Recommended Databases - Honours Bachelor of Science - Nursing Degree - Library and Academic Success at Georgian College

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Starting Database

CINAHL ULTIMATE This link opens in a new window
Definitive research tool and one of the most comprehensive sources of full text journal articles for nursing and allied health professionals, students and educators. It contains many of the most used journals to support nursing and health-related curricula. Provides information on aspects of nursing practice, theory, care and health promotion. It also includes the curation of open access (OA) journals.Full text coverage back to 1937 and includes access to dissertations, magazines, and evidence-based care sheets.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Other Core Nursing Databases

These databases are considered specific to nursing.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides more than 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs, covering over 1,000 generic medications, 100 natural products and 19 vaccines.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
The JBI Complete Collection, available through Ovid, provides information which covers a range of nursing, medical and healthcare specialties and includes evidence summaries, systematic reviews, best practice guidelines, and more. The database consists of several specific databases including: JBI EBP Database JBI PACES JBI SUMARI JBI Evidence Synthesis (journal)
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
(Ebscohost)
Permitted Uses: License Info
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
(Ovid) Over 18 million articles indexed in this database covering medicine, biomedical, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences topics.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 250 leading full-text journals covering nursing and allied health. Plus 130 Medcom Video Training programs. Also includes Culture Competency Briefs by ethnicity and religion.
Permitted Uses: License Info
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open access medical, biomedical, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences database. Please note: PubMed is currently working best with PC browsers.

Other Related Databases for Nursing, Health & Wellness

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly journals with focuses on social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] This link opens in a new window
CCOHS [Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety] website provides information on all aspects of occupational health and safety. Access Canadian legislation and standards, MSDS, CHEMINFO, FTSS, RTECS®, OSHLINE™ with NIOSHTIC®, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana.
Permitted Uses: License Info
CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The CSA OnDemand database offers access to the full text of all standards, codes, guidelines and handbooks published by the Canadian Standards Association. Areas covered include construction, engineering, electrical, energy, health and safety, environmental and more. Note: Downloaded PDF documents must be opened using the Desktop version of Adobe Reader or Acrobat and the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus, instead use "online version."
DSM-5 (Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) This link opens in a new window
DSM-V-TR (Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) and several textbooks from the American Psychiatric Association (APA). Use Firefox to search this tool.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Films on Demand: Nursing Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains over 800 videos on nursing.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full-text for nearly 300 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Permitted Uses: License Info
SAGE Nursing Videos This link opens in a new window
Features content to support traditional baccalaureate- and masters- level nursing programs. This collection works to support relevant areas of nursing education which includes the topics of nursing theory and history, the social determinants of health, the nursing process and critical thinking, global and population health and evidence-based practice. The content also delivers a series on clinical skills presented in an array of demonstration, tutorial, and practice videos.
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
All sciences - technological, engineering, chemical, biological, medical, veterinary and social. All articles are peer reviewed and academic. This source includes ebooks on selected scientific topics.
Notice (Mar. 2019): Due to a misconfigured Elsevier server if you have created an individual account on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) using your personal/college email credentials, then change your password for those accounts.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Anatomy & Physiology

SMART This link opens in a new window
Scientific & Medical ART Imagebase contains medical images, animations & interactive multimedia.
Permitted Uses: License Info
This database has a separate interface from other EBSCO databases so does not appear when you select “CHOOSE DATABASES” in EBSCO.

Complementary & Alternative Healthcare

Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
This database carries over 160 international, peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, proceedings and association & consumer newsletters with focuses on the many perspectives of alternative, complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Permitted Uses: License Info

Pharmacology

CPS This link opens in a new window
Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties (CPS), E-CPS, drug therapy & patient care. Please note, your browser must allow pop ups. Database times out after 30 min. Not Mac compatible.
Permitted Uses: License Info
Lexicomp Online - Medical This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online (medicine) database offers drug information, including interaction checkers, a drug identifier, patient education and toxicology information. It also includes a section on infectious diseases. The Lexicomp Online database provides access to clear point of care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content such as clinical practice guidelines, and other tools. This database generally enables users to locate information on medications, conditions and/or procedures, international drugs, pregnancy, lactation and more.