario. Includes information about mental health and a directory of service providers in Ontario.
Canadian Mental Health Association - Simcoe County
List of services of CMHA services in Simcoe County

Children's Treatment Network
Developmental Services Ontario
"Developmental Services Ontario helps adults with developmental disabilities connect to services and supports in their communities. There are nine agencies across Ontario to serve you. Our organizations are funded by the Ontario Ministry of Community and Social Services". (DSO)

Social Policy & Advocacy

Canadian Council on Social Development
Includes sections on publications, research and links to other social policy websites.
CCPA - Canadian Centre for Pollicy Alternatives
The Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives is an independent, non-partisan research institute concerned with issues of social, economic and environmental justice.
Employment and Social Development Canada
Frasier Institute
The Fraser Institute measures and studies the impact of competitive markets and government interventions on individuals and society.
Income security reform
Relevant information about the government's review of social welfare
Maytree (Caledon Institute of Social Policy archives)
The Caledon Institute of Social Policy closed operations in 2017. Their collection of social policy research is available through Maytree. Maytree also publishes reports on social policy issues.
Social Pollicy in Ontario
Aims to inform the public about current issues relating to social programs and policies in Ontario
Vanier Institute of the Family
The Vanier Institute of the Family seeks to create awareness of, and to provide leadership on, the importance and strengths of families in Canada and the challenges they face in all of their structural, demographic, economic, cultural and social diversity.

Child, Youth and Family Services Coalition of Simcoe County
The Child, Youth and Family Services Coalition is a countywide alliance of organizations providing services to children, youth and their families in Simcoe County
Simcoe County Alliance to End Homelessness
Established in December 1998, The Simcoe County Alliance to End Homelessness is a coalition of over 70 community stakeholders and front line workers who are committed to developing and implementing strategies that will eliminate homelessness.
Barrie Area Native Advisory Council
Barrie Area Native Advisory Circle (BANAC) collectively serves as a regional social planning organization based upon the concepts of life long learning, self determination, and community participation
United Way Simcoe Muskoka
United Way Simcoe Muskoka supports agencies that provide services to strengthen individuals, families and communities.

Ontario Healthy Communities Coalition
Their mission is " to create innovative solutions to meet community challenges and build strong, equitable and sustainable communities through education, engagement and collaboration"

Professional Organizations

Centre for Excellence for Youth Engagement
Brings together the expertise of youth, youth service providers, academic researchers and policy makers to
identify, build and implement models of effective practice for meaningfully engaging youth and to document the results.
Child & Youth Care Network
An international site that includes ethics, journals, suggested reading, contemporary topics, online learning and podcasts.
Child and Young People Now
The website for the National Youth Agency in Britain
Council of Canadian Child and Youth Care Associations
Made up of active members of provincial and territorial Child and youth care associations. National networking organization representing the profession in Canada
International Child and Youth Care Network (CYC-NET)
International child and youth care resources are provided on this site such as: publications, articles, archives, press releases, viewpoints, legislation and employment information
National Youth in Care Network
Exists to voice the opinions and concerns of youth in and from care and to promote the improvement of services
for them. Publishes research, tools and manuals as well as information about rights, and provides links to other resources.
Ontario Association of Child and Youth Counsellors
Professional association representing the 1 000+ Child and Youth Counsellors (CYC’s) in the province of Ontario. Provides a voice for the other 8 000 child and youth workers in the province. Includes Code of Ethics as well news and information on issues and advocacy.
Ontario Association of Child and Youth Counsellors
Resource to see what is happening in the profession and includes professional standards, regulations and Code of Ethics as well as ongoing professional development.
Simcoe County Children's Aid Society
Child abuse information and statistics

eBooks

Everyday Self-Care for Educators
ISBN: 9780429277818
If you're an educator experiencing burnout, compassion fatigue, or vicarious trauma, this book will help you embrace tangible self-care practices to improve your well-being both in and out of the classroom. The book includes a variety of tips and interactive activities to help you identify your own needs and implement helpful practices.
Promoting Mental Health in Children and Adolescents : Primary Care Practice and Advocacy
ISBN: 9781610023115
This book focuses on primary and secondary prevention; incorporating mental health screening and surveillance into well child visits, as well as evidence-based interventions to care for children and adolescents with mental health issues. Topic discussed include: promoting healthy child development, children exposed to adverse childhood , children in foster or kinship care or involved with child welfare, guidance on the care of children who may be at increased risk for mental health problems, and much more.
Confronting inequality : how policies and practices shape children's opportunities
ISBN: 9781433832925
Examines the impact of inequality on children's health and education, and offers a blueprint for addressing the impact of inequality among children in economic, sociological, and psychological domains.