The Complete Guide to Foodservice in Cultural Institutions by
Publication Date: 2001-10-18
The Complete Guide to Foodservice in Cultural Institutions provides insight, strategies, and information needed to run an appealing,efficient, and profitable foodservice operation that lives up to the commitment, standards, and quality expectations of any cultural institution. It is a unique and invaluable resource for administrators charged with ensuring the quality, profitability,and safety of foodservice operations in any cultural institution. A series of case studies recounts the problems and short comings encountered by a number of cultural institutions' foodservice programs. These studies demonstrate how to achieve improved financial performance, management efficiencies, visitor satisfaction, and integration with each institution's mission and culture.
Design and Layout of Foodservice Facilities by
Publication Date: 2008-06-02
Design and Layout ofFoodservice Facilities, Third Edition provides a comprehensivereference for every step of the process, from getting the initialconcept right to the planning, analysis, design, permitting, andconstruction--in short, everything needed to get to opening day ofthe new establishment! Packed with valuable drawings, photographs,and charts, this essential guide covers the nuts-and-boltsdecisions that make the difference in an effective, efficientfoodservice operation, including equipment selection, workflows,and legal compliance.
Modern Buffet Presentation by
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Modern Buffet Presentation successfully incorporates the art of buffet and banquet entertaining with tantalizing, current recipes; guidance on plating, garnishing, and arranging; and design concepts and visual appeal. Practical concerns for the professional are thoroughly addressed--from setting price points, selecting proper equipment, and training staff to marketing, communicating with clients, and practicing proper sanitation.
Cost control and Operations
Catering: a guide to managing a successful business operation by
Call Number: TX921 .M38 2016 Owen Sound
Publication Date: 2015-03-16
Catering: A Guide to Managing a Successful Business Operation, Second Edition provides the reader with the tools to fully understand the challenges and benefits of running a successful catering business. Catering was written as an easy-to-follow guide using a simple step-by-step format and provides comprehensive coverage of all types of catering. This is a significant contrast to other texts which are geared to a specific segment of catering such as on-premise, off-premise, or corporate dining. The graduate who decides to enter into catering will be charged with providing the "restaurant" experience to their clients and optimizing profits for their employer. Catering will assist them in achieving these goals.
Daily Cafe Operations
Call Number: Online Video
The Provisions Café is known for its great coffee, food, and atmosphere. This case study takes viewers behind the scenes at the Provisions, illustrating the procedures and best practices that make for a well-run, successful café. Using high-energy visuals and detailed interviews with the Provisions’ owner/manager, the program explores a typical day in the life of the café—including early morning kitchen and front-of-house set-up, preparations for the breakfast and lunch crowds, supply orders and deliveries, closing procedures, and the nightly cash tally. Step-by-step guidance in café-specific skills, such as the making of lattes and cappuccinos, is also included.
Food and Beverage Cost Control by
Publication Date: 2007-03-16
This fully updated fourth edition of Food and Beverage Cost Control provides students and managers with a wealth of comprehensive resources and the specific tools they need to keep costs low and profit margins high. This new edition features the latest information on foodservice cost control in a global setting, addressing relevant cultural, legal, and technological questions.
Robotics and Automation in the Food Industry by
Publication Date: 2012-12-03
Part one introduces key technologies and significant areas of development, including automatic process control and robotics in the food industry, sensors for automated quality and safety control, and the development of machine vision systems. Optical sensors and online spectroscopy, gripper technologies, wireless sensor networks (WSN) and supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) systems are discussed, with consideration of intelligent quality control systems based on fuzzy logic. Part two goes on to investigate robotics and automation in particular unit operations and industry sectors. The automation of bulk sorting and control of food chilling and freezing is considered, followed by chapters on the use of robotics and automation in the processing and packaging of meat, seafood, fresh produce and confectionery. Automatic control of batch thermal processing of canned foods is explored, before a final discussion on automation for a sustainable food industry.
The Way Kitchens Work by
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
If you've ever wondered how a microwave heats food, or why aluminum foil is shiny on one side and dull on the other, or whether it is better to use cold or hot water in a garbage disposal, you should read The Way Kitchens Work. Modern kitchens are hi-tech marvels, with more machinery than any other room in the house. Each of the 50+ entries includes its history, interesting trivia, and a discussion of the technology involved. Readers will also enjoy reviewing the utensils' and appliances' original patent blueprints, as well as photos of the "guts" of these culinary tools.
Call Number: Online Video
If politics and society have already formulated a goal to stop food waste, why is it so hard to make this a reality? From a business perspective, throwing food away can pay off, despite environmental and hunger consequences. Three years after the international box office hit Taste the Waste, an investigative documentary about worldwide food waste, the film making team meets farmers, supermarket executives, cooks, design students and citizens fighting to reduce food waste along the production and consumption chain.
Food Waste by
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The first chapter discusses current agricultural development systems. Chapter Two presents a review of the works of research that have been developed in the last decade on the use of food wastes as sources of antioxidant compounds, such as polyphenols. Chapter Three provides a critical overview on the studies that deal specifically with food applications, mainly focusing on their potential as sources of fibers and associated phenolics and respective antioxidant activity. Chapter Four contributes to innovation in research on the valorisation techniques that have been developed for the use of food wastes as well as examines future directions in the field. Chapter Five reviews conventional methods currently applied in Vietnam for treatment of food waste, and then proposes a promising solution using anaerobic digestion technology. Chapter Six provides an overview of the generation of food waste within households in Greece and investigates the potential for prevention. Chapter Seven investigates heat generation and oxygen levels during the storage of soy sauce squeezing residue and fish meal, by-products of soy sauce and fish production and processing, respectively, by thermal analysis and gas chromatography. The final chapter discusses sugarcane bagasse hemicellulose properties, extraction technologies and xylooligosaccharides production.
Trashed, with Jeremy Irons
Call Number: Online Video
Jeremy Irons sets out to discover the extent and effects of the global waste problem as he travels around the world to beautiful destinations tainted by pollution. This is a meticulous, brave investigative journey that takes Irons (and us) from skepticism to sorrow and from horror to hope. Irons showcases the individuals, activists, corporate and advocacy groups around the world who are working to affect change and reform the current model.
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.