Library and Academic Success: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion &amp; Belonging: Design & Visual Arts

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Key EDI & B Concepts in Design & Visual Arts

The eBooks in this area highlight easily accessible library resources which reflect some of the EDI & B issues and trends in art, design, and museum studies, such as activism, cultural pluralism, and decolonization. This is not an exhaustive list and highlights eBooks. Suggested search terms for searching the library databases are provided at the bottom of this page

Adjusted Margin: Xerography, art, and activism in the late twentieth century by Kate Eichhorn
ISBN: 9780262334334
Publication Date: 2016
This is the story of how the xerographic copier, or "Xerox machine," became a creative medium and political tool, arming artists and activists on the margins with an accessible means of making their messages public. Paper jams, mangled pages, and even fires made early versions of this clunky office machine a source of fear, rage, dread, and disappointment. But eventually, xerography democratized print culture by making it convenient and affordable for renegade publishers, zinesters, artists, punks, anarchists, queers, feminists, street activists, and others to publish their work and to get their messages out on the street
Art and Politics: The history of the National Arts Centre by Sarah Jennings
ISBN: 9780773559509
Publication Date: 2019
This book covers the highs and lows of Canada's most important national performing arts institution over the course of five decades, bringing the story up to the present. This is a riveting tale of Canada's finest musicians, actors, and dancers and their efforts to put their art at the forefront of both the national and the international scene. Through over 150 interviews with artists, top officials, senior politicians, and others who affected the fate of the National Arts Centre, the book recounts the organization's early years. Told through the voices of those who created the organization, this book affirms that the National Arts Centre embodies its motto: "Canada is our stage."
The Art of Activism and the Activism of Art by Gregory Sholette
ISBN: 9781848224414
Publication Date: 2022
This book critiques, celebrates, and historicizes activist art, exploring its current urgency alongside the processes which have given rise to activism by artists, and activist forms of art. The author describes a new wave of activist art taking place not only within community-based protest groups but also amongst professionally trained, MFA-bearing art practitioners who refuse to respect the conventional borders separating painting from protest, or art from utility. The book explores the subtle distinction between activist forms of art and protest by artists, and proposes that contemporary activist art and art activism constitute a broader paradigm shift that reflects the crisis of contemporary capitalism.
Asian American Media Activism: Fighting for Cultural Citizenship by Lori Kido Lopez
ISBN: 9781479835942
Publication Date: 2016
Activists and minority communities use media to facilitate social change and achieve cultural citizenship, yet beneath these online success stories lies a problem--Asian Americans remain sorely underrepresented in mainstream film and television. When they do appear on screen, they are often relegated to demeaning stereotypes such as the comical foreigner, the sexy girlfriend, or the martial arts villain. The author investigates how Asian American media activism takes place and evaluates what kinds of interventions are most effective, finding that activists must be understood as fighting for cultural citizenship, a deeper sense of belonging and acceptance within a nation that has long rejected them.
Creative Activism by Rachel Lee Rubin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781501337239
Publication Date: 2018
This collection brings together interviews with a compelling range of musicians, artists, and activists from around the globe. Moving away from a narrow idea about politics that is organized around elections, advocacy groups, or concrete manifestos, the subjects of this book do their work through song, poetry, painting, and other arts. The interviews take us from Oakland to London to Johannesburg and from the Occupy movement to the coal mines of Appalachia to the fantasy worlds created by some of our most fascinating writers of spectacular fiction. Listening to the important "cultural workers" of our time challenges any idea that some other time was the golden age of political art:
Curatorial Activism: towards an ethics of curating by Maura Reilly; Lucy Lippard (Foreword by)
Call Number: Barrie campus N72.S6 .R44 2018
ISBN: 9780500239704
Publication Date: 2018
A handbook of new curatorial strategies based on pioneering examples of curators working to offset racial and gender disparities in the art world. Current art world statistics demonstrate that the fight for gender and race equality in the art world is far from over: only 16% of this year's Venice Biennale artists were female; only 14% of the work displayed at MoMA in 2016 was by nonwhite artists; only a third of artists represented by U.S. galleries are female, but over two-thirds of students enrolled in art and art-history programs are young women. Arranged in thematic sections focusing on feminism, race, and sexuality, this book examines and illustrates pioneering examples of exhibitions that have broken down boundaries and demonstrated that new approaches are possible.
Tear Gas Epiphanies: Protest, Culture, Museums by Kirsty Robertson
ISBN: 9780773557017
Publication Date: 2019
This book book traces the as-yet-untold story of political action at museums in Canada from the early twentieth century to the present. The author looks at how museums do or do not archive protest ephemera and examining a range of responses to actions taking place at their thresholds, from active encouragement to belligerent dismissal. Drawing together extensive primary-source research and analysis, she questions widespread perceptions of museums, strongly arguing for a reconsideration of their role in contemporary society that takes into account political conflict and protest as key ingredients in museum life.
This Is Not a Hoax: Unsettling Truth in Canadian Culture by Heather Jessup
ISBN: 9781771123662
Publication Date: 2019
This book shows how the work of some contemporary artists and writers intentionally disrupts the curatorial and authorial practices of the country's most respected cultural institutions: art galleries, museums, and book publishers. This first-ever study of contemporary Canadian hoaxes in visual art and literature asks why we trust authority in artistic works and how that trust is manifest. The author claims that hoaxes, far from being merely lies meant to deceive or wound, may exert a positive influence. Through their insistent disobedience, they assist viewers and readers in re-examining unquestioned institutional trust, habituated cultural hierarchies, and the deeply inscribed racism and sexism of Canada's settler-colonial history.

The Art of Minorities by Virginie Rey (Editor)
ISBN: 9781474443760
Publication Date: 2020
How are issues related to identity representation negotiated in Middle Eastern and North African museums? Can museums provide a suitable canvas for minorities to express their voice? Can narratives change and stereotypes be broken and, if so, what kind of identities are being deployed? Against the backdrop of the revolutionary upheavals that have shaken the region in recent years, the contributors to this volume interrogate a range of case studies from across the region - examining how museums engage inclusion, diversity and the politics of minority identities.
Becoming Our Future: global indigenous curatorial practice by Julie Nagam (Editor); Carly Lane (Editor); Megan Tamati-Quennell (Editor)
Call Number: Barrie campus GN35.B43 2020
ISBN: 9781927886229
Publication Date: 2020
This book explores how Indigenous visual art and culture operate within and from a structural framework that is unique within the cultural milieu. Through a selection of contributions by Indigenous curators, artists, and scholars, this book brings together perspectives that define curatorial practices, and at the same time postulates Indigenous sovereignty and self-determination within the three countries. These compelling essays begin to unearth the connections and historical moments that draw Indigenous curatorial practices together and the differences that set them apart.
Critical Perspectives on Cultural Memory and Heritage: Construction, Transformation and Destruction by Veysel Apaydin
ISBN: 9781787354869
Publication Date: 2020
This book focuses on the importance of memory and heritage for individual and group identity, and for their sense of belonging. It aims to expose the motives and discourses related to the destruction of memory and heritage during times of war, terror, sectarian conflict and through capitalist policies. It is within these affected spheres of cultural heritage where groups and communities ascribe values, develop memories, and shape their collective identity. It is an essential read for researchers in Museum and Heritage Studies.
Critical Practice by Janet Marstine
ISBN: 9780415658546
Publication Date: 2017
Critical Practice is an ambitious work that blurs the boundaries between art history, museum studies, political science and applied ethics. Marstine demonstrates how convergences between institutional critique and socially engaged practice, as represented by the term 'critical practice', can create conditions for organisational change, particularly facilitating increased public agency and shared authority. The book analyses a range of museum interventions exploring such subjects as the ethical stewardship of collections, hybridity as a methodological approach to social justice and alternative forms of democracy.
Democratising the Museum by Pille Runnel (Editor); Pille Pruulmann-Vengerfeldt (Editor)
ISBN: 9783653039726
Publication Date: 2014
Democratising the museum is a collection of articles reflecting upon the problem of how participation, technologically mediated or not, can support the museum in the process of becoming more accessible. The open museum shares power with its visitors while negotiating professionalism and the role of the museum in a modern society.
Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion in Museums by Johnnetta Betsch Cole (Editor); Laura L. Lott (Editor)
ISBN: 9781538118634
Publication Date: 2019
A go-to resource for readers interested in learning about diversity and inclusion work in the field - past, present and future. This edited collection seeks to facilitate a much-needed intergenerational dialogue that builds on lessons from the past, broadens thinking about the many different facets of this complex work, and ignites inspiration for continuing to correct inequities across museums of all types, sizes, and locations. In this book, thought leaders in the museum field present their research, analysis and work to answer some of the most challenge questions facing the museum field. Why do these problems persist? How can a new generation of museum leaders champion change to better represent the communities that museums strive to serve and engage? What can we learn from those who have been observing, experiencing, and writing about these issues?
Effective diversity, equity, accessibility, inclusion, and anti-racism practices for museums : from the inside out by Shellman, Cecile
ISBN: 9781538156018
Publication Date: 2021
Equal parts autobiography, cautionary tale, and actionable recommendations, this book is as candid and vulnerable as the author insists all seekers of justice be when they embark on a full-scale DEAI initiative anchored in anti-oppression. Since the beginning of her professional museum journey, Cecile Shellman--like many who have been marginalized by systems ill-prepared to support them--has had to engage in cultural realms in which she was not fully represented and where she was sometimes misrepresented or understood. Ms. Shellman shares personal relatable stories that explain how harmful inattention to Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion can be to individuals and to the group dynamic.
From Small Wins to Sweeping Change by Priya Frank (Editor); Theresa Sotto (Editor)
ISBN: 9781538163580
Publication Date: 2022
Combining practice and guidance, challenges and successes, this book provides a range of frameworks and tools to develop and implement successful DEAI committees and their initiatives. This timely book offers concrete tips and models for mitigating bias, confronting racism, and advocating for organizational change at any cultural institution.
Inclusive Curating in Contemporary Art: A Practical Guide by Jade French
ISBN: 9781641892650
Publication Date: 2020
In an effort to reflect the diversity of museum communities in exhibition-making, concerns over representation, inclusion, and social justice have become the focus of museum practice, but gaps remain in understanding applied approaches and practices. This book presents "inclusive curating," a facilitated process empowering a wide demographic of people to become curators and offers guidance in putting inclusive curating into action alongside a range of practical resources and key debates.
Museums and Restitution by Louise Tythacott (Editor); Kostas Arvanitis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781409435631
Publication Date: 2014
This book examines contemporary approaches to restitution from the perspective of museums. It focuses on the ways in which these institutions have been addressing the subject at a regional, national and international level. In particular, it explores contemporary practices and recent claims, and investigates to what extent the question of restitution as an issue of ownership is still at large, or whether museums have found additional ways to conceptualise and practice restitution, by thinking beyond the issue of ownership.
Visiting with the Ancestors: Blackfoot Shirts in Museum Spaces by Laura Peers; Alison K. Brown
ISBN: 9781771990370
Publication Date: 2016
In this beautifully illustrated volume is the story of an effort to build a bridge between museums and source communities in hopes of establishing stronger, more sustaining relationships between the two and spurring change in prevailing museum policies. Museums seek to preserve objects for posterity. However, the emotional and spiritual power of objects does not vanish with the death of those who created them. For Blackfoot people today, these shirts are a living presence, one that evokes a sense of continuity and inspires pride in Blackfoot cultural heritage.
Worlds in a Museum: Exploring Contemporary Museology by Louvre Abu Dhabi (Editor)
ISBN: 9789462702332
Publication Date: 2020
This book addresses the topic of museums in the era of globalisation, exploring contemporary museology and the preservation and presentation of culture within the context of changing societies. Departing from the historical museum structure inherited from the Enlightenment, leading experts from art, cultural, and academic institutions explore present-day achievements and challenges in the study, display and interpretation of art, history, and artefacts.

Art, Culture, and Pedagogy: Revisiting the Work of F. Graeme Chalmers by Dustin Garnet (Editor); Anita Sinner (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004390089
Publication Date: 2019
The legacy of Graeme Chalmers' research in art education underpins a foundational understanding of critical multiculturalism and offers a rigorous analysis of oppression and institutionalization of unequal power relations. He believed that when working in collaboration, we may begin to share lived knowledge in ways that bring sociopolitical dimensions to the fore to help us move towards breaking cycles of divisiveness. International scholars share both reflective commentaries that look back upon Chalmers' contributions, and offers diverse perspectives that look forward to the enduring potentialities and possibilities of his work today and into the future.
Cosmopolitan Ambassadors: International Exhibitions, Cultural Diplomacy and the Polycentral Museum by Lee Davidson; Leticia Pérez-Castellanos
ISBN: 9781622731749
Publication Date: 2019
This book provides the basis of a critical theory of international touring exhibitions and guidelines for practice, including recommendations for successful international museum partnerships and exhibitions aimed at facilitating intercultural understanding for audiences and enhancing intercultural practices among museum professionals, and maximizing the potential contribution cultural diplomacy.
History and Approaches in Heritage Studies by Phyllis M. Messenger (Editor); Susan J. Bender (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813056180
Publication Date: 2018
As more people recognize the need for accurately representing the stories told at museums and historic landmarks, heritage studies is emerging as an important program of study in universities across the country. This book explores the historical development of cultural heritage theory and practice, as well as current issues in the field. This volume brings together archaeologists who are deeply engaged with a range of stakeholders in heritage management and training. With a focus on pedagogy throughout, topics include the importance of critical thinking skills, how technology has transformed education, gender issues in archaeology, minorities in heritage careers, NAGPRA and ethics education, archaeology field schools, and e-learning.
Indians Playing Indian: Multiculturalism and Contemporary Indigenous Art in North America by Monika Siebert
ISBN: 9780817387983
Publication Date: 2015
While Indigenous peoples are reclaiming their historic status as sovereign nations, mainstream popular culture continues to depict them as cultural minorities similar to other ethnicities. These depictions of Indigenous peoples as "Native Americans" fundamentally misrepresent Indigenous peoples, whose history has been not of immigration but of colonization. Identified as "multicultural misrecognition", the author explains its sources in North American colonial history and in the political mandates of multiculturalism, and describes its consequences for contemporary indigenous cultural production.
Knowing Native Arts by Nancy Marie Mithlo
ISBN: 9781496221926
Publication Date: 2020
This book reflects a Native insider perspective to understanding the significance of Indigenous arts in national and global milieus. Written from the perspective of a senior academic and curator traversing a dynamic and at turns fraught era of Native self-determination, are a critical appraisal of a system that is often broken for Native peoples seeking equity in the arts. The author addresses crucial issues, such as the professionalization of Native arts scholarship, disparities in philanthropy and training, ethnic fraud, and the receptive scope of Native arts in new global and digital realms.
The Routledge Companion to Indigenous Art Histories in the United States and Canada by Heather Igloliorte (Editor); Carla Taunton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781000608557
Publication Date: 2022
This companion consists of chapters that focus on and bring forward critical theories and productive methodologies for Indigenous art history in North America. This book makes a major and original contribution to the fields of Indigenous visual arts, professional curatorial practice, graduate-level curriculum development, and academic research.

Arts of Engagement by Dylan Robinson (Editor); Keavy Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781771121712
Publication Date: 2016
This book focuses on the role that music, film, visual art, and Indigenous cultural practices play in and beyond Canada's Truth and Reconciliation Commission on Indian Residential Schools. Contributors examine the impact of aesthetic and sensory experience in residential school history, at TRC national and community events, and in artwork and exhibitions not affiliated with the TRC. Using the framework of "aesthetic action," the essays expand the frame of aesthetics to include visual, aural, and kinetic sensory experience, and question the ways in which key components of reconciliation such as apology and witnessing have social and political effects for residential school survivors, intergenerational survivors, and settler publics.
Canadian Indigenous Literature and Art: Decolonizing education, culture, and society by Carol A. Mullen
ISBN: 9004428399
Publication Date: 2020
This book sheds light on Indigenous justice perspectives in Indigenous literature and art through the lens of decolonizing education, culture, and society. Select works of published literature and exhibited art are interpreted in the critical discourse presented. Indigeneity as a lens is used to deconstruct education, accountability, and policy in Canada and globally. A new hypothesis is advanced about colonization and Indigenous voicelessness, helplessness, and genocidal victimhood as unchanging conditions of humanity. Activist pushback is demonstrated in the rise of Indigenous sources originating in global Canada.
Practicing Decoloniality in Museums: A Guide with Global Examples by Csilla Ariese; Magdalena Wróblewska
ISBN: 9789463726962
Publication Date: 2021
The cry for decolonization has echoed throughout the museum world. Amidst those who have argued that an institution as deeply colonial as the museum cannot truly be decolonized, museum staff and museologists have been approaching the issue from different angles to practice decoloniality in any way they can. Although there are no easy or uniform answers as to how best to deal with colonial pasts, this collection of practices functions as an accessible toolkit from which museum staff can choose in order to experiment with and implement methods according to their own needs and situations. The practices are divided thematically and include, among others, methods for decentering, improving transparency, and increasing inclusivity.
Unsettling Native Art Histories on the Northwest Coast by Kathryn Bunn-Marcuse (Editor); Aldona Jonaitis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780295747149
Publication Date: 2020
Inseparable from its communities, Northwest Coast art functions aesthetically and performatively beyond the scope of non-Indigenous scholarship, from demonstrating kinship connections to manifesting spiritual power. Contributors to this volume foreground Indigenous understandings in recognition of this rich context and its historical erasure within the discipline of art history. By centering voices that uphold Indigenous priorities, integrating the expertise of Indigenous knowledge holders about their artistic heritage, and questioning current institutional practices, these new essays "unsettle" Northwest Coast art studies. The volume exemplifies respectful and relational engagement with Indigenous art and advocates for more accountable scholarship and practices.

Desire Change: Contemporary Feminist Art in Canada by Heather Davis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780773549371
Publication Date: 2017
In the resistance to the violence of gender-based oppression, vibrant - but often ignored - worlds have emerged, full of nuance, humour, and beauty. Correcting an absence of writing about contemporary feminist work by Canadian artists, this collection considers the resurgence of feminist art, thought, and practice in the past decade by examining artworks that respond to themes of diversity and desire. This book raises both the stakes and the concerns of contemporary feminist art, with an understanding that feminism is always and necessarily plural.
Diversity and Design: understanding hidden consequences by Beth Tauke (Editor); Korydon Smith (Editor); Charles Davis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317688501
Publication Date: 2015-08-27
This book explores how design - whether of products, buildings, landscapes, cities, media, or systems - affects diverse members of society. The book not only investigates how gender, race, class, age, disability, and other factors influence the ways designers think, but also emphasizes the importance of understanding increasingly diverse cultures and, thus, averting design that leads to discrimination, isolation, and segregation.
Diversity Counts: Gender, race, and representation in Canadian art galleries by Anne Dymond
ISBN: 9780773556720
Publication Date: 2019
Despite the common belief that art galleries will naturally become more gender equitable over time, the fact is that many art institutions in Canada have become even less so over the last decade, with female artists making up less than 25 per cent of the contemporary exhibitions of several major galleries. In the first large-scale overview of gender diversity in Canadian art exhibitions, the author makes a persuasive plea for more consciously equitable curating. A thoughtful examination of the duty of public galleries to represent underserved communities, this study bravely navigates the unspoken criteria for acceptance in the curatorial world. Demonstrating how important hard data is for inclusivity, this book is a timely analysis that brings the art world up to date on progressive movements for social transformation.
Feminism and Art History Now: Radical Critiques of Theory and Practice by Victoria Horne (Editor); Lara Perry (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786732354
Publication Date: 2017
The significant new research gathered here engages with the rich inheritance of feminist historiography since around 1970, and considers how to maintain the forcefulness of its critique while addressing contemporary political struggles. Taking on subjects that reflect the museological, global and materialist trajectories of twenty-first-century art historical scholarship, the chapters address the themes of Invisibility, Temporality, Spatiality and Storytelling. They present new research on a diversity of topics that span political movements in Italy, urban gentrification in New York, community art projects in Scotland and Canada's contemporary indigenous culture. Together with a synthesising introductory essay, these studies provide readers with a view of feminist art histories of the past, present and future.
I'm Not Myself at All by Kristina Huneault
ISBN: 9780773553194
Publication Date: 2018
Dynamics of identity have shaped the production of artworks and this is especially true of art by women, and of the socially engaged criticism that addresses it. In this study of nineteenth- and early twentieth-century art in Canada, the author offers a meditation on the strictures of identity and an exploration of forces that unsettle and realign the self. Bringing together settler and indigenous forms of cultural expression and foregrounding the importance of colonialism within the development of art in Canada, this book observes and reactivates historical art by women and prompts readers to consider what a less restrictive conceptualization of selfhood might bring to current patterns of cultural analysis.
Interior Design for Autism from Adulthood to Geriatrics by A. J. Paron-Wildes
ISBN: 9781118680346
Publication Date: 2014
When designing spaces for individuals with Autism, there are specific design strategies that can be employed to create optimal spaces that can have a positive impact on special learning and sensory needs. This book gives designers the exact information they need to implement these design strategies in their own projects. The main neurofunctions of Autism are covered along with specific design techniques that can be used to address each one. Information on toxins and material selection is also included.
Mismatch: how inclusion shapes design by Kat Holmes; John Maeda (Foreword by)
Call Number: Barrie; NK1520 .H64 2018
ISBN: 9780262038881
Publication Date: 2018
This book describes how design can lead to exclusion, and how design can also remedy exclusion. Inclusive design methods--designing objects with rather than for excluded users--can create elegant solutions that work well and benefit all. Stories of pioneers of inclusive design, were drawn to work on inclusion because of their own experiences of exclusion. Designing for inclusion is not a feel-good sideline. Holmes shows how inclusion can be a source of innovation and growth, especially for digital technologies. It can be a catalyst for creativity and a boost for the bottom line as a customer base expands. And each time we remedy a mismatched interaction, we create an opportunity for more people to contribute to society in meaningful ways.
Oriental Interiors by John Potvin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781472596635
Publication Date: 2015
This is the first book to fully explore the formation and perception of eastern-inspired interiors from an orientalist perspective. The fifteen chapters in this collection reflect that diversity, dealing with subjects as varied and engaging as harems, Turkish baths on RMS Titanic, Parisian bachelor quarters, potted palms, and contemporary yoga studios. It explores how furnishings, surface treatments, ornament and music, for example, are deployed to enhance the exoticism and pleasures of oriental spaces, looking across a range of international locations. These essays highlight critical paths into the intersections between orientalist studies, spatial theory, design studies, visual culture and gender studies.
Reclaiming Canadian Bodies: Visual media and representation by Lynda Mannik (Editor); Karen McGarry (Editor)
ISBN: 9781554589920
Publication Date: 2015
This book focuses on the relationship between visual media, the construction of Canadian national identity, and notions of embodiment. It asks how particular representations of bodies are constructed and performed within the context of visual and discursive mediated content. The collection of essays emphasize the ways individuals destabilize national mainstream visual tropes, which in turn have the potential to destabilize nationalist messages. Drawing upon rich empirical research and relevant theory, the contributors ask how and why particular bodies are either promoted and upheld as "Canadian" bodies while others are marginalized in or excluded from media representations.

Suggested Search Strategies

The library provides great information on EDI & B topics such as cultural diversity, cultural pluralism, and diversity in the arts in its eBooks, books, and scholarly journal articles. To locate further information on EDI & B topics in design and visual arts, consider these search terms when searching both the library's databases and the Internet including:

Activism in art
Cultural equity in museums
Cultural pluralism in the arts
Decolonizing art
Decolonizing museums
Gender diversity in the arts
Multiculturalism
Racial diversity in the arts
Representation of Indigenous art
Representation of diverse populations in graphic design
Underrepresentation in the arts

Recommended Associations & Key Documents

This list of key associations and documents represents a perspective on equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI & B) issues being addressed in the design and visual arts landscape. This is not an exhaustive list but these resources provide another starting point in your research. Learning about current issues and the language used in new discussions will help you dive into relevant EDI & B discussions in your field of study.

Art Canada Institute
Links to Art Canada Institute's Diversity, Equity & Inclusion initiatives.
Association of Registered Graphic Designers (RGD) - Diversity & Inclusion
This links to information and initiatives that Canada's RGD Diversity & Inclusion Committee are working on.
Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario
This links to ARIDO's work in Equity, Diversity, Accessibility, and Advancement, which includes their 2021 report "The Chandy Principle, Phase One - Building the Future: The Importance of Designing Equitable Spaces & Communities
Canada Council for the Arts - {Re}conciliation
Developed by Canada Council, the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation and The Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada in anticipation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's final report and recommendations, the {Re}conciliation Initiative aimed to promote artistic collaborations between Indigenous and non-Indigenous artists, investing in the power of art and imagination to inspire dialogue, understanding and change.
Canadian Museum for Human Rights
ARTiculate Our Rights exhibit - The Museum invited students from all over Manitoba to imagine the future for human rights and how these rights will impact people’s lives. This exhibition assembles and proudly shares over 100 artworks submitted by Manitoba students in vivid digital format.
Canadian Museums Association (CMA)
The CMA has a variety of reports and publications, as well as suggested guidelines for the museum sector. Scroll to the bottom of the page for a list of Cultural Diversity Publications
Cultural Pluralism in Art Education and Why Art Students Should Learn about the 'Dark Matter'
Questioning the canonical and hegemonic practices of the art world, this article importantly posits the notion that the inclusion of minority practices in teaching and learning is not sufficient, but rather discussions of the politics of said groups are necessary for significant change. This article offers practical suggestions for achieving inclusivity, through the use of social media platforms such as Instagram, where 'Dark Matter' and the 'stars' work side by side.
more...less...
Doubtfire, J. (2018). Cultural Pluralism in Art Education and Why Art Students Should Learn about the “Dark Matter.” International Journal of Art & Design Education, 37(4), 638–648.
Cultural Pluralism in the Arts Movement Ontario (CPAMO)
Cultural Pluralism in the Arts Movement Ontario (CPAMO) is a movement of Indigenous and racialized artists engaged in empowering the arts communities of Ontario.
Deaf and Disability Arts Practices in Canada
The Research, Measurement and Data Analytics Section of the Canada Council for the Arts engaged the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) and a research team to carry out a study on Deaf and disability arts practices in Canada. Executive Summary and Report are available from this page, for download.
Decolonizing Art History
Decolonizing Art History brings together a set of responses to a questionnaire on this important disciplinary topic from thirty art historians, artists, critics and curators. Building on previous editorials in the journal, ‘Whose Art History?’ and ‘Art History at the Barricades’, it assembles a range of different voices in a vital debate about ongoing concerns and priorities for the field of art history.
Horniman Museum and Gardens: asking difficult questions about colonialism, race and environmental issues
The Horniman Museum in London won the Art Fund's Museum of the Year Award for its attempt to confront its colonial roots by openly engaging with the realities faced by their diverse community.
Indigenous Curatorial Collective / Collectif des commissaires autochtones (ICCA)
The ICCA is an Indigenous run and led non-profit organization that supports and connect Indigenous curators, artists, writers, academics, and professionals through various methods of gathering. The ICCA engages in critical discourses, increases professional opportunities for members, develops programming, and builds reciprocal relationships with Indigenous curators, artists, communities and the institutions we engage with.
National Gallery of Canada - Conservation Internship for Diversity
Created and led by the National Gallery of Canada, in collaboration with the Art Conservation program at Queen’s University and the Canadian Conservation Institute, the NGC Conservation Internship Program for Diversity aims to increase the representation of professionals from diverse communities.
National Gallery of Canada (NCG) - Re-Creation
Inspired by the 2017 opening of the NGC’s Indigenous and Canadian galleries, the NGC is commissioning and supporting the training of contemporary Indigenous artists, knowledge-keepers, curators, researchers and community member to create works inspired by, or in dialogue with, historical art forms.
Ontario Arts Council (OAC) - Access & Equity
The OAC is committed to ensuring equitable access for all Ontarians, particularly artists of colour, deaf artists, artists with disabilities, Francophone artists, Indigenous artists, new generation artists and artists living In regions outside Toronto - designated funding programs are available.
Ontario Museum Association (OMA) - Indigenous Culture & Reconciliation
OMA provides a list of resources (webinars, reports, etc.) to help understand Indigenous culture and reconciliation from the context of museum practices. The list focuses on reparation, engagement, collection & reflection, collections & conservation, research & ethics, and learning from one another.
Writing About Indigenous Art with Critical Care.
The article focuses on the need to observe critical care when writing about Indigenous art. Topics covered include the importance of reasoning in formulating an art criticism, the limitations of the best Indigenous-authored text about Indigenous art, and the characteristics of academic and curatorial writing.
more...less...
Garneau, D. (2020). Writing About Indigenous Art with Critical Care. C Magazine, 145, 29–35.