The Ethical Meat Handbook by
Publication Date: 2015-10-19
The Ethical Meat Handbook seeks a middle ground, arguing that by assuming full responsibility for the food on our fork, and more importantly, the route by which it gets there, animals can be an optimal source of food, fiber, and environmental management. This hands-on, practical guide covers: Integrating animals into your garden or homestead Basic butchery: whole animal, primals, subprimals, and end-cuts, including safety and knife skills Charcuterie: history, general science and math principles, tooling up Culinary highlights: getting creative, preparing sauces, ferments, difficult cuts, and extras Eating diversely may be the most revolutionary and proactive action we can take to ensure the sustainability of our food system.
In the Hands of a Chef by
Call Number: TX656 .I52 2008 Barrie & Owen Sound
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
Proficiency with knives and other kitchen tools is essential if you want to perfect your culinary artistry. This indispensable guide delivers all the information you need to assemble a knife kit, build your knife skills, and use a wide range of additional tools, from peelers and pitters to Parisienne scoops and pastry bags.
Colameco's Kitchen Survival Guide Series
Call Number: Online Video
Combining humor, enthusiasm, and a down-to-earth attitude, cooking expert Mike Colameco is the ideal mentor for students who want to empower themselves in the kitchen. In this three-part series, the creator and host of PBS’s Colameco’s Food Show explains how to shop for groceries, store food, prepare ingredients, keep the kitchen clean and safe, and develop basic kitchen skills and techniques. Colameco also presents some accessible recipes for students to try, with hands-on demonstrations that help build cooking confidence.
Culinary Knives by
Call Number: TX657 .K54 C84 2004 Owen Sound
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Knife Skills: The fundamentals of knife techniques DVD.
Food Presentation Secrets: styling techniques of professionals by
Call Number: TX740.5 .H63 2010 Owen Sound
Publication Date: 2010-02-19
Five comprehensive sections reveal the techniques, tools, ingredients and designs used by chefs in fine restaurants. Step-by-step illustrations show how to assemble the garnishes, and each is graded in difficulty from one to five. Handy checklists, tip boxes and identifier directories explain the best ways to use the different garnishes.
Knife Skills for Chefs by
Call Number: TX657.K54 D39 2007 Owen Sound
Publication Date: 2006-07-18
Comprehensive in coverage, the book contains chapters on history and production, knife selection, knife maintenance, basic knife cuts, simple garnishing techniques and knife sanitation, safety and storage.
The Art of Napkin Folding by
Publication Date: 2004-07-26
The Art of Napkin Folding presents a collection of 35 easy-to-do napkin designs. Following the carefully crafted step-by-step instructions, readers will discover how easily and effortlessly they can add color, style and fun to their table settings. The book offers a diverse collection of napkin folds: classic favorites, as well as new creations.
Table Setting: Banquets to Barbecues
Call Number: Online Video
In our busy schedules it's easy to grab a fork and a paper plate and stand at the kitchen counter to eat. But, it's nice to know the basics. This video reviews the techniques of the various table settings including family-style and buffet. It also reviews the difference between formal and informal settings, and touches on creating a pleasant atmosphere at mealtime..
Arranging Food Beautifully by
Publication Date: 1999-04-12
Quantity food presentation made easy . . . and irresistible! When it comes to preparing and presenting food in quantity, having limited time or resources doesn t have to mean limiting the imagination if you know the secrets of Arranging Food Beautifully. This unique guide equips you with a stunning array of practical and effective techniques for presenting hot and cold food attractively on trays, buffets, and steam table lines. Expertly blending art and skill, it shares countless ideas on how to use color, composition, texture, props, and garnishes to enhance the presentation of items from every part of the menu.
Sugar Work by
Publication Date: 1988-10-01
This book enables culinary professionals to create sugar objects as it guides them through each stage of sugar blowing and sugar pulling. This step-by-step book provides a specialized technique for making decorative and useful items out of blown and pulled sugar. The author's technical innovations for cooking and storing sugar should eliminate the frustration of overly long cooking and preparation times. This source provides a foundation in the chemistry and process of sugar cooking, the use and understanding of the basic equipment and the function of a sugar studio, plus various new methods and special handling techniques used in the process of sugar blowing and pulling. This book should be of interest to chefs, confectioners, artists, culinary arts teachers and ambitious amateurs.
The Art of the Chocolatier by
Publication Date: 2011-01-18
A must-have guide to chocolate making and chocolate showpiece design, from renowned confectionery expert Ewald Notter Covering the full spectrum of chocolate work-from the fundamentals of chocolate making to instruction on advanced showpiece design and assembly-The Art of the Chocolatier is the most complete and comprehensive guide to chocolate-making on the market. The book covers basic information on ingredients, equipment, and common techniques in the pastry kitchen, while also offering clear, step-by-step instructions on creating small candies and large-scale chocolate pieces. This is the ideal book for pastry students enrolled in chocolate and confectionery courses, as well as working professionals and even serious home confectioners who want to improve their skills in advanced chocolate work. Illustrated step-by-step instructions cover all the essentials of chocolate-making, from tempering and creating ganache and gianduja to using molds, transfer sheets, and more An entire chapter devoted to Creating a Competition Piece covers the ins and outs of confectionery competition, from preparing for the event and developing a concept to designing and building a winning chocolate showpiece Beautiful full-color photos throughout provide inspiration for chocolate décor and showpiece design, while clear how-to photos illustrate key techniques The Art of the Chocolatier provides expert-level coverage of every aspect of the chocolatier's art for students and professionals alike.
Kitchen Math and Measuring: How It All Adds Up [videorecording]
Call Number: TX911.3 .M33 .K58 2010 Owen Sound
Pick up a cookbook and you'll find that recipes include any number of well numbers! Explore the world of math and measuring from the perspective of a chef. Step inside the kitchen to learn different tools for measuring liquid and dry ingredients, how and why we measure heat, and equivalent measures for U.S. and Metric systems.
Math for the Professional Kitchen by
Call Number: TX652 .D73 2011 Barrie
Essential math concepts for professional chefs and culinarystudents Ideal for students and working professionals, Math for theProfessional Kitchen explains all the essential mathematicalskills needed to run a successful, profitable operation. Fromscaling recipes and converting units of measure, to costingingredients and setting menu prices, it covers crucial informationthat will benefit every foodservice provider. The entirety of the standardculinary math curriculum is covered, including conversions,determining yields, purchasing, portioning, and more. This is a thorough, comprehensive main text for culinary students as well as a great kitchen reference for working professionals Math for the Professional Kitchen will be an invaluable resource not only in the classroom but also in the kitchen as students embark on their professional careers, where math skills play a crucial role in the ever-important bottom line.
chat loading... if this message persists, please try reloading your page.