The Canadian Nutrient File Database
Food composition database reporting the amount of nutrients in foods commonly consumed in Canada.
Health Canada's healthy eating strategy
Working to make the healthier choice the easier choice for Canadians.
Canada's Food Guide
Newly released in January 2019. Includes information on food choices, eating habits, recipes, and the evidence behind the revision.
Canadian Society of Nutrition Management
Association geared to the nutrition management industry. Georgian's Food and Nutrition Management program is accredited by them and students can set up a student membership.
USDA Food Composition Databases
You can search the database by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for your food items. You can also generate lists of foods sorted by nutrient content. In addition, data from the following Special Interest Databases will be shown along with the corresponding food items from the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
Celiac Disease by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
An indispensable guide on how to safely alter your diet, manage your symptoms, and adjust to living gluten-free Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder characterized by an inability to digest gluten, a protein found in wheat and other grains that affects as many as 1 in 133 Americans. Written by a nurse, dietician, and clinical pharmacist, Celiac Disease, Second Edition provides everything you need to know to live a healthy wheat-free and gluten-free lifestyle including how to: recognize and treat the most common symptoms eat gluten-free and avoid hidden glutens, especially in common medications prepare your kitchen and prevent cross-contamination cook and bake gluten-free including delicious, easy-to-prepare recipes for breads, breakfasts, main courses, and desserts dine out, travel, and entertain safely tackle the emotional issues of having celiac disease raise a child with celiac disease and much more.
Competitive Foods in Schools by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Across America, meals provided through USDA's National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) supply most of the foods and beverages obtained by children at school. These foods have been widely criticised as being of low nutritional value, undercutting public efforts to improve children's diets and prevent obesity. The Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010 requires schools that offer USDA school meals to limit competitive foods to those that meet updated nutrition standards, under development by USDA's Food and Nutrition Service (FNS). Limiting the types of competitive foods available for sale may result in lost revenue for school food-services, which depend to varying degrees on this revenue stream. Because USDA school meal programs are a part of the Nation's nutrition safety net, the contribution that competitive food revenues make to food-services serving economically vulnerable student populations is of particular interest. This book examines how updated nutrition standards for competitive foods might affect competitive food availability, and the implications for food-service revenues.
Financing Our Foodshed by
Publication Date: 2013-03-29
In towns and cities across North America, a quiet revolution is underway. Fed up with sending their money off to make a fast buck in faraway markets, people are putting their money to work where they live, in markets they trust and understand—starting with food. Financing Our Foodshed is a collection of real life stories of these Slow Money pioneers and the local food entrepreneurs, sustainable farmers, bakers, restaurateurs, and more that they have chosen to support. Fueled by their desire to do more than just eat local food, lenders of "nurture capital" are making low-interest, peer-to-peer loans to the people who produce, process, distribute, and sell food. Meet passionate entrepreneurs including: Abi, a talented artist-turned-baker, who borrowed the funds for a commercial oven to start a gluten-free bakery Angelina, owner of a Greek local foods restaurant, who refinanced exorbitant credit card debt incurred by renovations Chatham Marketplace, a much-loved grocery co-op whose monthly loan payments were reduced by a third.
Good Sugar Bad Sugar by
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
Good Sugar Bad Sugar tackles the biggest dietary threat to the modern world: The addiction to refined sugar and processed carbohydrates, which is causing epidemics in obesity and Type 2 diabetes on a global scale. Sugar and carb consumption is an addiction that begins at birth, but once you free yourself with Easyway, you'll enjoy better health, higher levels of energy, dramatically improved body shape, and a happier, healthier lifestyle.
Fermented Foods by
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Overview of the current knowledge on technical approaches for the manufacturing of fermented dairy foods, as well as aspects concerning nutrition and health; the effects of supplementation of yogurt with appropriate plant materials for developing novel functional yogurt with antioxidant properties; the role of probiotics applications in fermented foods and the application of probiotic bacteria in foods for promoting health benefits; and finally, the monitoring of microbial volatile organic compounds in traditional fermented foods as well as the strategies of preservation and innovation paths in the field of traditional fermented foods.
Food, Fermentation and Micro-Organisms by
Publication Date: 2005-11-11
Fermentation and the use of micro-organisms is one of the most important aspects of food processing, an industry worth billions of US dollars world-wide. From beer and wine to yoghurt and bread, it is the common denominator between many of our foodstuffs. In his engaging style Professor Charles Bamforth covers all known food applications of fermentation.
Vegan and Vegetarian
Forks over knives [videorecording]
Call Number: TX392 .F67 2011 DVD
This film examines the claim that most if not all degenerative diseases that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting animal-based and processed foods. The filmmakers explore the ancient idea of food as medicine, following "reality patients" who have adopted a whole foods plant-based diet as the primary approach to treat their ailments.
The Future of Meat Without Animals by
Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Plant-based and cell-cultured meat, milk, and egg producers aim to replace industrial food production with animal-free fare that tastes better, costs less, and requires a fraction of the energy inputs. These products are no longer relegated to niche markets for ethical vegetarians, but are heavily funded by private investors betting on meat without animals as mass-market, environmentally feasible alternatives that can be scaled for a growing global population. This volume examines conceptual and cultural opportunities, entanglements, and pitfalls in moving global meat, egg, and dairy consumption toward these animal-free options. Beyond surface tensions of "meatless meat" and "animal-free flesh," deeper conflicts proliferate around naturalized accounts of human identity and meat consumption, as well as the linkage of protein with colonial power and gender oppression.
The Raw Truth
Call Number: Online Video
In a world full of sickness and death, can eating a completely raw vegan diet cure all? In this educational and entertaining documentary, raw vegans argue that health and youth start from within and eating only foods that are alive (raw) will prevent disease.
Deciphering Organic Foods by
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This book discusses a variety of topics related to organic food production, consumption, and promotion. Written by experts in each of these fields, this book will interest consumers, academicians, marketing practitioners, as well as policy makers. Myths about organic foods are dispelled, and the code is cracked regarding the plethora of existing labels that have led to so much market confusion in recent years. New research findings regarding the environmental benefits (as related to sustainability) of organic food production, as well as the many nutritional and other personal health benefits of organic food consumption are discussed. The issues that lead to the price premium of organic foods, relative to conventional foods, are presented, and suggestions are provided regarding the types of foods that are worth paying the organic price premium. Marketers and advertisers of organic foods will find the overview of successful advertising tactics comprehensive and informative. Similarly, pet owners considering the switch to organic pet food will enjoy reading about this emerging market and will receive vital information to help them in their decision making.
Call Number: Online Video
For the first time ever, our children are growing up less healthy than we are. As the rate of cancer, infertility and other illnesses linked to environmental factors climbs ever upward each year, we must ask ourselves: why is this happening? Food Beware begins with a visit to a small village in France where the town's mayor has decided to make the school lunch menu organic and locally grown. It then talks to a wide variety of people with differing perspectives to find common ground—children, parents, teachers, healthcare workers, farmers, elected officials, scientists, researchers and the victims of illnesses. Revealed in these moving and often surprising conversations are the abuses of the food industry, the competing interests of agribusiness and public health, the challenges and rewards of safe food production, and the practical solutions that we can all take part in.
The Organic Illusion: Mass-Produced and Organic?
Call Number: Online Video
In this film, watch as researchers investigate the deceptive underside of eco-agriculture and organic food production. Though organic products are largely considered the way of the future, sly measures are taken to promote products that are not actually organic while workers are exploited in poor conditions to produce the amount of organic goods desired by discount markets. From a turkey-fattening farm in Germany to a chicken farm in China to prawn production farms in Thailand, the standards of organic produce and livestock are continuously evaded and misrepresented. This documentary delves into the global problem and investigates the market-run future of eco-agriculture..
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.