Developmental Services Worker

Looks at contemporary contextual issues surrounding the dual diagnosis and various populations including people diagnosed with personality disorders, women, young people, and older adults. Explores the development of: international service responses, commissioning of service models, research and practice development. And includes the development of interventions, service approaches, research and education.

"The Good Stuff."It' s the stuff that makes us feel whole - the respect, acceptance, security, and support that allow us to be our best selves. And it' s the stuff every Direct Support Professional should provide when they serve individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) and mental illness (MI).

Addresses behavior problems and mental health disorders in persons with intellectual disabilities. Contains information on history of dual diagnosis and related theories, general clinical issues, genetic disorders and dual diagnosis, assessment of people with dual diagnosis, aging with intellectual disabilities, treatments, assessment/diagnosis of mental health disorders, and challenging behaviors, and much more…

Provides a comprehensive overview of autism and minority ethnic communities with guidance on how best to support children and young people from these communities.

Explores the evolving theories on autism and how these have impacted the interventions and outcomes in education. Exposing myths around autism, advocating for understanding autism as difference rather than impairment, and provides practical guidance on teaching and learning, behaviour management, addressing sensory and physical needs of children with ASD.

Explains fetal alcohol syndrome and fetal alcohol spectrum disorders with respect to their clinical presentation, diagnosis, epidemiology, and pathogenesis. It also includes detailed considerations of underlying psychopathology, prevention, and therapy as well as the social consequences and impacts to patients.

Discusses diagnostic criteria for identifying and distinguishing various alcohol-related disorders and their respective characteristic features, emerging enduring markers of prenatal alcohol exposure, summarizes data from investigations of the effects of alcohol on neuron-microglia interactions, and more.

The Camberwell Assessment of Need for adults with Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities (CANDID) is a needs assessment scale specifically designed for people with intellectual disabilities (previously known as learning disabilities, mental retardation, mental handicap or mental impairment) and mental health problems.

This book addresses the specific mental health needs of girls and young women with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Describes the current assessment process for autism diagnosis and explains why girls are under- or mis-diagnosed, leading to later mental health issues. Outlines types of intervention, how to manage eating disorders, sensory processing difficulties, how to deal with the emotional impact on parents, carers and families, and the challenges they face when negotiating appropriate psychological and educational support.

Covers a range of issues including the reasons why good in-patient services are needed to complement good community services, the different categories of in-patient beds, the factors influencing referral patterns to these beds, the interface between challenging and offending behaviours, the overlap between forensic and non-forensic services and the regulatory structures for the future.

Comprehensive coverage of the important aspects of mental health in ageing persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities; including, clinical issues, treatment and intervention.

Addresses issues related to the mental health and health-related quality of life of adolescents through a study with three groups: those with physical, intellectual, and other developmental disabilities, specifically fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD).

Available at: Orillia
Discuses complex issues faced by individuals with developmental disabilities and behavioral/mental health issues and their families. Contains information on issues of dual diagnosis, examinations of the challenges often faced when navigating systems, programs, and organizations, as well as recommendations on building on existing program/system successes and needed changes to ensure access to needed services and positive health and life outcomes.

Available at: Orillia
Outline relevant knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed to promote better health outcomes for people with developmental disabilities. Discusses definitions, health and mental health problems, assessments and treatments, empathetic support, vigilance about neglect and abuse, various challenges in providing care, parenting, sexuality, services needed throughout the lifespan, and much more.

Available at: Orillia
Explores the treating patients with co-occurring intellectual disabilities and mental illness or dual diagnosis (DD) and covers a myriad of other issues surrounding DD patients including the legal system, human rights concerns, tips for working with families and caregivers, and general ethical considerations. Contains case vignettes to demonstrate scenarios, tables that summarize the clinical pearls, DSM-5 and DM-ID diagnostic criteria that is most vital to care, and offers a pathway to accurate diagnosis and treatment.

Available at: Orillia
Provides updated information on the current diagnostic criteria distinguishing the different types of pervasive developmental disorders, explains what is known about their causes, and provides information about screening and diagnostic methods and current

Available at: Orillia
Offer a thorough introduction to Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) in Ontario highlighting examples, research, and interventions specific to Ontario. Includes a brief history of ASD, diagnostic criteria, ASD across the lifespan, interventions and is supplemented with graphics, checklists, and hands-on strategies for application.

Available at: Orillia
Contains information on epidemiology of Autism Spectrum Disorder, explains the roles of the psychiatrist, neurologist and pediatrician in assessing the patient, examines assessment tools and processes, describes the latest advances in a variety of treatments and interventions, and more.

Available at: Orillia
Provides basic consumer health information about the signs, symptoms, and diagnosis of various learning disabilities and other conditions that impact learning, along with facts about early intervention and the special education process, advice for coping at home and school, and handling the transition to adulthood. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.

Available at: Orillia
This book can be used: (a) to train others for professional development (train-the-trainer model), (b) as a resource guide for individual study, or (c) as a reference guide. Is a landmark contribution to the field of support for persons with Intellectual or Developmental Disabilities (IDD) and Mental Health concerns.

Available at: Orillia
Provides information on the mental health and behavioral problems of people with intellectual, developmental and learning disabilities (also previously known as mental retardation) and covers facts and concepts relating to coexisting medical and psychiatric disorders.