Library and Academic Success: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion &amp; Belonging: Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Key EDI & B Concepts in Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation

This section of Key Concepts highlights resources available which reflect many of the EDI & B issues and trends in hospitality, tourism and recreation. This is not an exhaustive list. Suggested strategies and keywords for searching the library databases and the Internet are provided at the bottom of this page.

Cultural and Heritage Tourism and Management by Tammie J. Kaufman
ISBN: 9781631576027
Publication Date: 2018
There has been a shift in the tourism industry and the type of experiences sought when people travel. One of the reasons behind this is the desire for travelers to be more engaged as they travel and get to know a community through their culture and heritage. A guide to how a community can sustainably develop their cultural and tourism resources in order to attract and retain the sought- after cultural and heritage tourist.
Experiential Consumption and Marketing in Tourism Within a Cross-Cultural Context by Antónia Correia (Editor); Alan Fyall (Editor); Metin Kozak (Editor)
ISBN: 9781911396970
Publication Date: 2019
Culture is often the reason for travel, and both bargain and barrier in its consumption. Underpinned by globalization, tourism is both enabling and threatening culture and its practices, as business commodifies authentic differences. Includes contributions that analyze and critique initiations to culture, and reports on the facilitation, celebration and sharing of culture through tourism and how each is manifested in tourism marketing theory, policy and practice.
Focus on Civilizations and Cultures by Lydia B. Kerwin
ISBN: 9781617613913
Publication Date: 2010
Cultural diversity is the variety of human societies or cultures in a specific region, or in the world as a whole. (The term is also sometimes used to refer to multiculturalism within an organization. As well as the more obvious cultural differences that exist between people, such as language, dress and traditions, there are also significant variations in the way societies organize themselves, in their shared conception of morality, and in the ways, they interact with their environment.

Commercial hospitality in tourism: A global comparison of what culturally matters
This paper aims to explore whether the importance tourists place on various aspects of ‘hospitality’ differs according to their culture, using country/region of origin as a proxy. A cross-national survey was conducted across multiple destinations in the Asia-Pacific and Europe. Results indicate that tourists’ nationality influences the importance they place on all facets of the hospitality experience. The study contributes to theory by advancing our understanding of how different cultures evaluate the importance of the multiple aspects of commercial hospitality
more...less...
Walters, G., Huck, L., Robinson, R. N. S., & Stettler, J. (2021). Commercial hospitality in tourism: A global comparison of what culturally matters. International Journal of Hospitality Management, 95. https://doi-org.georgian.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.ijhm.2021.102939
Diversity management in tourism and hospitality: an exploratory study
This paper helps in answering the questions related to the importance of cross-cultural management, the intercultural issues faced by an organization, the best practices for diversity management and the future of cultural diversity.
more...less...
Malik, R., Madappa, T., & Chitranshi, J. (2017). Diversity management in tourism and hospitality: an exploratory study. Foresight, 19(3), 323–336.
Intercultural Communication Challenges and Strategies for the Thai Undergraduate Hotel Interns
The hospitality industry is one of Thailand's most important sectors that contributes to the national economy. This research aims to study Thai undergraduate hotel interns' intercultural communication challenges and strategies while undertaking their internship at an in-house hotel training center located on a university campus.
more...less...
Jhaiyanuntana, A., & Nomnian, S. (2020). Intercultural Communication Challenges and Strategies for the Thai Undergraduate Hotel Interns. PASAA: Journal of Language Teaching and Learning in Thailand, 59, 204–235.

Accessibility, Inclusion, and Diversity in Critical Event Studies by Rebecca Finkel; Briony Sharp; Majella Sweeney
ISBN: 9781032338897
Publication Date: 2019
Addresses current gaps in the literature surrounding issues of accessibility, inclusion, and diversity in various event landscapes. The chapters are all cross- or interdisciplinary, drawing on gender, sexualities, cultural, race/ethnicity studies as well as multiple literatures that feed into critical events studies and exploring a variety of global examples.
Diversity and Inclusion in the Recreation Profession: Organizational Perspectives by Ingrid Schneider
ISBN: 9781571677297
Publication Date: 2019
Explores the construct of diversity within the context of managing and providing recreation and leisure-related services. Using multiple perspectives and comprehensive research, this book highlights the influence of markers of diversity on the issues and problems perceived and/or experienced by diverse groups; the nature and types of institutional barriers that organizational professionals often unwittingly create in their response, or lack thereof, to diverse populations; and transformational opportunities.
The Encyclopedia of Sports and Recreation for People with Visual Impairments by Andrew Leibs
ISBN: 9781623960407
Publication Date: 2012
Not long ago, most blind and visually impaired people grew up without ever playing sports; they sat on the sidelines, and kept score during gym-protected rather than included. The Encyclopedia of Sports & Recreation for People with Visual Impairments is the first consumer- focused, action-oriented guide to this new world of accessible activity, profiling the people, programs, and products that are helping move blind and visually impaired people from the sidelines into the game.
Programming for Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Services : A Servant Leadership Approach. by Debra Jordan
ISBN: 9781571679550
Publication Date: 2019
Meeting the needs of customers through effective recreation programs is imperative for leisure service organizations to survive and prosper in the 21st century. This new edition retains its user-friendly approach and servant leadership foundation. It includes updated material in all chapters, and additional material about social entrepreneurship and strategic planning. In addition, programmer profiles have also been added to each chapter to introduce students to recreation programmers in a variety of positions.
Teacher's Guide to Adapted Physical Education by Martin E. Block
ISBN: 9781598576696
Publication Date: 2015
A healthy and active lifestyle for all students: That's the promise of physical education, and the goal of this comprehensive textbook. Now in a thoroughly updated fourth edition, this text prepares current and future PE teachers to lead welcoming, inclusive classes where every student participates, makes friends, and learns new skills and values. K - 12 physical educators will get cutting-edge research and guidance on inclusive education, concrete strategies for planning and implementing an adapted PE program, and valuable disability-specific information.

Cultural Heritage Tourism by Cheryl M. Hargrove
ISBN: 9781442278820
Publication Date: 2017
Cultural Heritage Tourism: Five Steps for Success and Sustainability provides detailed instruction through a proven five-step process to help planners, managers and community leaders attract visitors and their spending to your cultural heritage site, attraction, event or destination.
Hospitality: A New Dimension in Sustainability and Service by Chris Sheppardson
ISBN: 9781953349729
Publication Date: 2021
An introduction to one of the fast-developing core pillars in business, sustainability, as well as how it is closely tied into the concept of service. Much has changed during the Covid-19 pandemic; we are seeing companies redefine their value propositions with leaders, once again, returning to core basics and beginning to lead through strong pillars. The new emerging generations are demanding and expecting more. There are new leaders emerging with strong visions of the future.
Sustainability and Corporate Social Responsibility in Hospitality and Tourism by Babak Taheri and Roya Rahimi.
ISBN: 9781839092824
Publication Date: 2019
Sustainability and Corporate Social Responsibility in hospitality and tourism is laden with contradictions. From the simple "carbon offsetting" of budget flights to the warning from the Maldivian Government that their country will disappear due to rising water levels whilst also building, in one year, at least seven additional airports to service their resort islands.
Sustainability in Tourism And Regional Development by Rangus, Marjetka Gorenak, Mitja Brumen, Boštjan
ISBN: 9781443882682
Publication Date: 2017
Broadens the reach of such studies by providing comprehensive examinations of many issues related to sustainable tourism, with particular attention paid to Slovenia. It presents in-depth discussions on many relevant and important tourism issues, covering topics from the sustainable use of cultural heritage in tourism and the development of sustainable jobs and professionalism in the tourism sector.
Sustainable Tourism by David A. Fennell; Chris Cooper
ISBN: 9781845417659
Publication Date: 2020
Provides a comprehensive overview of sustainable tourism framed around the UN's sustainable development goals. It examines the origins and dimensions of sustainable tourism and offers a detailed account of sustainable initiatives and management across destinations, the tourism industry, public sector and leading agencies
Tourism and Sustainability: development, globalisation and new tourism in the Third World by Martin Mowforth; Ian Munt
ISBN: 9781317747222
Publication Date: 2015
Critically explores the most significant universal geopolitical norms of the last half century - development, globalisation and sustainability - and through the lens of new forms of tourism demonstrates how we can better get to grips with the rapidly changing new global order.

Suggested Search Strategies

The library provides great resources on topics such as tourism sustainability, cultural tourism, disability and ageism in recreation, and gender diversity and minorities in hospitality management. This includes industry periodicals such as Hotel Management, Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Education and Travel & Leisure Close-Up which are relevant to read. The Internet provides key industry reports, current trends and association activities from those working in hospitality, tourism and recreation. To find more information about equity, diversity and inclusion in these sectors, some search terms to consider in the library's databases and the Internet include:

Inclusive tourism
Tourism sustainability
Tourism diversity
Indigenous cultural tourism OR Indigenous tourism industry
Inclusive outdoor activities OR outdoor recreation
LGBTQ+ tourism
Diversity and inclusion in recreation
Cultural diversity in hospitality
Racism in tourism and hospitality industry

Recommended Associations & Key Reports

Destination Canada
Destination Canada produces a number of publications including hospitality, tourism intelligence bulletins, market research reports, information on travel trends and motivations.
Destinations International
Destinations International recognizes and advocates the importance of cultivating a unified travel industry where everyone is welcome, where there is equitable access for all, and to help reshape existing power structures so that systemically marginalized voices and perspectives are heard and valued.
Equality in Tourism International
Equality in Tourism is a non-profit organisation working to promote gender equality in destinations around the world. We work across different sectors of the tourism and hospitality industry.
Hospitality Net
Hospitality Net features hospitality and hotel news, market reports, etc.
Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada
The Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC) is a global leader in the marketing and development of Indigenous tourism experiences. ITAC’s members are Indigenous-owned and controlled businesses from every province and territory in the country.
National Recreation and Park Association
A leading not-for-profit organization dedicated to building strong, healthy and resilient communities through the power of parks and recreation. NRPA advances this vision by investing in and championing the work of park and recreation professionals as a catalyst for positive change in service of equity, climate-readiness, and overall health and well-being.
Outdoor Play Canada
A network of advocates, practitioners, researchers and organizations working together to promote, protect, and preserve access to play in nature and the outdoors for all people living in Canada. Provides leadership to galvanize the outdoor play movement across Canada to promote the health and wellness of Canadians and the environments in which we live.
Tourism Diversity Matters (TDM)
Tourism Diversity Matters (TDM) addresses the blind spots of ethnic disparities and provides decision-makers in the tourism industry access, resources, and tactics to develop more effective Diversity & Inclusion strategies that will engage and retain a diverse workforce.