Developmental Services Worker

Fully prepare professionals to meet the educational, emotional, and health care needs of students with severe and multiple disabilities. Includes information on effective practice, such as teaching strategies and transition to adulthood; updates based on the latest developments in special education; cutting-edge information on assistive technology and understanding challenging behaviours, and instructive case stories.

Methods for teaching literacy skills to students with complex support needs--including autism, intellectual disability, and multiple disabilities. Contains planning strategies, practical examples, case studies and practices on critical topics, including how to build vocabulary, increase word recognition, enhance fluency, address cultural and linguistic diversity, and use academic standards when designing instruction.

Offers guidance on creating more inclusive learning environments on campus so that all students--whether or not they have a recognized disability--have the opportunity to succeed. Includes strategies for supporting students with specific learning disabilities, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, autism spectrum disorder or who display learning and behavioral characteristics associated with these profiles are described.

Outlines cognitive and language strategies that support emotional regulation, which the authors have found successful with their students with autism and is supported by research that shows why they work. The focuses on the emotional state of the child as opposed to controlling behaviours and provides guidelines and strategies to help students, examples of how to use each strategy. Also includes tips, sample goals for regulation, information on therapy techniques and more…

This book discusses the considerable challenges these students conquer in education, varying relationships with teachers and academics, learning resources, and everyday social situations. Discusses transition services and students with disabilities and a wide range of other topics.

Provides a global understanding of the challenges associated with the growing diversity of student identities in higher education and provides evidence-based strategies for addressing the challenges associated with implementing equity and inclusion at different higher education institutions around the world.

Contains 301 new and enhanced tests, which are vital to understanding assessment in special education. Designed as an easy-to-use, hands-on resource, the book is filled with practical tools, information, and suggestions. Step-by-step, this practical guide explores the various stages of evaluation, interpretation, diagnosis, prescription, and remediation.