Subjects:Advanced Care Paramedic
, BScN Collaborative Program
, CICE: Community Integration through Co-operative Education
, Communicative Disorders Assistant
, Dental Assisting
, Dental Hygiene
, Massage Therapy
, Occupational/Physical Therapy Assistant
, Personal Support Worker
, Pharmacy Technician
, Practical Nursing
, Pre Health Sciences
, Virtual Makerspace
The following AI resources in this section are eBooks from the library which can be downloaded to devices for a loan period. The eBooks represent a focused examination of specific aspects of AI and should be used in conjunction with conference proceedings, which are very important sources of the latest information and trends on AI, journals and reports from key associations and businesses.
Collaborative Annotation for Reliable Natural Language Processing by
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
This book presents a unique opportunity for constructing a consistent image of collaborative manual annotation for Natural Language Processing (NLP). NLP has witnessed two major evolutions in the past 25 years: firstly, the extraordinary success of machine learning, which is now, for better or for worse, overwhelmingly dominant in the field, and secondly, the multiplication of evaluation campaigns or shared tasks. Both involve manually annotated corpora, for the training and evaluation of the systems.
Formalizing Natural Languages by
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
This book is at the very heart of linguistics. It provides the theoretical and methodological framework needed to create a successful linguistic project. Potential applications of descriptive linguistics include spell-checkers, intelligent search engines, information extractors and annotators, automatic summary producers, automatic translators, and more. These applications have considerable economic potential, and it is therefore important for linguists to make use of these technologies and to be able to contribute to them. The author provides linguists with tools to help them formalize natural languages and aid in the building of software able to automatically process texts written in natural language (Natural Language Processing, or NLP).
Handbook of Natural Language Processing by
Publication Date: 2010-02-22
The Handbook of Natural Language Processing, Second Edition presents practical tools and techniques for implementing natural language processing in computer systems. Along with removing outdated material, this edition updates every chapter and expands the content to include emerging areas, such as sentiment analysis.
Natural Language Processing and Computational Linguistics by
Publication Date: 2016-08-17
Natural language processing (NLP) is a scientific discipline which is found at the interface of computer science, artificial intelligence and cognitive psychology. Providing an overview of international work in this interdisciplinary field, this book gives the reader a panoramic view of both early and current research in NLP. Carefully chosen multilingual examples present the state of the art of a mature field which is in a constant state of evolution.
Clojure for Machine Learning by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book that brings out the strengths of Clojure programming that have to facilitate machine learning. Each topic is described in substantial detail, and examples and libraries in Clojure are also demonstrated. This book is intended for Clojure developers who want to explore the area of machine learning. Basic understanding of the Clojure programming language is required, but thorough acquaintance with the standard Clojure library or any libraries are not required.
Machine Learning by
Publication Date: 2015-04-02
This book gives a unifying perspective on machine learning by covering both probabilistic and deterministic approaches -which are based on optimization techniques - together with the Bayesian inference approach, whose essence lies in the use of a hierarchy of probabilistic models. The book presents the major machine learning methods as they have been developed in different disciplines, such as statistics, statistical and adaptive signal processing and computer science.
Machine Learning for Dummies by
Publication Date: 2016-05-11
Written by two data science experts, Machine Learning For Dummies offers a much-needed entry point for anyone looking to use machine learning to accomplish practical tasks.
Machine Learning in Python by
Publication Date: 2015-03-24
Machine Learning in Python shows you how to successfully analyze data using only two core machine learning algorithms, and how to apply them using Python. By focusing on two algorithm families that effectively predict outcomes, this book is able to provide full descriptions of the mechanisms at work, and the examples that illustrate the machinery with specific, hackable code. The algorithms are explained in simple terms with no complex math and applied using Python, with guidance on algorithm selection, data preparation, and using the trained models in practice.
Automation for Robotics by
Publication Date: 2015-02-23
In order to enable a better understanding of the key concepts of automation, this book develops the fundamental aspects of the field while also proposing numerous concrete exercises and their solutions. The theoretical approach that it presents fundamentally uses the state space and makes it possible to process general and complex systems in a simple way, involving several switches and sensors of different types. This approach requires the use of developed theoretical tools such as linear algebra, analysis and physics, generally taught in preparatory classes for specialist engineering courses.
Disaster Robotics by
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
A comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible reference for disaster robotics that covers theory, specific deployments, and ground, air, and marine modalities. This book offers the definitive guide to the theory and practice of disaster robotics. It can serve as an introduction for researchers and technologists, a reference for emergency managers, and a textbook in field robotics.
Industrial Automation and Robotics by
Publication Date: 2016-11-14
The purpose of this book is to present an introduction to the multidisciplinary field of automation and robotics for industrial applications. The book initially covers the important concepts of hydraulics and pneumatics and how they are used for automation in an industrial setting.
Practical Field Robotics by
Publication Date: 2014-12-15
This is an introductory book in the area of field robotics. It approaches the subject with a systems design methodology, showing the reader every important decision made in the process of planning, designing, making and testing a field robot. Key features: * Takes a practical approach to field robotics, presenting the design and implementation of a robot from start to end * Provides multiple robot examples including those used in in nuclear service, underground coal and mining.
Artificial Neural Networks by
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This current book provides new research on artificial neural networks (ANNs). Topics discussed include the application of ANNs in chemistry and chemical engineering fields; the application of ANNs in the prediction of biodiesel fuel properties from fatty acid constituents; the use of ANNs for solar radiation estimation; the use of in silico methods to design and evaluate skin UV filters; a practical model based on the multilayer perceptron neural network (MLP) approach to predict the milling tool flank wear in a regular cut, as well as entry cut and exit cut, of a milling tool; parameter extraction of small-signal and noise models of microwave transistors based on ANNs; and the application of ANNs to deep-learning and predictive analysis in semantic TCM telemedicine systems.
Fundamentals of Computational Intelligence by
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
This book provides an in-depth treatment of the three pillars of computational intelligence and how they relate to one another This book covers the three fundamental topics that form the basis of computational intelligence: neural networks, fuzzy systems, and evolutionary computation. The text focuses on inspiration, design, theory, and practical aspects of implementing procedures to solve real-world problems.
Neural Networks by
Publication Date: 2000-10-05
Neural Networks, Second Edition provides a complete introduction to neural networks. It describes what they are, what they can do, and how they do it. While some scientific background is assumed, the reader is not expected to have any prior knowledge of neural networks. These networks are explained and discussed by means of examples, so that by the end of the book the reader will have a good overall knowledge of developments right up to current work in the field.
Neural Networks and Animal Behavior by
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
How can we make better sense of animal behavior by using what we know about the brain? This is the first book that attempts to answer this important question by applying neural network theory. Scientists create Artificial Neural Networks (ANNs) to make models of the brain. These networks mimic the architecture of a nervous system by connecting elementary neuron-like units into networks in which they stimulate or inhibit each other's activity in much the same way neurons do. This book shows how scientists can employ ANNs to analyze animal behavior, explore the general principles of the nervous systems, and test potential generalizations among species.
Artificial Intelligence by
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Artificial Intelligence may be defined as a collection of several analytic tools that collectively attempt to imitate life and has matured to a set of analytic tools that facilitate solving problems which were previously difficult or impossible to solve. In this book, the authors present topical research in the study of the tools and applications of artificial intelligence. Topics discussed include the application of artificial intelligence in the oil and gas industry and in metal stamping die design; using artificial intelligence to predict embryo quality and in biomedical imaging techniques.
Artificial Intelligence in Business by
Publication Date: 2019-01-30
In the present times, artificial intelligence has This book sheds light on all the positiveand negative aspects, benefits and security threats of artificialintelligence in businesses. The past and present trends about theadoption of artificial intelligence in the business world are alsohighlighted through statistics and examples.
Artificial Intelligence in Practice by
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Artificial Intelligence in Practice is a fascinating look into how companies use AI and machine learning to solve problems. Presenting 50 case studies of actual situations, this book demonstrates practical applications to issues faced by businesses around the globe. The rapidly evolving field of artificial intelligence has expanded beyond research labs and computer science departments and made its way into the mainstream business environment. Artificial intelligence and machine learning are cited as the most important modern business trends to drive success.
Artificial Intelligence Marketing and Predicting Consumer Choice by
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
The ability to predict consumer choice is a fundamental aspect to success for any business. In the context of artificial intelligence marketing, there are a wide array of predictive analytic techniques available to achieve this purpose, each with its own unique advantages and disadvantages. Artificial Intelligence Marketing and Predicting Consumer Choice serves to integrate these widely disparate approaches, and show the strengths, weaknesses, and best applications of each. It provides a bridge between the person who must apply or learn these problem-solving methods and the community of experts who do the actual analysis. It is also a practical and accessible guide to the many remarkable advances that have been recently made in this fascinating field.
Management and Business Education in the Time of Artificial Intelligence by
Publication Date: 2020-04-01
Artificial intelligence (AI) technologies are one of top investment priorities these days. They are aimed at finding applications in fields of special value for humans, including education. Consequently, society needs to adapt to AI applications if it is to extend its benefits and mitigate the inevitable errors and failures. bringing us closer to the responses for the questions what we should teach (what the 'right' set of future skills is), how we should teach (the way in which schools should teach and assess them) and where we should teach (what implications does AI have for today's education infrastructure).
Explore Context: Strategic Intelligence for AI
This excellent interactive graphic, by the World Economic Forum, provides a great context of many global issues or challenges involved with artificial intelligence such as diversity and inclusion, the geopolitical impacts of AI, AI and the future of jobs, and operationalizing responsible AI.
Artificial Intelligence Research and Development by
Publication Date: 2018-10-04
It is almost impossible today to find an economic sector or aspect of society which does not involve AI techniques in some way. This pervasive technology has become indispensible in a multitude of ways, from supporting decision making to managing digital devices such as smart sensors, mechanical arms or artificial eyes. The ability of AI to emulate intelligence in the resolution of challenging problems has placed it at the centre of problem solving in all areas of our society.This book presents contributions from CCIA 2018, the 21st International Conference of the Catalan Association for Artificial Intelligence which took place in Alt Empordà, Catalonia, Spain, on 8-10th October 2018. The book aims to provide a picture of what is being achieved and what is under development in AI today.
A Human Algorithm by
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
This is a guidebook to reimagining life in the Intelligent Machine Age and thriving in our brave new worldThe Intelligent Machine Age is upon us, and we are at a reflection point. How Artificial Intelligence Is Redefining What It Means to Be Human examines the immense impact intelligent technology will have on human rights and humanity in the face of sweeping change. It details how intelligent machines, like nothing before in history, will challenge some of our most deeply held beliefs and illustrates why it is critical that we instill values, ethics, and morals into our robots, algorithms, and other forms of AI.
Machine Ethics by
Publication Date: 2011-05-09
The new field of machine ethics is concerned with giving machines ethical principles, or a procedure for discovering a way to resolve the ethical dilemmas they might encounter, enabling them to function in an ethically responsible manner through their own ethical decision making. Developing ethics for machines, in contrast to developing ethics for human beings who use machines, is by its nature an interdisciplinary endeavor. The essays in this volume represent the first steps by philosophers and artificial intelligence researchers toward explaining why it is necessary to add an ethical dimension to machines that function autonomously, what is required in order to add this dimension, philosophical and practical challenges to the machine ethics project, various approaches that could be considered in attempting to add an ethical dimension to machines and work that has been done to date in implementing these approaches.
The Machine Question by
Publication Date: 2012-07-13
In this book, David Gunkel takes up the "machine question": whether and to what extent intelligent and autonomous machines of our own making can be considered to have legitimate moral responsibilities and any legitimate claim to moral consideration. The machine question poses a fundamental challenge to moral thinking, questioning the traditional philosophical conceptualization of technology as a tool or instrument to be used by human agents.
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.