Library and Academic Success: Global Business Management: Getting Started

Faculty Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me about classroom instruction.

Barrie Campus Library, K210C

Subjects: Business & Management, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Human Services, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Research Guides

Support

Live Chat - Get Research help now Drop-in or Schedule Appointments for
Tutoring and Research Submit your paper for feedback

The Learning Portal: Colleges Libraries Ontario — The Learning Portal

Basic Market Analysis Process

When you conduct global market research, there are 3 common types of research or analysis required.

1. Country analysis

2. Industry/product/service research

3. Company or competitor research - Use a company's corporate site to gather financial and other information. Use business database like ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete to discover how the company is represented in news and trade articles.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access over 1000 full text journals and over 400 full text trade publications. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, industry profiles, and more. Easily modify your search to focus on trade, magazine, or journal articles, Complements our other business databases and sources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Databases Relevant to Global Business

GlobalEdge
Created by the International Business Center at the University of Michigan.
This web portal provides access to tools and resources to research nearly any international business question.
User creates their own free account to gain full access.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics like economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, and more. Access over 1000 full text journals and over 400 full text trade publications. Search by NAICS code, type of document (e.g. case study), location, industry classification, and more.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, industry profiles, and more. Easily modify your search to focus on trade, magazine, or journal articles, Complements our other business databases and sources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Permitted Uses: License Info
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
This database includes: Company profiles for both public & private companies; Industry profiles including competitive analysis; Country profiles and macro-economic social, demographic and industry stats exist for many countries. Explore the rich business data available.
LinkedInLearning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
After you click "Sign In", provide your Georgian email address and you will be redirected to Single Sign-On.
Choose from more than 5,000 video tutorials covering business, creative and technology topics. Access courses on your schedule, from any desktop or mobile device. Log in using your student or employee credentials.
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Permalinks/stable links currently not working. For best results use Firefox or Chrome.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Page1+ This link opens in a new window
Looking for information for an assignment? Enter your keywords to find books, articles, streaming video & more in one click. Access to full text requires your Georgian user credentials.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics [Canadian + international] in 20 multidisciplinary categories; country, industry, consumer & demographic data; dossiers and research studies

Databases Relevant to General Assignments

Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of Canadian and international magazines such as Macleans, Scientific American, newspapers and news wires such as the Toronto Star, as well as reference books and company information, biographies and an image collection. This database also includes a Canadian Dictionary.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
Canadian Periodical Index covers Canadian and international journals, magazines, newspapers and other references from 1988 with full-text from 1995. Includes selected sections on full-text of Globe and Mail from 1997.
Permitted Uses: License Info
MasterFILE Elite This link opens in a new window
This database covers general interest, business, health and multicultural topics.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Key International Organizations

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
An international organization of 29 countries (including Canada) that deals with economic and social issues.
World Economic Forum
The World Economic Forum was founded on the precept that business cannot operate in a vacuum,and that challenges need to be addressed by all stakeholders of society.
The site includes country-specific information on global issues.
World Trade Organization
World Trade Organization's Documents & Resources

eBooks for Global Management

International market knowledge and international entrepreneurship in the contemporary multi speed global economy by Emerald Publishing Limited
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781789738926
Publication Date: 2019
International Entrepreneurship in Emerging Markets by Mohamed Yacine Haddoud (Editor); Paul Jones (Editor); Adah-Kole Emmanuel Onjewu (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781787695634
Publication Date: 2019
Among several themes in contemporary entrepreneurship, internationalisation generates extensive interest among scholars due to its exploration of dynamic activity within SMEs seeking market development and operational efficiency through foreign alliance and intelligence gathering opportunities.
How to Communicate Effectively with Anyone, Anywhere by Dan Bullock; Raul Sanchez; Rod Sánchez (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781632651792
Publication Date: 2021
Doing business nowadays often means globally, whether with clients, customers, or business partners. Communicating your message effectively--online or in person--has become a must. If you want the best outcome, you must serve the growing need for cultural training that links awareness to action. In our increasingly interconnected world, effective communication is the formula for success in any industry. Whether you're speaking in public, writing an email, or navigating an important negotiation, how you present yourself through language is all-important in today's global business world.