Developmental Services Worker

Explores strategies, supports and interventions to improve outcomes for people with autism and complex communication needs. Includes information on: conducting effective assessment and linking results with intervention planning, selecting high-tech and low-tech augmentative and alternative communication (AAC), bringing about lasting behavior changes with functional communication training, and much more...

Provides information about the meaning, evaluation and intervention of the problems related to a variety of debilitating diseases and disability conditions. Includes different approaches to medical and social issues that arise when dealing with persons who are experiencing some degree of disability, a guide for teaching, the development of the structure of training courses and the design of evaluation models and interventions.

Rooted in both ABA and developmental theory, Naturalistic Developmental Behavioral Interventions (NDBI) are some of today's most effective, evidence-based, and widely used interventions for autism spectrum disorder. This book contains a detailed overview of NDBI, how these approaches use natural environments and personal interests to motivate the child and bring about lasting improvements in skills and behavior, the foundational principles of NDBI and successful models, how to use specific NDBI strategies to improve child outcomes, and much more.

Approach to understanding the purpose of positive behavior supports and how support providers can implement these strategies for desirable results. Includes real-life examples, Window to the World Case Studies, Key Point Questions, Best Practice Recommendations, Employment, Community and Residential Activity Suggestions, and Discussion Questions.

The Way Forward is a practical guide to the Who, What, Why, When, and How of incorporating Trauma Responsive Care (TRC) not only into the way you care for people with an intellectual or developmental disability, but into your corporate culture— how you care for one another, every day.

Contains research and evidence supporting clinical work with people with intellectual and developmental disabilities who offend or are at risk of offending. With contributions from an international panel of experts, the text reviews the most recent developments in the assessment, treatment and management of various types of offenders with intellectual disabilities including violent offenders, sexual offenders and firesetters.

Available at: Orillia
Discusses a wide range of topics in relation to intellectual and developmental disabilities; including, community living and participation, using person-centered and positive support practices, work and careers, social inclusion and relationships, self-determination and self-advocacy, rights, wellness, and much more...

Available at: Orillia
Identifies the 12 human needs most relevant to the lives of people with intellectual disabilities, autism and related developmental disabilities. Includes suggestions for reducing episodes of challenging behavior and psychiatric symptoms in people with a dual diagnosis (intellectual disabilities and mental illness).

Available at: Orillia
Contains the most common learning and behavior problems encountered in the educational environment, using the Pre-referral intervention manual and interventions.

Available at: Orillia
Addressing challenging behaviour in children and adults with intellectual or developmental disabilities (IDD), including autism. Focusing on a person-centered approach throughout, the book has advice and strategies for working with the client's families, support staff and professionals. It also presents best practice for analyzing and addressing challenging behaviour in various settings.